We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value at the Oregon Shakespearean Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Ashland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashland, United States
1 review
“Best Value at the Oregon Shakespearean Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I like a quiet, clean small room (with a king-sized bed) for a week each year in Ashland, Oregon, to attend the Oregon Shakespearean Festival. The Bard's Inn is one block away from the three theatres I attend, but it is off the main road enough so the traffic noises don't penetrate the room walls! The people staffing the desk are most welcoming and eager to answer questions (directions, restaurants, shops). It is a pleasure to be so close to the main shops and theatres -- you don't have to drive everywhere since the walking is so pleasant. Also, huge Lithia Park is right next to the OSF complex and there are numerous restaurants within a few yards of the park. So, great location, friendly staff, cleanliness of rooms, safety (lots of lighting at night) and terrific breakfast buffet make this a good place to stay a day or a week or two. The weather is usually cool (Oct) when I stay there, but there were two people in the tiny outdoor pool by the breakfast hall. Steam was coming off the water, so it looked inviting! I, however, was off to the Travel Store and the Bead Shop -- both within 3 blocks of the Bard's Inn. Did I mention the GREAT LOCATION?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Diane,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. We are really trying to make each guest experience "superior" so when we succeed, it's special.
We look forward to your next visit to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
108
110
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The Bards Inn in Ashland Or. is very successful. The primary reason is it's proximity to the Shakespeare theaters. There are actually four sites on the property...which we wished we'd known.
We were there for 4 nights, in a room in the main building I thought of as 'the prison'. It was the smallest room I've ever stayed in- ever. There were few places to put anything, and we had to keep the window open at all times because of the smell of the room...that ' cat pee mixed w/mildew'
smell.
All the employees we dealt with were great. Stay there if you will, BUT, ask to stay in one of the newer buildings. Might be more $$, but definitely worth it.
T. McGee

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our property. Please accept my sincere apology for the small room and the bad odor in that room. Or Housekeeping Department has won cleanliness awards from Best Western, so I am sorry for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay with your substandard experience. As you stated we do have four buildings and each building with the exception of the "main" building has more spacious rooms and as you indicated there is a price difference but well worth it.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again when we can deliver a better stay for you.
Sincerely,
Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Our room was small, but adequate and clean. Bottled water was complimentary. Centrally located. Easy walking to restaurants,shopping and other venues.Staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay another time when traveling through Ashland.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our property and it's fabulous location.
Thank you for the positive comments regarding our staff and we look forward to "hosting" you in the future.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We've been staying at the BW Bard's Inn at least once per year. It is conveniently located in Ashland's theater area. It's an easy walk to the Sheakespeare Theaters. It's location also allows easy access to many fine restaurants and retail store.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting the folks know what a great location we have, so close to all the downtown attractions, Lithia Park, the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, restaurants and shops.
We look forward to your next adventure in our special city!

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I found my stay at this Best Western was rewarding. I was able to connect with their internet keeping in touch with my emails. The room was comfortable and well cared for by the hotel staff. The only objection was having to eat at Denny's restaurant and on a fixed choice of food items. In the past I always got sick eating there. I found the reception staff to be very professional both in appearance and knowledge. I appreciated the morning news paper each day of my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review you gave our property regarding your recent stay with us.
We'll look forward to your future visits to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Best Western Bard is in a great location in Ashland. That's where the pluses end. Old, SMALL rooms with few amenities and (for us) a very unhelpful staff. Wish I'd traveled a bit further and stayed in another place. The rooms aren't the only thing small - so is the selection for breakfast. Nice room - decent staff - boring, cold, tasteless fair. Even tho it was included (Best Western calls that 'free') in the room price, it wasn't worth eating there. While location may be most important in real estate, there are other considerations when booking a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Al,
On behalf of my entire team please accept my apology for not exceeding your expectations.
Would love to talk with you personally regarding a future stay and maybe we can give you a better experience than you had previously. I noticed that you stayed in our "main" building that is "older" so we would definitely make sure your next stay would be in one of our other buildings; "newer" with larger rooms. Since you didn't care for our complimentary breakfast I'll buy your breakfast in one of our fabulous downtown restaurants. If you are interested in giving us another try at a price that you would be amenable to, then call me at 1 800 533-9627 to discuss.
Thanks for your consideration.
Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stay at the Bard's Inn every year when we visit Ashland Oregon for the Shakespeare Festival. We have seen it when it's very, very good, and when it's very very bad. When you have been coming for 30 years, we've seen both!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for being a loyal Best Western Bards Inn guest for thirty years! WOW! I hope your recent stay was in the "good" category. We are always interested in our customers feedback and suggestions. Please feel free to call me anytime at 1 800 533-9627. We are always trying to improve our service and give each guest a superior experience so if we fail in our endeavor, I would really like to know.
Once again, on behalf of our entire team: THANK YOU for your continued business. We look forward to your next adventure in Ashland.
Sincerely,
Holly H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.