We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to OSF, great attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peerless Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peerless Hotel
Save
You added The Peerless Hotel to your Saves list
243 Fourth Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates In Effect!
Ranked #19 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Walking distance to OSF, great attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent four nights at the Peerless Hotel on our first visit to Ashland to catch plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The half-dozen rooms are quite comfortable with very nice touches and high-end amenities. Nothing bland or cookie-cutter here. Multi-channel cable audio in each room, but no televisions (which is fine, as the vibe at the Peerless is more B&B than faceless commercial hotel; we had room #5, which is large). The breakfasts, included in the price during high- and mid-season, are table-service and very good, served at the same restaurant adjacent that has an excellent dinner menu. We were so close to OSF, we didn't move our car the entire time, as it was an easy ten minute to the theaters and exploring the compact downtown Ashland area. Consider a flashlight for nighttime return walks, though.

Room Tip: All rooms appear relatively quiet, as the "main street" in front is not busy.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can choose to have towels and sheets changed every fourth day, which was fine for us.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here one night in August. Lots of character, delicious breakfast, close enough to walk to nightlife spots downtown, and the happy hour/tapas in their adjoining restaurant were not only a fantastic deal but fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Peerless Hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting Ashland. This small, classic and charming hotel is ideally suited for Oregon Shakespeare Festival visitors. The staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming. The restaurant next door is outstanding, sit outside if you can. We have been staying there for five years now and wouldn't even consider anywhere else. The rooms are nicely furnished and quiet.

Room Tip: We stay in Room 3 which is quite spacious with an awesome two tub bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for relaxing stay while travelling from Crater Lake to the Redwoods National Park and we got it! We arrived by motorcycle and requested a early checking and the hotel was happy to accommodate yes . We had room #6 and loved it .....not like someone from Aug 9 who complained about it . The building is very charming and has lots of character . The room is small but that's what we payed for. We would stay here again .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary so we decided to stay in room 7 which is a suite on the top floor. The breakfast is served in the Peerless restaurant and was very good both days that we were there. The first day was apple bread, fruit salad and an asparagus and morel mushroom scramble with Canadian bacon. The second morning was muffins, fruit salad, baked french toast and peppered bacon. If you like places with history this is the place for you. The only surprise is that the hotel is a bit further from the Shakespeare festival than we expected. We walked but for some folks it may be too far to walk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and probably quieter than on the first floor. The hotel is next to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Seriously . . . this was our third stay at this hotel, the second in room number 7. The staff is friendly, competent and they really care. The place is quiet and private and relaxing in every way, the rooms are very comfortably furnished and spotlessly kept. Breakfast included in the restaurant next door is absolutely top flight. The neighborhood is a historic district of homes and small, interesting shops. The walk to downtown is less than 10 minutes and it is easy to walk to and from the OSF theaters. I see no reason to stay anywhere else---this is it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This review is for room#2.Really comfortable,loved the tub.Most of all the customer service is exceptional here.The innkeeper is friendly,and attentive,and also a great chef! We will definitely return in the summer.The rumors about it being haunted are true,I believe,but don't let that scare you,It's not a negative ghost,but we still sensed her presence.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerlesson4th, Owner at The Peerless Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear "mandywin",

Thank you for your lovely compliments and we hope to see you again this summer. Regarding our ghost, we wish she was not so shy with the staff, none of us have ever been so lucky as to feel her presence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peerless Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Hotel

Address: 243 Fourth Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ashland's Peerless Experience! Built in 1900 and included in the National Register of Historic Places, The Peerless Hotel has been lovingly restored and is honored to be featured in the best selling book "1,000 PLACES TO SEE BEFORE YOU DIE". Whimsically and elegantly decorated with hand-painted murals, fine art, and an eclectic mixture of antique furnishings. Guests are pampered with Frette Italian bed linens, Christy English towels, Pharmacopia natural & organic body care products, spa & claw-foot tubs, and a sumptuous complimentary breakfast (during the mid & high seasons). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peerless Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.