We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shakespeare would have loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion Inn
Save
You added Albion Inn to your Saves list
34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Albion Inn Has SOLD
Ranked #9 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
McLean, Va
1 review
“Shakespeare would have loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I have long looked forward to an opportunity to attend the Shakespeare Festival in Ashland, Oregon. How could I imagine that the pleasures of staying at the Albion Inn and getting aquainted with the proprietor, Cyd Robb, would provide happier memories than the play we saw. Mrs Robb provided us with rooms beautifully furnished with antiques, complete living space to share with other guests including large living and dining rooms, a wet bar, a TV/Game room and a net-connected computer. The food was delightful and plentiful and her knowledge of Oregon's many nearby attractions was rich. The Albion Inn is the place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Hard to know where to start...so let's start with Syd the most friendly innkeeper ever! And, she is a wonderful cook so get ready for terrific breakfasts. She is dedicated to "no chemicals" and so all her food is fresh and clean and tasty. She offers snacks on the buffet sideboard all day and lovely sherry as well. The inn itself is interesting so ask her for a tour (and remind her to show you the part of the wall that is cut away to reveal the historic nature of the inn). The common spaces are welcoming. The Inn is pristine. I went with my best gal pal and we had one of the rooms outside the main house. It was immaculate, comfortable and large. The garden is beautiful...roses everywhere. The walk to the theater is just a few flat blocks. This Inn is small so reserve well ahead and enjoy yourself. Oh...don't forget to say hello to Franny and Zoey!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Albion Inn and recommend it highly. The hosts, Cyd and Gary, were welcoming and throughout our stay made sure that we were well taken care of, for example, checking to make sure the temperature of the house and our room was to our liking. Our room, which looked over a pretty garden, was spacious, quiet, comfortable and pretty. Our bathroom, though small, was quite fine. We loved the breakfasts which had a nice balance of special, very tasty and nutritious. There were also comfortable sitting areas for the guests—both inside and out. Many other things added to our great satisfaction with this inn—wi-fi, the New York Times, a short and easy walk to the theaters and town, and the price (lower than most other B&B’s). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon. Thanks Cyd and Gary!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner/Innkeeper at Albion Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Thank you so much for the lovely review, and for taking the time to join TripAdvisor in order to post it!
cyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My stay at the Albion was just delightful! Rooms were beautiful, immaculate and soundproof. Breakfasts made by innkeeper Cyd Ropp were healthy and delicious. Even though they had wi-fi I never used my laptop since guests can check their Email on the Albion living room computer. The Inn is a lovely two block walk from all the action downtown. I can't wait till my next visit. A great place!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We were totally pampered during our 4 day stay. The hosts, Cyd and Gary, were friendly and gracious, the Inn warm and inviting, our room very comfortable, breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, cookies on the buffet were positively yummy! Great location for walking to restaurants, shops and theaters. We are planning to return in August!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My husband & I, recent retirees & Bay Area "Empty Nesters" (youngest is a freshman at CU Boulder), decided to take a leisurely Road Trip with our 2 year old English Bulldog and headed north to Ashland simply because we'd never been there before! Browsing assorted online resources, I stumbled upon Albion Inn and fortunately was able to book 2 nights in the Queen Courtyard room where reasonably behaved dogs are permitted. From the moment we stepped inside this Inn, located just a half block off Siskiyou Blvd. in a quiet neighborhood just a few blocks away from theaters & dining, we felt welcome! Cyd and her husband purchased the inn back in Dec. '08, infusing the 5-suite home with their own blend of healthy, organic living (Cyd prepared generous & delicious breakfasts each morning), and encouraging guests to unwind & explore the area, yet was never intrusive. Cyd seemed genuinely interested in our opinions and welcomed suggestions to enhance the experience of future guests. We actually loved the fact that our suite did not contain a TV, although we were invited into the Inn's living area to view TV. The off-street parking was convenient and we often preferred to walk to the downtown area so we could feast on the variety of homes and gardens. In addition to seeing 2 non-Shakespeare plays in the intimate New Theatre and taking the recommended OSF backstage tour, we had the good fortune of eating many delicious meals (and highly recommend Winchester Inn restaurant, Chateaulin, and Amuse, although our options seemed infinite!) The lattes at Mix were beautiful as well as delicious! On our last day, we took Cyd's advice and headed out of town to sample delicious cheeses at Rogue Creamery and taste handmade chocolates at Lilliebelle Farms, both located in Central Point, OR. We loved the fact that we could dress casually throughout our stay (be sure to layer & pack some sort of water-resistant jacket or umbrella), yet one who wished to dress up in the evening would feel perfectly at home as well. I predict that -- as Cyd & Gary settle into their role as innkeepers and get better acquainted with Ashland -- the experience of visiting Albion Inn will blossom even more. We definitely will recommend this spot to friends & family!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Wonderful atmosphere and hosts, walk to theaters, organic food. This is a special getaway that is thoroughly enjoyable. We will return to this B&B as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Inn

Address: 34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home set in quiet neighborhood, only one block from Ashland's charming downtown. Three rooms with beautiful views are upstairs in the main house, while two more rooms are located in the cottage off the main house. All rooms have private baths. Two of our rooms may be configured with either two Twin Beds or one King bed. The other rooms have Queen beds. Delicious organic breakfast is served at 9 AM; fresh brewed coffee is ready by 7 AM. Guests traveling with pets may stay in one of the two cottage suites. Pets are not allowed in the main house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.