We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCall House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCall House
153 Oak Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Ashland B&B and Inns
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I'm almost speechless when thinking about what to write about this B&B that's just a few blocks away from the main part of downtown Ashland. The service and accommodations were excellent and the staff were attentive to our dietary (gluten and daily-free) needs at breakfast. All sorts of historical pictures and paintings on the wall which made you feel like you were visiting a museum. Double-paned windows kept the room quiet, even though our room faced the street. Great place to stay that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great views from The President Hayes Guest Room that is equipped with two large, queen sized beds, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Knowing nothing about Ashland Oregon aside from the fact that it was a good place to stop for the night on our trip, we booked a room at the McCall house after reviewing the plethora of positive comments on tripadvisor and other sites. We were highly impressed with both the town and the B&B. The McCall house is a stone's throw from the main hub of activity in Ashland, which consists of eclectic shops, diverse cuisine, and interesting nightlife. Ashland was really quite intriguing; it had a small-town feel but many of the features (such as cuisine, art, etc.) that you'd expect out of a bigger city.

The B&B was truly top notch. The owners made us a superb breakfast of crepes, fresh fruit, and sausages in the morning. The room was truly regal and much more interesting than the cookie cutter places that are often the usual fare. The common areas were still decorated for Christmas, and it was so relaxing to be able to sit by the fireplace and quietly read the newspaper. The entire team of folks we met (including the owners) really made us feel at home without being overly invasive. My one regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallemjazz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

...and the best breakfast....the friendliest staff, a most magnificent victorian house located dead center in the town of Ashland.....who could ask for anything more?
Wlll return asap, the town itself being quite nifty.

Room Tip: depending on the season, you may have to book early....it is just soooooo good and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Everything about the McCall House is wonderful: in no particular order:- wonderful, cosy, comfortable room (the Anna Anderson) in which to snuggle by the stove with a sherry and a book; incredible breakfasts (one in particular was the stand-out meal of my whole holiday); being able to explore the library; seeing the house in the dusk with welcoming lights; parking so you can explore the town on foot. But the key thing is the sense of welcome from the exceptional staff to someone who turned up on the doorstep having been drawn to the door by those lights. Ashland is gorgeous and this is such a great place to explore it from.

Room Tip: They all looked great - I was very happy with the Anna Anderson room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have stayed here with a group for several years. The hospitality is always outstanding, the food is exceptional. There is a wide variety of rooms, something for everyone. We really like the location as we can walk to the plays, and anywhere in downtown Ashland.

Room Tip: Lower carraige house was the least desirable for us, still ok though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our group continues to return each year. The beds are fabulous. Each room is unique with a comfortable sitting area for reading or napping. Having freshly baked cookies as you walk in the door along with tea or coffee is a treat. The living room area with a fireplace in October when we go is warm and cozy, a great place for a glass of wine before we head out for dinner. McCall House is very conveniently located for walking to the theater, restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The facilities are impeccable; the service is outstanding; the food is delicious; and the location is as good as it gets. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was terrific - we had our privacy yet we were just steps away from the main house. When we return to Ashland, we will be reserving a room at the McCall House!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is wonderful - you enjoy the privacy of a separate building but you are only step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Address: 153 Oak Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McCall House to your Saves list