We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peerless Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peerless Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Peerless Hotel to your Saves list
243 Fourth Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF SUNDAY & MONDAY!
Ranked #16 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This review is for room#2.Really comfortable,loved the tub.Most of all the customer service is exceptional here.The innkeeper is friendly,and attentive,and also a great chef! We will definitely return in the summer.The rumors about it being haunted are true,I believe,but don't let that scare you,It's not a negative ghost,but we still sensed her presence.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerlesson4th, Owner at The Peerless Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear "mandywin",

Thank you for your lovely compliments and we hope to see you again this summer. Regarding our ghost, we wish she was not so shy with the staff, none of us have ever been so lucky as to feel her presence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Ashland. We picked the Peerless because it seemed close to the main street and Oregon Shakespeare Festival. We walked to everything. Michael couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 1 which is pretty funky. There was a problem with the ceiling fan which Michael immediately took care of. The breakfast was absolutely great and was served in courtyard .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just spent 3-romantic days in Suite #7. Enjoyed every single minute of our stay from the moment Michael "the Sherpa" grabbed our bags when we arrived and vaulted up the stairs to our room. October is a wonderful time to visit Ashland and The Peerless is a fantastic place to settle in, relax, be pampered and enjoy the Indian summer weather. Especially grateful for their accommodations for the included daily breakfast (I'm allergic to eggs). The chefs whipped me up scrumptious stir fried veggies with bacon every morning. Location is perfect. If you're into walking like we are you'll never use your car once you get there. OSF and restaurants are 5-10 minutes away. Dinner at the Peerless Restaurant was amazing! Make a reservation at opening time - 5:30p - and you'll have plenty of time to enjoy a perfect meal and have a leisurely stroll to an evening show. Very much looking forward to returning to this peerless experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Step back into the 19th century, into Victorian rooms each with its own elegant whimsical personality -- but only after having your customary Sherry in crystal sitting is small lobby, filled with memorabilia.

We come back every year, wouldn't miss it. the staff have the formula down, energized, personable, and they make it all happen seemingly effortlessly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stay here approximately 3 times a year and have done so for the last 8 or 9 years. And,there has never been a bad experience. The staff welcomes us back "home" when we arrive and pampers us (better than home) quietly with superb service, excellent facilities and a most delicious breakfast every morning. We plan to continue returning again and again and hope nothing will change.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We loved this little, funky, boutique hotel in Ashland. We had a terrific suite which included a bathroom that was bigger than most bedrooms. Our bathroom had his and hers claw foot bathtubs PLUS a walk-in shower. Service was impeccable due to the fact that manager Michael is extremely knowledgable about EVERYTHING and a great guy to boot. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the area. Forgot to mention the splendid homecooked breakfasts. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as part of our anniversary trip this year. We decided to splurge on suite #7, and I'm very glad we did! It's not something we could do every time, but I really felt that the price was commensurate with the quality of room and the amenities. Everything was very clean and our suite was wonderfully private. I especially enjoyed the little balcony and the two-person jacuzzi! The bed was extremely comfortable, and the towels were kind of amazing.
Often when I stay at boutique hotels or B&Bs I feel that the room is too crowded with frou frou antiques and that I am going to break something. Not so this time -- there were quaint touches but I did not feel crowded out by ceramic dogs. The hotel is a few blocks away from the Shakespeare Festival and from downtown, but I actually liked this because it meant that there was very little street noise.
Since we were there on a Sunday night the restaurant next door was not open, but we were still treated to an excellent breakfast the next morning. We hadn't intended to stay, but somehow "We're going to leave" changed to "We'll stop and have coffee" and then THAT changed to "Ok, I guess we can stay for some of this tasty, tasty bacon."

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peerless Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Hotel

Address: 243 Fourth Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ashland's Peerless Experience! Built in 1900 and included in the National Register of Historic Places, The Peerless Hotel has been lovingly restored and is honored to be featured in the best selling book "1,000 PLACES TO SEE BEFORE YOU DIE". Whimsically and elegantly decorated with hand-painted murals, fine art, and an eclectic mixture of antique furnishings. Guests are pampered with Frette Italian bed linens, Christy English towels, Pharmacopia natural & organic body care products, spa & claw-foot tubs, and a sumptuous complimentary breakfast (during the mid & high seasons). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peerless Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.