We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exuberant innkeeper bends over backwards for guests!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion Inn
Save
You added Albion Inn to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Union City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exuberant innkeeper bends over backwards for guests!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My husband & I, recent retirees & Bay Area "Empty Nesters" (youngest is a freshman at CU Boulder), decided to take a leisurely Road Trip with our 2 year old English Bulldog and headed north to Ashland simply because we'd never been there before! Browsing assorted online resources, I stumbled upon Albion Inn and fortunately was able to book 2 nights in the Queen Courtyard room where reasonably behaved dogs are permitted. From the moment we stepped inside this Inn, located just a half block off Siskiyou Blvd. in a quiet neighborhood just a few blocks away from theaters & dining, we felt welcome! Cyd and her husband purchased the inn back in Dec. '08, infusing the 5-suite home with their own blend of healthy, organic living (Cyd prepared generous & delicious breakfasts each morning), and encouraging guests to unwind & explore the area, yet was never intrusive. Cyd seemed genuinely interested in our opinions and welcomed suggestions to enhance the experience of future guests. We actually loved the fact that our suite did not contain a TV, although we were invited into the Inn's living area to view TV. The off-street parking was convenient and we often preferred to walk to the downtown area so we could feast on the variety of homes and gardens. In addition to seeing 2 non-Shakespeare plays in the intimate New Theatre and taking the recommended OSF backstage tour, we had the good fortune of eating many delicious meals (and highly recommend Winchester Inn restaurant, Chateaulin, and Amuse, although our options seemed infinite!) The lattes at Mix were beautiful as well as delicious! On our last day, we took Cyd's advice and headed out of town to sample delicious cheeses at Rogue Creamery and taste handmade chocolates at Lilliebelle Farms, both located in Central Point, OR. We loved the fact that we could dress casually throughout our stay (be sure to layer & pack some sort of water-resistant jacket or umbrella), yet one who wished to dress up in the evening would feel perfectly at home as well. I predict that -- as Cyd & Gary settle into their role as innkeepers and get better acquainted with Ashland -- the experience of visiting Albion Inn will blossom even more. We definitely will recommend this spot to friends & family!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Wonderful atmosphere and hosts, walk to theaters, organic food. This is a special getaway that is thoroughly enjoyable. We will return to this B&B as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The Albion was the perfect place for a quiet weekend of grading papers and simply getting out of town for two days. The customer service was excellent - and "green." Cyd & Gary Ropp cook organic breakfasts and provide organic soaps and shower gels at their inn. The abstract art by acclaimed artist Robert Burridge made the inn feel more like an modern art gallery than a victorian bed and breakfast.

Access to the internet on my laptop was easy - the inn has wi-fi throughout. Locating the inn itself was easy as Cyd provided excellent directions. The Albion rates are affordable, particularly in the current economy. I would recommend spending a few days in Ashland at the Albion even if you have no desire to watch a Shakespearean play. There are great pubs, restaurants, stores, and parks to emmerse oneself in. --Heidi English, college professor

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Charming 5 guest room B&B in charming Ashland; what more could you wish for? Wi-fi, and even Wii in the living room. Quiet (on the library end of town), homey, romantic. Fine even in the off-season; would be a great base for the theater fest.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Our stay at the Albion was remarkably pleasant and I feel moved to share some of the highlights. We wanted to enjoy some family snow play, so we traveled up from the Bay Area to Ashland. The Albion Inn is close to the Ashland Mountain snow parks, where we were able to enjoy fields of sparkling snow on quiet mountain paths. Mornings at the inn, we enjoyed delicious breakfasts (pannetone french toast!) and coffee. There was also a tea station available at all times with a large selection of teas. My husband and I slept in the Garden View room, which overlooks an artfully designed Japanese-style garden. Our windows also provided a gaspingly lovely view of the snowy mountains. The quiet and beauty of the spot inspired me to sit down at the desk by the window and get some writing done that I'd been putting off. Academic research help was at hand - the Ashland public library is a block away. There is wi-fi for keeping in touch with the outside world. My teenage daughter enjoyed playing games on the wii in the lounge room, and reveled in the privacy of her own room, the Chautauqua, with a velvet fainting couch and magnificent bed. We were refreshed by spending time in the garden, which hosts ruby-throated hummingbirds and seating for both quiet meditation and for social visiting. The innkeeper, Cyd Ropp, was welcoming and kind. I recommend the Albion for a sprit-refreshing experience! Writers beware: the muse is alive in the Garden View room! Oh, and one more thing - the claw footed bathtub is lovely!

  • Liked — My room was a dream. Location was perfect.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

I brought my girlfriend up to Ashland to escape to a quiet, quaint artistic location and we were so impressed with the Albion Inn. There is a beautiful garden outside which you can see from some of the rooms, there are dog-friendly rooms available, great food and service, and even web access. The building was quiet and we felt secluded. We were able to walk downtown in just a couple of minutes where we found lots of shopping and some great dining opportunities. The innkeeper, Cyd, and her husband were friendly but not intrusive. We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

This bed and breakfast is truly a hidden gem of Ashland located in a prime location within easy walking distance to the downtown area of the city and the theatre. When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly, knowlegable inn keeper with a true passion for her work at the inn and the city itsself. Our room at the inn was a quaint cottage-style room with all that one would expect at a high-quality lodging. All rooms at the inn have their own restroom/shower facilities and are kept very immaculate. We felt like we had escaped to a countryside cottage. The outside of the inn is upkept very well with lush gardens and pathways. The breakfast we were served in the morning was a full spread of foods including organic selections. Coffee and tea were always available in the commons area as well as Internet and cable TV access (for those of us who can't live without our technology!). The building is actually a national historic monument which is a very rare bonus at the Albion. Next time, we will bring our dog to stay in one of the inn's pet-friendly rooms! We will highly recommend the Albion Inn to all our friends and family who are looking to get away from it all and take a step back into a simpler time. Thanks Cyd and staff for all your friendly care at the Albion!

  • Liked — The building
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#8 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
13.4 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#1 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#9 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Inn

Address: 34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home set in quiet neighborhood, only one block from Ashland's charming downtown. We are sorry to inform you that the Albion Inn SOLD in 2014 and is no longer accepting guests. Enjoy your trip to Ashland. Best Wishes! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.