We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden Forest Inn
Save Saved
You added Arden Forest Inn to your Saves list
261 W Hersey St, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a B&B we intend to return to the next time we visit Ashland. The serene atmosphere, the beautiful gardens, the comfortable rooms, the fabulous breakfast with interesting guests, and above all the hosts who made our brief visit so special make this a highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our 8th stay at the Arden Forest Inn for the Shakespeare Festival Plays. Every year just keeps getting better. We feel that Bill and Corbet, the hosts, are family. They make outstanding breakfasts and stimulate fun and intelligent discussion at breakfast. Our group from Salem takes 3 of the 5 rooms, and we have become close friends with the other guests that come on the same weekend to stay in the other 2 rooms. The rooms are exquisite, the grounds are beautiful, and we love the swimming pool area. We have already reserved our vacation time at Arden Forest next year! We love the walk to and from the Plays--it is the perfect walking distance to work up an appetite for the fantastic restaurants in Ashland and to stretch the legs before and after a play. We park our car and walk the entire vacation. This venue is the Best B&B we have ever stayed at, and this Vacation is our favorite year after year! Cheers and adulation to Bill and Corbet. They have created an enchanting masterpiece!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We come to Ashland each June to see the plays, but a large part of our enjoyment of this week is staying at Arden Foest Inn. We almost consider it our home away from home. The hosts, Bill and Corbet make breakfast special: Bill's food is wonderful, with a first course of abundant fruit platters, followed by a creative and generous breakfast entree, accompanied with homemade biscuits or rolls. We all sit down togetherat the table, and conversation is always fascinating, usually beginning with the plays we've been seeing, but often ranging to many other topics. Though people are, of course, free to leave when breakfast is over, many stay to talk for a long while, for Corbet and Bill care deeply about the theater and easily build a feeling of community around their guests.

Our room is spacious and restful as is the garden with its gazebo, where we often sit and read. The theaters are a fifteen minute walk, another benefit of this inn. This is the best place to stay in Ashland!

Room Tip: We like room #5 best, but all the rooms are quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prior to staying at Arden Forest Inn we visited several other B&B's in Ashland, but none compared to the wonderful experience that our hosts Bill and Corbet provided. Accommodations are very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Communal breakfasts are a daily highlight as the food is consistently outstanding, and is coupled with lively conversation providing knowledgeable insights into the current theater offerings, as well as other interesting topics.
An easy walk to OSF and downtown, AFI has a peaceful private garden and gazebo, perfect for pre-theater gatherings, and a small pool in the back to enjoy.
We often stay in unit 2, upstairs in the main house, which has two separate rooms that can easily accommodate 3-4 people. We have traveled from Portland to Ashland twice a year for the last 6+ years and AFI has been our #1 accommodation of choice.
We highly recommend Arden Forest Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travel to Ashland from the Seattle area once or twice a year in order to see the plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. We have stayed at several nice places, but this one has become our home in Ashland. We appreciate the fact that the hosts and many of the other guests are interested in the theatre, both in Ashland and elsewhere, and breakfast discussions of what we saw on the previous day are a highlight for us, although we have enjoyed lively conversations on many topics with guests who are visiting Ashland for other reasons. Downtown Ashland is a convenient 10-15 minute walk through a historic area of the town, but we have also immensely enjoyed leisurely afternoons in the peace of the Arden Forest Inn garden. That said, we can understand how some guests might prefer other accommodations. Closet space in the smaller rooms is adequate for us, but not extensive. The swimming pool, while fresh and inviting, is quite small. Breakfasts, while generous and delicious, are communal and served at 9 am, so if you prefer independence or an earlier start to your day, or need more lavish facilities, you might choose a hotel instead But we love the feeling of fellowship and sense of welcome that we experience here and feel no need to look further.

Room Tip: We generally stay in room 1, which is the smallest and least expensive, but opens directly onto the...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family goes with us so we just about take over the inn. Our hosts join us at breakfast and we talk about the plays,the actors and Ashland gossip. Great fun. Ask for the angel biscuits. They are super.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Arden Forest Inn has been my husband and my home away from home in Ashland ever since we discovered the inn several years ago. Whenever the daily grind gets stressful or monotonous I daydream that I am at breakfast with Bill and Corbet, eating one of Bill's fluffy biscuits or homey corn muffins, with nothing better to do than linger at the table over a mug of tea, lounge by the pool, or walk downtown to shop or take in a show.

Bill and Corbet always go out of their way to make us feel welcome when we come up for a visit, and do their jobs with grace and good humor, no matter the circumstances.

Whenever friends are planning a trip up to visit, we highly recommend Arden Forest Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arden Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Forest Inn

Address: 261 W Hersey St, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the cares of everyday life and experience the majesty of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival at our Ashland, Oregon B&B. Our comfy rooms, amazing breakfasts and gracious service stand apart from all other Ashland bed and breakfasts. Take advantage of our staff’s extensive theatre knowledge while you enjoy a dip in the pool or stroll in our enchanting gardens. Discover an escape from the ordinary Ashland, Oregon hotel at the Arden Forest Inn. ~ A Special Thanks ~To all of the many loyal guests and friends of Arden Forest Inn, we wish to offer our most heartfelt thanks for the extraordinary love and support sent our way this past year during the most challenging time of our lives. Bill's transplant was very successful and he is expected to be back - 100% - creating his culinary magic in the coming year. Both Corbet and Bill are looking forward to seeing all of you in 2013. For all the guests that we did not get to meet last year due to our absence we are sorry you didn't get to have the full Arden Forest experience, but we look forward to the possibility of meeting you in the future. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden Forest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.