We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland's Black Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashland's Black Swan Inn
111 North Third Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly Colonel Silsby's Bed and Brea")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 38 Ashland B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Manor Cottage recently. The cottage was cute, very clean and had all necessary amenities. It included a kitchenette which allowed us to keep snacks. Had we not been in full vacation mode and if the restaurant quality in Ashland wasn't so good, we would likely have prepared a small meal or two, but as it was we just appreciated it for keeping our water cold and having snacks available. The main house was very nice. The innkeeper helpful and friendly. The location was just a brisk walk from the OSF and just off the main beat also within a block and a half of the cheapest gas we found in the area. (Make sure to fill up here and not near the freeway where prices were 20-30 cents a gallon more expensive.) Would recommend this as a location to anyone planning on visiting Ashland soon. If you are very lucky, you might get to make friends with Lola, the innkeeper's charming black pug.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We traveled to Ashland during their slow, winter season for our anniversary & "babymoon" (last trip before the baby arrives). We found Ashland's Black Swan Inn online and immediately fell in love with it. Since they weren't heavily booked, Tracy the innkeeper, worked with us on the room rate & even upgraded us to a private cottage off the main house. We were served a delicious breakfast both mornings we were there including compliments like chicken sausage, apple pecan french toast, fresh squeezed OJ and plenty of fresh fruit. Our room was magically cleaned every morning (their cleaning staff is fast, friendly, and works around your schedule). There were cookies & coffee in our room as well as in the main house, all complimentary. Even at seven months pregnant, it was a convenient location. Right on the outskirts of a suburb, just two streets over from Ashland's Main St., we were in easy walking distance of food, shops, and more. From the Elizabethan cottage we were in it was very easy to access their private parking lot through a back gate. I can't say enough about this gorgeous inn and Ashland itself. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This B&B is just a short walk from the OSF and all the restaurants and stores of downtown Ashland. The rooms are nicely appointed with in room tub/shower in the smaller rooms. Breakfasts were tasty and interesting. I especially enjoyed a poached egg with a goat cheese sauce. We will stay here again and pick one of the suite rooms or stand alone rooms to try next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed two nights in this lovely B&B. It is well located in the centre of charming Ashland in an old house with a nice little garden and within walking distance of the theatre. We stayed in a cozy small room with an old style bath tub in the room. The breakfast was (for us) not really good (we prefer less prepared and healthier breakfast). All in all we had a really good stay, but just not excellent. Be sure to go to the theatre - it was fantastic and a very good starting point for the breakfast conversations....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in the cottage at the Black Swan for three nights -- perfect in all regards: quiet, cozy, comfortable, and within easy walking distance to the theaters. Very nice neighborhood. Good breakfasts. A+

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was visiting a good friend in Ashland last week and stayed at Ashland's Black Swan Inn for 2 nights. To say it was a wonderful experience would be an understatement! I stayed in the Blossom Room and loved the soft blue and yellow decor, view of the mountains outside my window, beyond comfortable bed and charming claw foot tub. Tracy, the proprietor, couldn't have been more nice, accommodating and welcoming. The ambiance of the inn was charming, relaxed and comfortable and the breakfasts that Tracy prepared were scrumptious! I especially loved the close proximity to both my friend's house, as well as downtown Ashland. It was one of my best experiences at a B & B and I will definitely be staying there the next time I visit Ashland :-)

Room Tip: All of the rooms a great, but I stayed in the Blossom Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My family and I went on a road trip, and Ashland was our 2nd stop. The town itself is absolutely adorable! The B&B looked really nice online and when we pulled up we were not let down. It's an old beautiful building with a peaceful front garden. The inn sitter was very nice and offered us tea and cookies and coffee and suggested places to eat and things to see. The room was so perfect in every way! It was so cute! It was a nice size, with a separate entry way. All the decor was so old yet hip looking and was so adorable! Had beautiful furniture, and a great bathroom, with a wonderful old claw foot tub. That tub was amazing! Nice and deep, and relaxing. I could of stayed in it all afternoon. Great closet space! I had the twin bed, and it was so comfortable and cozy. There was no TV, but it was actually nice for once. The living room was so elegant and nice and was supplied with snacks, books and more. It was really nice and quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was really good! We had a bacon and sage souffle with eggs, it was soooo good! It was a great location too, we could walk downtown and to the Shakspeare theatre really quickly. Can not wait to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland's Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland's Black Swan Inn

Address: 111 North Third Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly Colonel Silsby's Bed and Brea")
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to everything Ashland offers. Our inn is located just blocks to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, restaurants, galleries, shopping and Lithia Park; yet nestled in a quiet, historic neighborhood. Ashland's Black Swan Inn is a charming bed and breakfast in the heart of Ashland, Oregon. A Queen Ann Victorian on the National Register of Historic Places. The Inn was restored with comfort and beauty in mind. 

We serve hearty, homemade breakfasts, afternoon treats and local wines. 

Our Library and Parlor are always perfect for a book before the fire or morning coffee and newspaper, and the gardens beckon for exploration, relaxation and gathering with friends. 

Our B&B features a sumptuous full breakfast, private bathrooms, WiFi, air-conditioning, telephones, mini-fridges and much, much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland's Black Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashland's Black Swan Inn to your Saves list