We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is convenient to the Ashland Shakespeare Theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandy, UT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hotel is convenient to the Ashland Shakespeare Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days. It is centrally located in Ashland within walking distance of the Shakespeare Theatre. On the first night there I walked over to the Theatre to see a Shakespeare play. The room was very nice and quiet. The free breakfast was very good. The hotel is also about 90 miles from Crater Lake which I visited, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, ASSISTANT MANGER at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Ashland. I agree that we have a perfect location for those who want to enjoy all of the local attractions in the downtown area. It can be a little stressful during the summertime months to find parking in the downtown area. I am very happy that you had a fun time while visiting Ashland and the surrounding Southern Oregon areas.

We will see you soon!

Ally T.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    117
    36
    15
    16
See reviews for
127
131
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, OR, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stay every year at the Best Western Bard's Inn in Ashland, OR when we attend plays for the Shakespeare Festival. The Bard's Inn is located walking distance to the plays as well as main streets of the community. The Inn always is clean, helpful staff, top-of-the-line breakfasts and reasonable rates for the season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear William L. ,

Thank you for choosing the Bard's Inn as your home away from home while visiting Ashland. I am thrilled that you loved our location, breakfast, guest rooms, etc. We have a baker on site which makes the breakfast items fresh each morning. I am so happy that you got to see all the special things that Ashland has to offer. We all hope to see you back in Asjhland very soon.

Ally T.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, very close to Shakespeare plays, Lithia park, and great restaurants. Bed was a little too firm, but otherwise everything was great. They have the best "Continental" breakfast we have every had, with sausages, mini quiches, yogurt, bagels & cream cheese, pancakes, and lots more. The pool is small, but well heated, and the hot tub was actually hot! The in-room internet worked well, and was reasonably fast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Jennifer K,

Thanks for your review. I agree that our location is one of the best. There is no need to drive anywhere once you have arrived at the Bard's Inn. I'm sorry you didn't like your room location during your last stay. We will have to book you into one of our 3 alternative buildings. The smoke has finally cleared from the local fires and Ashland is back to its' beautiful self.

See you next time,
Ally T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very nice motel to stay at when attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The motel is within walking distance of theaters, shops, and restaurants. Great hot breakfast included with the room. Rooms were comfortable and quiet even though the motel is located on the main street. Another nice feature is the fact that it is a pet friendly motel. I did see dogs of all sizes, but did not hear any barking, so that was not an issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Susan T,

Thank you for your awesome description of our hotel. I am really happy that you enjoyed yourself while visiting us and Ashalnd. Ashland is a very pet friendly town and many of our guests like to travel with their furry friends. I am so happy you had a fun time while staying with us. I hope to see you that next time you travel through Ashalnd.

We'll see you soon!

Ally T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here on our way to Hood River and on our way home. We had a deluxe king across the street from the main building. Very nice room facing the street. Noise was not a problem, although we travel with a Dohm white noise machine- invaluable! Excellent quick check-in, and when we called the front desk to see if there were wine glasses available, Chelsea offered to bring them to our room and she was there immediately with restaurant suggestions to boot!The price was very reasonable and the location was perfect- we walked to dinner and all over Ashland. The breakfast room was quite crowded the next morning, so we passed on that.
On the way back we had a standard king in the main building which was fine for the price. The only drawback was the stairs- the other building had an elevator and was more modern. Once again the staff was very helpful in directing us to the sights and restaurants.

Room Tip: Preferred the deluxe room in the more modern building across the street- also good if you are unable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear loyal guest:
We really appreciate you staying with us on the way up to Hood River and on the way back! Since you liked your room, building and location from your first stay simply request the same or similar location in the future as we will try our best to accommodate your wishes.
Thank you for the wonderful review and hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to or through Ashland.
Sincerely,
Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very efficient and patient staff, who dealt with an unexpected plumbing problem with courtesy and alacrity. We were upgraded to a different room, ending up with the penthouse for three nights! We have stayed at this place before, and they have always gotten our reservation details down perfectly. Their free breakfast is surprisingly good, and it always offers both juice and fresh fruit, in addition to sausages, miniquiches, breakfast burritos, guacamole, and the BEST little biscotti. The location of the Bard's Inn is within walking distance of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a positive review of our facility. I hope to see you, the next time you venture to Ashland.
Until then, take care.

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I visit Ashland a few times a year and every time I have stayed at this over priced under qualified hotel I have had a problem. This time, in the middle of the night security woke me up while mistakingly looking for someone who was being too loud. The security staff and managerial staff were extremely rude, and unprofessional when confronted with their mistake in the morning. After going to sleep again after being so rudely woken up by security, the owner of the hotel called my room to apologize (at 3am). But once I expressed my displeasure with the conduct and unprofessionality of his staff he turned into what sounded like a drunken teenager. Overall terrible experience on a few levels, next time I'll stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest:
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconsiderate behavior you suffered from our staff members. Thank you for staying with us repeatedly and I do understand how you feel at this point and we wish you well.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#3 Family Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.