We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine the Energizer Bunny as Innkeeper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion Inn
Save Saved
You added Albion Inn to your Saves list
34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Albion Inn Has SOLD
Ranked #7 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Union City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Imagine the Energizer Bunny as Innkeeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just close your eyes and imagine Energizer Battery's marketing icon (pink bunny in sunglasses banging on a drum) and transfer that vision of nonstop energy to Cyd, innkeeper/owner of Albion Inn. Not only is Cyd a creative cook of healthy breakfasts, she also is an expert conversationalist on a wide range of topics, a helpful local information resource, a gardener and a lover of both dogs & cats. Cyd's assistant, Rayetta, keeps each guest room in tip top condition, yet one feels right at home. There are lots of options for socializing with fellow guests, or one may enjoy a more private experience. No need for lunch after Cyd's hearty breakfasts, though she stocks the dining area with cookies, fruit & bites of sweets for those up late after viewing a play or exploring the Ashland area. My husband & I parked our car in designated off-street spot and then walked everywhere throughout our 4-night stay (suggest this since there's no shortage of fantastic restaurants!) This is a perfect spot for one who enjoys being pampered without being smothered.

Room Tip: Because we often travel with our dog, we have only stayed in the pet-friendly Queen garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I'm so sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your darling review. No excuse!

The energizer bunny image is so apt and so funny. My drill instructor said the same thing about me back in basic training--"quick like a bunny" is how she put it. "Give it to Cyd to do. She's quick like a bunny." A couple of days ago a guest called me a "force of nature." Thank you all.

Looking forward to seeing you and doggie-love again next time you come to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We staying in one of the rooms upstairs. There's a nice view of the mountains and the garden. Convenient location to town (you can walk) and as mentioned in other reviews, the host and hostess are terrific. Snacks are always available downstairs, plus coffee/tea/hot chocolate. My only comment is that breakfast starts a bit on the late side, 9:00am (although coffee and scones/muffins are available earlier). If you need to leave before then you miss out on a wonderful full breakfast.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your Trip Advisor review of the Albion Inn. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to acknowledge your helpful review. I'm trying to catch up and stay caught up!

Yes, I, too, feel sorry for guests that have to leave before breakfast. 9 o'clock seems to work best for most folks, who go to bed late after a night of theater. The hot food hits the table at 9 AM, so there is plenty of time to eat at a leisurely pace and still get to the 10 o'clock backstage tour.

If anyone happens to be the only guests of the inn during their stay, which often happens during the winter slow season, then just let me know what time you would like to eat and I'll be happy to oblige. I also put together sack breakfasts for the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at the Albion Inn for 4 nights in August. Enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in the queen garden room, which was not luxurious but very very comfortable and had everything we needed. The rooms upstairs are more charming. Breakfast was wonderful (no need for lunch) and we also made use of the refrigerator and microwave in the house. Ate our dinner in the garden a few times. Cyd is a gracious and accomodating host, as well as an author and philosopher. Within walking distance of the theaters and town. Certainly would recommend the Albion Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please forgive me for taking so long to reply to your lovely review! I agree with all you say, including the fact that the rooms are not luxurious nor even particularly large by today's standards. But we do all we can with what we have. And what we lose in grandeur we try to make up with thoughtfulness and, yes, good, wholesome food! Thank you again for staying with us during your trip out West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We are veteran OSF members and much prefer B&Bs to hotels -- the communal breakfast table and the ability to mingle with other guests is something we cherish. Cyd and Gary are gracious and informative hosts; the breakfasts varied, delicious and plentiful, incorporating home-grown fresh produce and herbs. The home and gardens are nicely maintained; lots of reading materials and New York Times available in the common room. The Inn is within easy access to the theaters, good restaurants and shopping. We always returned after our afternoon play to a shady spot in the garden, and fresh cookies, chocolates, nuts with fully outfitted tea/coffee station. It is very pet-friendly (a couple guests had their well-behaved pets with them.) Our room was cozy, clean and comfortable, and well-stocked with books to make us feel right at home. We enjoyed our first stay here and would readily recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello! I remember you so clearly. Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful and informative review! Your praise means a lot, especially considering your senior reviewer status.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to town. New cookie recipes along with the old favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After coming to Ashland several times, we finally decided to try a B&B in town. The Albion Inn was great choice. The location was a short walk to the theater. The innkeeper Cyd was very friendly. The breakfasts were very good. The rooms are very comfortable with tempurpedic mattress. It was over 100 degrees outside but the ac kept things nice and cool. The garden outback is lovely with tables for relaxing and picnicking. We will definitely stay at the Albion again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the glowing review. I apologize for taking too long to respond to your kind words. Your five star review means a lot considering your senior contributor status with Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your b&b experience here in Ashland. Ashland is such a charming little village that it just seems the most natural thing to do to stay in one of the old, historic homes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Albion Inn in Ashland, Oregon. We enjoyed our stay there. Syd is a charming host. She also cooks excellent breakfasts and always has chocolate chip cookies on the buffet!!
The rooms are delightful a and the beds are very comfortable. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for the review! I just made some all organic, whole wheat Greek cookies. They're made with olive oil rather than butter--very crispy and not very sweet. Mmmm... I'm going to set out some sweeter cookies, too, for those who like a bit more sugar in their snacks. Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our fist Bed and Breakfast experience in Ashland, and it was a great one. We had one of the garden rooms adjacent to the main house. The folks in the room next door had a dog with them. Cyd, our innkeeper, made it very clear that if we were at all bothered by the dog barking, we should inform her at once and she would remedy the situation. As it was, the dog never made a peep, and, in fact, turned out to be a charming and very well behaved guest. Our room was clean, well-appointed and blessedly air-conditioned in the nearly 100 degree heat. Cyd served a delicious breakfast, and encouraged a lively conversation among guests around the breakfast table. The gardens are a lovely spot to sip a cup of tea or a glass of wine in the evening. In all, a positive experience from beginning to end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionInnkeeper, Owner at Albion Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for your review! As far as I know, we've only ever had one complaint about a guest's dog. All our other furry visitors have been very sweet and respectfully quiet. I'm so glad your first B&B experience in Ashland was a good one! People always wind up coming back to the Albion Inn once they find us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Inn

Address: 34 Union Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home set in quiet neighborhood, only one block from Ashland's charming downtown. Three rooms with beautiful views are upstairs in the main house, while two more rooms are located in the cottage off the main house. All rooms have private baths. Two of our rooms may be configured with either two Twin Beds or one King bed. The other rooms have Queen beds. Delicious organic breakfast is served at 9 AM; fresh brewed coffee is ready by 7 AM. Guests traveling with pets may stay in one of the two cottage suites. Pets are not allowed in the main house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.