We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B we'll return to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion Inn
Save
You added Albion Inn to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The B&B we'll return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've attended OSF for many years and have tried many of the hotels and B&Bs in town. We've enjoyed them all for different reasons. The Albion Inn is the first where we made reservations for the following year before we left. It was everything we look for in a B&B.

Our upstairs Garden View Queen was comfortable (and thankfully not over decorated). The breakfasts rivaled our favorite Ashland breakfast eatery - The Morning Glory - and that's no easy feat! Sherry and treats available day and evening. Access to a small fridge and kitchenette, A lovely Garden. Two sweet dogs. An interesting hostess. How much did we like it? We and the two other couples traveling with us booked the entire house for next year's stay and are rounding up friends to join us in a glorious house party!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I can't tell you how much I'm looking forward to hosting a houseful of you and your friends!
Thank you for taking the time to leave a helpful review. As a senior reviewer, it means a lot when you call us your favorite b&b in Ashland.

I'm glad you brought up the Albion's lack of "over decoration." Yes, we are not fou-fou here. We aim for tasteful simplicity with a subtle Asian flair. It may sound odd, but it seems to work for this 1902 farmhouse. The original b&b designers 25 years ago built a lovely Zen garden outside the living room window under a 100-year-old cherry tree that is still going strong and beautiful today.
Gary and I have carried on that Asian tradition by consciously arranging all of the rooms according to principles of Feng Shui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just close your eyes and imagine Energizer Battery's marketing icon (pink bunny in sunglasses banging on a drum) and transfer that vision of nonstop energy to Cyd, innkeeper/owner of Albion Inn. Not only is Cyd a creative cook of healthy breakfasts, she also is an expert conversationalist on a wide range of topics, a helpful local information resource, a gardener and a lover of both dogs & cats. Cyd's assistant, Rayetta, keeps each guest room in tip top condition, yet one feels right at home. There are lots of options for socializing with fellow guests, or one may enjoy a more private experience. No need for lunch after Cyd's hearty breakfasts, though she stocks the dining area with cookies, fruit & bites of sweets for those up late after viewing a play or exploring the Ashland area. My husband & I parked our car in designated off-street spot and then walked everywhere throughout our 4-night stay (suggest this since there's no shortage of fantastic restaurants!) This is a perfect spot for one who enjoys being pampered without being smothered.

Room Tip: Because we often travel with our dog, we have only stayed in the pet-friendly Queen garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I'm so sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your darling review. No excuse!

The energizer bunny image is so apt and so funny. My drill instructor said the same thing about me back in basic training--"quick like a bunny" is how she put it. "Give it to Cyd to do. She's quick like a bunny." A couple of days ago a guest called me a "force of nature." Thank you all.

Looking forward to seeing you and doggie-love again next time you come to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We staying in one of the rooms upstairs. There's a nice view of the mountains and the garden. Convenient location to town (you can walk) and as mentioned in other reviews, the host and hostess are terrific. Snacks are always available downstairs, plus coffee/tea/hot chocolate. My only comment is that breakfast starts a bit on the late side, 9:00am (although coffee and scones/muffins are available earlier). If you need to leave before then you miss out on a wonderful full breakfast.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your Trip Advisor review of the Albion Inn. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to acknowledge your helpful review. I'm trying to catch up and stay caught up!

Yes, I, too, feel sorry for guests that have to leave before breakfast. 9 o'clock seems to work best for most folks, who go to bed late after a night of theater. The hot food hits the table at 9 AM, so there is plenty of time to eat at a leisurely pace and still get to the 10 o'clock backstage tour.

If anyone happens to be the only guests of the inn during their stay, which often happens during the winter slow season, then just let me know what time you would like to eat and I'll be happy to oblige. I also put together sack breakfasts for the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at the Albion Inn for 4 nights in August. Enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in the queen garden room, which was not luxurious but very very comfortable and had everything we needed. The rooms upstairs are more charming. Breakfast was wonderful (no need for lunch) and we also made use of the refrigerator and microwave in the house. Ate our dinner in the garden a few times. Cyd is a gracious and accomodating host, as well as an author and philosopher. Within walking distance of the theaters and town. Certainly would recommend the Albion Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please forgive me for taking so long to reply to your lovely review! I agree with all you say, including the fact that the rooms are not luxurious nor even particularly large by today's standards. But we do all we can with what we have. And what we lose in grandeur we try to make up with thoughtfulness and, yes, good, wholesome food! Thank you again for staying with us during your trip out West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We are veteran OSF members and much prefer B&Bs to hotels -- the communal breakfast table and the ability to mingle with other guests is something we cherish. Cyd and Gary are gracious and informative hosts; the breakfasts varied, delicious and plentiful, incorporating home-grown fresh produce and herbs. The home and gardens are nicely maintained; lots of reading materials and New York Times available in the common room. The Inn is within easy access to the theaters, good restaurants and shopping. We always returned after our afternoon play to a shady spot in the garden, and fresh cookies, chocolates, nuts with fully outfitted tea/coffee station. It is very pet-friendly (a couple guests had their well-behaved pets with them.) Our room was cozy, clean and comfortable, and well-stocked with books to make us feel right at home. We enjoyed our first stay here and would readily recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello! I remember you so clearly. Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful and informative review! Your praise means a lot, especially considering your senior reviewer status.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to town. New cookie recipes along with the old favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After coming to Ashland several times, we finally decided to try a B&B in town. The Albion Inn was great choice. The location was a short walk to the theater. The innkeeper Cyd was very friendly. The breakfasts were very good. The rooms are very comfortable with tempurpedic mattress. It was over 100 degrees outside but the ac kept things nice and cool. The garden outback is lovely with tables for relaxing and picnicking. We will definitely stay at the Albion again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the glowing review. I apologize for taking too long to respond to your kind words. Your five star review means a lot considering your senior contributor status with Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your b&b experience here in Ashland. Ashland is such a charming little village that it just seems the most natural thing to do to stay in one of the old, historic homes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Albion Inn in Ashland, Oregon. We enjoyed our stay there. Syd is a charming host. She also cooks excellent breakfasts and always has chocolate chip cookies on the buffet!!
The rooms are delightful a and the beds are very comfortable. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for the review! I just made some all organic, whole wheat Greek cookies. They're made with olive oil rather than butter--very crispy and not very sweet. Mmmm... I'm going to set out some sweeter cookies, too, for those who like a bit more sugar in their snacks. Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Inn

Address: 34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home set in quiet neighborhood, only one block from Ashland's charming downtown. We are sorry to inform you that the Albion Inn SOLD in 2014 and is no longer accepting guests. Enjoy your trip to Ashland. Best Wishes! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.