We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Ashland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanticleer Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
120 Gresham St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 38 Ashland B&B and Inns
Subiaco, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real gem in Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Ashland on our drive from Seattle to San Francisco in October 2013 and booked into the Chanticleer Inn B&B via the net. If we ever get back to Oregon and Ashland (a long way from Western Australia), and we sure hope we do, we will absolutely definitely be staying with Ellen at Chanticleer! She is a fabulous host, the room was delightful and breakfast a real treat, especially with the other guests, some of them having been there many times before. Would not hesitate to recommend Chanticleer to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fleur Room and it was delightful, with a beautiful view over the nearby valley and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
139
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There is no better B&B than Ellen's Chanticleer Inn. We've been vacationing in Ashland for more than 10 years, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Attractive rooms, beautiful pond and gardens, all the amenities you could wish. Breakfasts are creative and delicious, featuring lively conversation with the always interesting guests. Ellen treats each guest like a personal friend; she and her staff anticipate your every need. Private parking; easy walking distance to plays, restaurants, and shopping. A total experience - a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a great stay here, food was outstanding, host was helpful, rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean. House feels like a home away from home and location was great. Did find it was a bit expensive as there are a lot of options in the area but service and quality of stay was exceptional. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a lovely place Chanticleer Inn is!!! Ellen thought of every little thing a person could possibly want or need!!!! The house is beautifully decorated and warm and inviting. The garden is beautiful and perfectly manicured. The shared spaces (living and dining rooms) were places where we got to meet and talk with Ellen and the other guests. Breakfast was artfully prepared and delicious!
The location is excellent for walking around town and near Lithia Park which was wonderful to explore!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The reviewers have said it all...Ellen is a wonderful host and the location and setting is relaxing and lovely. We found it a bit pricey but know that Ashland during the festival charges higher rates...the room was comfortable and nicely appointed...we did hear people walking around upstairs as mentioned before (it is a beautiful older home). We traveled with our older dog and Ellen was sweet and inviting...there was a $20 per night doggie fee which we didn't know about...this was added although we skipped the house cleaning service the 2nd day. That being said...breakfast was tasty and interesting...and this is a relaxing, convenient and lovely location to stay in Ashland...the ponds, fountains and local deer are a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Chanticleer Inn and had a wonderful experience. Ellen is absolutely lovely and such a gracious host and amazing cook. We stayed in the Fleur suite and it was charming, clean with lots of space. The common sitting and dining areas are very comfortable and relaxing with a wealth of books, magazines and information on Ashland and the surrounding areas including a binder with restaurant menus. The location couldn't be better - a 10 minute walk to the Shakespeare Festival site and 5 minutes to the shops. The gardens are beautiful. Our whole experience was so positive. We will definitely stay again and make our trip to Ashland and the Chanticleer Inn an annual event. Thank you so much Ellen!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved the Chanticleer Inn! Ellen really makes you feel at home. She cooks everything from scratch and even shares her recipes. She is a wealth of information and tailored her advice to our specific taste. I was especially impressed with her willingness to accommodate my diabetic diet and to prepare breakfast for us the night before we left (since we left before the scheduled breakfast time). We had the large room on the ground floor, with direct access to the incredible garden. If you are headed to Ashland (and you should be!), this is the ONLY place to stay.

Room Tip: The large room on the ground floor was quite & had direct access to the wonderful garden. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Address: 120 Gresham St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — a short walk to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. The garden level rooms are pet-friendly.Permit#02-142 ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanticleer Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chanticleer Inn B&B to your Saves list