We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Mess Up, Okay Follow Up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cobb, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Big Mess Up, Okay Follow Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

An otherwise nice stay in a place I have enjoyed several times before was marred by a soaking wet carpet (not dried following a cleaning). Some suitcases and bags set on the floor were soaked through. When we reported the problem, the staff acted promptly, and we were given a $40 room discount - nice, but not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at our property and writing a review for other travelers. I am sorry that the carpet was wet in your room when you checked in and we didn't get all the water soaked up enough and your items got wet. We did let our owner, Jonathan Warren know of your issue and he is the one that came up with that discount.

If you would like to discuss this or anything else regarding your stay, do not hesitate to call me at 1 800 533-9627 or you can email me at info@bardsinn.com.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    118
    36
    15
    16
See reviews for
128
135
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great location, staff ,property breakfast and stay. Towels by the pool, sausage links, fresh pancakes :-) Does it get any better? Our family had a very good time and the Bards Inn was part of the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially your breakfast and our pool, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As usual, our group of eight ladies stayed at the Bard's Inn at our annual trip to the Shakespearean Festival. The hotel staff were wonderful and the rooms very nice. We especially enjoy the patio area outside of our rooms where we could all gather every evening for cocktails and appetizers before embarking on our dinner & play evenings. Always have a great time here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for coming back to Ashland and staying with us again and again! Yes, the patio rooms in our Somerset building are very nice as you indicated in your review.

We really appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your visit next year!

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Bard's Inn is situated in a great spot for Shakespeare, shopping, dining while still being accessible. Newer rooms in the Somerset section are quite lovely, while the orignial motel is smaller and more of your average experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest:: Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our property. We really appreciate your business.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again on a future trip to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here to see plays in Ashland. Check-in was a breeze, customer service desk went above & beyond to make the process smooth (even with a small hiccup). Rooms were comfortable, amenities intact, and the appliances all worked well. Bed was a little firm, but that's not a big deal to me - just worth mentioning in a thorough review. The pool & hot tub were very clean. The free breakfast was adequately stocked with a variety of options. Finally, this hotel was so close to the downtown plaza that it was extremely convenient to run back and forth between shopping, eating, and plays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for such a huge compliment! We are a family owned company so yes, we are trying to treat you like family!

So glad that you enjoyed your stay and are recommending our property to other travelers, it really is appreciated.

Hope to see you back in Ashland, soon.

Sincerely,

Holly H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Bard's Inn is a short walk to the Shakespeare Festival. You almost wish they would pull down this old motel style building, exterior walkways, no privacy, high noise level from children, and replace it with a modern hotel. The tradeoffs against the location is you can hear every outside discussion and car noise.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property, we appreciate your comments. Unfortunately our property is located in a downtown location facing busy streets. We do have some "quieter" rooms available but are very desirable and consequently booked quickly.

I hope you will consider staying with us again, the next time you venture to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We always stay here when we make our annual 330 mile drive up to Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival. We have a favorite room which we ask for when we make our reservation. The room is close to all three theaters of the Festival, has good beds, a refrigerator, and air-conditioning (it was 104 degrees when we arrived this year). The staff did two things: At about midnight, showed me how to adjust the AC; and alerted us that we had left the dome light on in our car. Good place and people!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and again. We really appreciate your business and continued loyalty! We are a family owned company and our owner treats us like family, so once you stay with us, trust me you are a part of our family.

So glad we were able to alert you that your dome light was still on in your car at midnight and you were able avoid a dead battery.

Looking forward to your next visit to Ashland and The Best Western Bards Inn.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#3 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.