We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Choice Every Time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCall House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCall House
Save
You added McCall House to your Saves list
153 Oak Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $75 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our First Choice Every Time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have been going to Ashland and the Shakespeare Festival for years, and now that we are both retired, we generally travel there twice during the season. Once we discovered the McCall House it became our first choice for accomdations. Thankfully, we have not needed to look elsewhere in recent years. We feel as though Nola and her staff are generous and welcoming friends as well as gracious hosts who invite us into their home to visit each year. The location to the theatre district is unsurpassed in Ashland, and its convenience to shops and restaurants as well as the theatres becomes more attractive each trip as we get older. At the risk of making it even harder for us to get our annual reservations there, we highly recommend the McCall House for those who enjoy upscale elegance in a true Victorian setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
95
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellen, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My bookclub has been coming to Ashland for the plays for 7 years now, and this is the first year we have all stayed together at the McCall House. We had a great stay and will be back next year. Breakfast, beds, quiet, staff helpfulness, and location are all perfect for us. We especially enjoyed the parlors to have a glass of wine or chat after the play.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

It was our first stay and it was absolutely wonderful. The room was warmly decorated, the beds to-die-for comfortable. The food was fabulously delicious. The common rooms were inviting and beautifully decorated as well. Nola was gracious, helpful, warmly welcoming questions, needs, conversation.

The McCall House is also centrally located, easy walking to OSF as well as restaurants and shops. It was nice to park the car and not need it again for the time we were staying.

And, as close to town as it is, it is a really quiet, comfortably peaceful.

I will definitely stay at McCall House again, and again.... - Wanda

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

After experiencing several other hotels and B&Bs in Ashland over the years, the McCall House is the end of the line—there are no other options for me. I think this was my fifth or sixth stay here and it was perfect as always. I've stayed in almost every room with almost every family member—partner, sister, mother, nephews. Every room is unique, cozy, comfortable, and quiet. The location is so central that if you want to quickly stop by to grab a sweater—or just one of their great homemade cookies—it's very close to everything. If you're in the mood to meet other guests, everyone is always very friendly, as are the staff, but for those shy, private, or romance-seeking types, it's also possible to stick to yourself without feeling like you're being rude or anti-social. A nice balance, better than most B&Bs. A gorgeous place, can't say enough.

Room Tip: The second floor offers an extra level of privacy, but every room in the place, even the carriage ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our fifth stay at McCall House and every year we find new superlatives! This is out fourth room in five stays (President Hayes, Captain and Lizzie, Sleeping Porch and Carriage House North). They are all wonderfully comfortable rooms which Nola constantly upgrades, reprints, etc. as to Nola, Kerry (sp?) and Kelly, one simply couldn't assemble a better staff! The breakfasts are superb and the cookies in the afternoon are sublime. For me, there is simply no other place to stay in Ashland.

Room Tip: We've stayed in four different ones, but the Sleeping Porch remains our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have been staying at McCall House for over 4 years now, and it is truly the ONLY place to stay in Ashland. The history, charm, room accommodations, food (breakfast and numerous snacks during the day/evening), location, and staff friendliness are the reasons that this is an outstanding B&B. We have stayed in 4 different rooms so far, and each one has its unique charm. The breakfasts will amaze you, and the snacks (mostly cookies) are awesome. Like us, you'll feel like this "home."

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We LOVE this B&B and can't say enough about how pampering it feels to stay here. Nola thinks of everything and the comfort of her guests is of utmost importance. Breakfasts are beautiful,nourishing and delicious. Great coffee, available fresh, early in the morning. Our room was comfortable, light and roomy. The beds inviting a restful night's sleep. All the amenities made available. We will stay there again and recommend it anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Address: 153 Oak Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.