We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion Inn
Save
You added Albion Inn to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best B&B in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for our second time in 2 years, and this B&B is still every bit as wonderful as we found it before. The location is very good, a 5-7 minute walk to the theaters on back streets or the main street. The bedrooms are charming, large and well appointed. Best of all is the owner Cyd, who is delightful; she is welcoming, professional, warm and friendly. Her breakfasts are very carefully prepared (for special diets too) and absolutely delicious. The home has comfortable common rooms, a computer, places to read, etc. as well as a pretty garden in back. We aren't pet people and Cyd has managed the impossible: making the B&B work for both pet owners and non pet owners. This is definitely our "go to" place in Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your second review of the Albion Inn. How nice of you to go out of your way to support us through your reviews! Always great seeing you. You two are great guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Can't say enough good things about Albion Inn or the people who run it.
The location is ideal. It's only a 5-15 minute walk to any place in Downtown Ashland.
Cyd, the owner/manger, is a fabulous cook. Breakfasts are terrific.
She might also be the friendliest person in town.
Great food... Lively conversation... Endless treats... And lots of wonderful extra touches!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for the positive review, Cary. It was great having you here at the inn all week. Hope to see you and Laura again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cyd is a very welcoming hostess, creating an experience one wants to return to again and again. The room was very cozy and I so appreciated being able to bring my dog. Breakfasts were yummy and I left each morning being so full I didn't need to eat again for hours! We were blessed with a sunny weekend and it was so enjoyable to sit on the porch overlooking the garden, birds visiting the feeders and the beautiful fall colors of the area trees. Enjoyed meeting your animals too Cyd, and appreciated the extra effort you went to to mail my forgotten items back to me!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Imagine a sunny weekend in November! You and your dog were lovely guests and we and our dogs hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Cyd & Gary, we loved our experience at your B&B. You haven't missed a detail in the amenities in the room or the public spaces. Delicious AND healthy AND filling breakfast, accompanied by conversation about the "word of the day." Sherry, nuts & cookies out for snacks, a 24 hr coffee/tea bar with microwave and frig. My husband reveled in reading your manuscript and we both counted our conversation in the garden on matters philosophical and otherwise as a highlight. We had the roomy upstairs Chataqua room with a queen bed. Plenty of pillows and blankets and towels. Everything was immaculate. Walkable to OSF. We look to make this an annual event. You create such a welcoming environment!

Room Tip: Will try to book a first floor garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Forgive me for taking so long to respond to your lovely Trip Advisor review. I fondly recall our philosophical discussions out on the patio. My book has been published and it turned out beautifully. You can find it here at the inn. It's called "A Simple Explanation of Absolutely Everything". So come on back soon to pick up your copy! Love to see you two again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've attended OSF for many years and have tried many of the hotels and B&Bs in town. We've enjoyed them all for different reasons. The Albion Inn is the first where we made reservations for the following year before we left. It was everything we look for in a B&B.

Our upstairs Garden View Queen was comfortable (and thankfully not over decorated). The breakfasts rivaled our favorite Ashland breakfast eatery - The Morning Glory - and that's no easy feat! Sherry and treats available day and evening. Access to a small fridge and kitchenette, A lovely Garden. Two sweet dogs. An interesting hostess. How much did we like it? We and the two other couples traveling with us booked the entire house for next year's stay and are rounding up friends to join us in a glorious house party!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I can't tell you how much I'm looking forward to hosting a houseful of you and your friends!
Thank you for taking the time to leave a helpful review. As a senior reviewer, it means a lot when you call us your favorite b&b in Ashland.

I'm glad you brought up the Albion's lack of "over decoration." Yes, we are not fou-fou here. We aim for tasteful simplicity with a subtle Asian flair. It may sound odd, but it seems to work for this 1902 farmhouse. The original b&b designers 25 years ago built a lovely Zen garden outside the living room window under a 100-year-old cherry tree that is still going strong and beautiful today.
Gary and I have carried on that Asian tradition by consciously arranging all of the rooms according to principles of Feng Shui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just close your eyes and imagine Energizer Battery's marketing icon (pink bunny in sunglasses banging on a drum) and transfer that vision of nonstop energy to Cyd, innkeeper/owner of Albion Inn. Not only is Cyd a creative cook of healthy breakfasts, she also is an expert conversationalist on a wide range of topics, a helpful local information resource, a gardener and a lover of both dogs & cats. Cyd's assistant, Rayetta, keeps each guest room in tip top condition, yet one feels right at home. There are lots of options for socializing with fellow guests, or one may enjoy a more private experience. No need for lunch after Cyd's hearty breakfasts, though she stocks the dining area with cookies, fruit & bites of sweets for those up late after viewing a play or exploring the Ashland area. My husband & I parked our car in designated off-street spot and then walked everywhere throughout our 4-night stay (suggest this since there's no shortage of fantastic restaurants!) This is a perfect spot for one who enjoys being pampered without being smothered.

Room Tip: Because we often travel with our dog, we have only stayed in the pet-friendly Queen garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I'm so sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your darling review. No excuse!

The energizer bunny image is so apt and so funny. My drill instructor said the same thing about me back in basic training--"quick like a bunny" is how she put it. "Give it to Cyd to do. She's quick like a bunny." A couple of days ago a guest called me a "force of nature." Thank you all.

Looking forward to seeing you and doggie-love again next time you come to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We staying in one of the rooms upstairs. There's a nice view of the mountains and the garden. Convenient location to town (you can walk) and as mentioned in other reviews, the host and hostess are terrific. Snacks are always available downstairs, plus coffee/tea/hot chocolate. My only comment is that breakfast starts a bit on the late side, 9:00am (although coffee and scones/muffins are available earlier). If you need to leave before then you miss out on a wonderful full breakfast.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your Trip Advisor review of the Albion Inn. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to acknowledge your helpful review. I'm trying to catch up and stay caught up!

Yes, I, too, feel sorry for guests that have to leave before breakfast. 9 o'clock seems to work best for most folks, who go to bed late after a night of theater. The hot food hits the table at 9 AM, so there is plenty of time to eat at a leisurely pace and still get to the 10 o'clock backstage tour.

If anyone happens to be the only guests of the inn during their stay, which often happens during the winter slow season, then just let me know what time you would like to eat and I'll be happy to oblige. I also put together sack breakfasts for the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Inn

Address: 34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home set in quiet neighborhood, only one block from Ashland's charming downtown. We are sorry to inform you that the Albion Inn SOLD in 2014 and is no longer accepting guests. Enjoy your trip to Ashland. Best Wishes! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.