We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable food and hospitality!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
312 Helman Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly Mousetrap Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California, United States
1 review
“Unbelievable food and hospitality!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This bed and breakfast is truly a gem! From the friendly innkeepers to the classy decor to the crazy-good breakfast, staying here made our visit in Ashland a 5 star experience! Jean-Pierre and Julie went out of their way to make us feel right at home - we would definitely, without a blink of the eye, come right back to Blue Moon on subsequent trips to Ashland!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This b and b has it all. The breakfasts are truly the very best --creative, fresh, abundant, delicious. The innkeepers, Jean Pierre and Julie add a lovely continental touch and provide the perfect balance of attention and privacy. It's only a short walk to the theatres. the garden provides a respite of quiet and delight. The rooms are comfortable and well kept. Our room had a new bath with the thickest towels I have ever enjoyed.
We have had wonderful conversations around the breakfast table as the guests are as engaging as the b and b. We have already reserved for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lovely Blue Moon B/B. We stayed in the Sunset room. We loved the decor, and the roomy bed was a plus. Beautiful if slightly cozy bathroom - everything looks brand new. The plushest towels I have ever experienced. A nice-sized dresser at each side of the bed with good reading lamps and lots of space for your stuff. Everything was clean, fresh, and pretty. So relaxing, too.

Breakfasts were amazing. Jean-Pierre prepared fantastic meals. Food was local and all home-made - bread too. My favorite was the scrambled eggs with sweet corn - a first for me, but it was fabulous. All my dietary restrictions were meticulously attended to, and everything was delicious. We skipped lunch because breakfast took us straight through to dinner.

Jean-Pierre was very helpful with questions about restaurants, getting around, and info needed for the OSF too. There were freshly-baked treats every afternoon. (I couldn't indulge but they looked and smelled wonderful.) Port wine for after the play, too.

The courtyard/patio area is absolutely gorgeous - we enjoyed our morning coffee out there. A bit cool for us to have b'fast en plene air, but on a warm day it would be wonderful.

A very comfortable walk to the theaters and the shopping areas.

The only drawback was a bit of traffic noise along the side street - but this was not a major problem.

We will be returning, without a doubt.

Room Tip: The Sunset room has a slightly smaller bathroom, but a lovely large bed. Some other rooms (we peeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Pierre L, Owner at Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words!
Warm regards,

Julie and Jean-Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Blue Moon when traveling through Ashland or attending the Shakespeare Festival. Our last experience was again excellent. Our room was clean and pretty and a recently renovated bathroom gave it a great facelift. Breakfast was tasty and filling and our hosts friendly and helpful. It is a quick walk into town to attend plays, shop or find a restaurant. We highly recommend the Blue Moon if there is room to stay while in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at Blue Moon on traveling from Portland to the Bay Area on recommendation from friends. What a terrific place secluded from downtown but an easy walk away from the center of old Ashland with it's wonderful plays, restaurnts and beautiful scenery.
Blue Moon is very comfortable and relaxing with terrific beds and bathrooms and wonderful breakfasts! Just what you envision for a bed and breakfast. And the hosts, Julie and Jean-Pierre and incredible!
Thank you Julie and JP for a wonderful time. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I just return from a wonderful stay at the Blue Moon. Jean-Pierre and Julie were charming hosts. While I am not normally a breakfast eater, the gourmet meals made from fresh homegrown and local ingredients were impossible to resist. Each breakfast included fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and a unique entree. My favorite was the fresh corn and egg scramble served with roasted asparagus. I also enjoyed homemade afternoon treats and always available coffee and assorted teas. The room was clean, cozy and cheerfully decorated, but what I liked most was the large corner shower in the refurbished bathroom.
I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Pierre L, Owner at Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you; very much appreciated! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Julie and Jean-Pierre are terrific hosts. The breakfast is delicious and they accommodate any allergies or sensitivities. Every evening we came 'home' to delicious treats left out for the guests. The rooms are tastefully decorated, each with its own newly refurbished bathroom. Blue Moon is well located and, if healthy, one can walk to the theatre and the main commercial district; if you are not a 'walker', then it's a 10 minute drive. We'll stay here again. for sure!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, ask for one of the two bedrooms on the first floor or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 312 Helman Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly Mousetrap Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the historic Railroad district on a side street four blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast offers escape from busy downtown Ashland, yet is only a five minute walk to dining, shopping and the theatres. This restored 1890's farmhouse is an ideal temporary home for visitors to the stunning Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.