We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Walk to OSF performances and any restaurant in town. They have a small pool and no excercise room. Wide variety of rooms from small to large with jacuzzi so check that out. Good generous Best Western breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We're so glad you chose to stay at our property. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as our complimentary breakfast. Hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    135
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
144
160
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

horrible customer service owner is a stuck up snob fire arm went off all night and no service loud noises all night and still didn't get anything but we are working on it.all that money just for one night of hell.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you suffered during the night two drunken guests decided to pull the fire alarm for "fun". We tried to get the alarm turned off as soon as possible. However, I am sorry that you felt that our owner was not handling it as well as he should have. We were trying to handle the problem as expediently as possible.

If you need further assistance in this matter you can call me at 1-800 533-9627.

Thank you,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This Best Western is ideally located for those who are attending the Ashland Shakespeare Festival (Bard's Inn, get it?), parking is available and free with a parking tag placed on your dashboard. Guests are even given a bag with a couple of bottled waters and 2 granola bars upon check in. But that's where the niceties end. This is really just a regular old-fashioned motel that has been somewhat upgraded with puzzling amenities mixed with tired infrastructure. There are high end linens on the beds with giant pillows that perforce have to be stored on the worn carpet. The indoor/outdoor carpet covering an upstairs walkway has strange bumps and level discrepancies (like a hazard on a mini-golf course) that could possibly trip up a senior citizen and send them tumbling down the stairs. Breakfast is the typical "breakfast is included" fare of bagels and pastries with the addition of an egg burrito and a mini quiche. I don't know, I just wish that US Best Westerns were up to the standards of those found in Europe. Elegant decor, great breakfasts and family-owned businesses where the staff takes pride in being hoteliers. All for the price we paid here for mediocrity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs if you have trouble navigating stairs and an uneven upstairs walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review of our property. We do have four unique buildings. The building you are describing in your review is of our original building. We would like you to come back and try one of our other buildings, where we do have "higher" end decor and amenities. We are a family owned business and try to give the kind of service you are describing in your review. I am sorry that you felt we were unsuccessful. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the complimentary breakfast.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you're heading to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, this Best Western adheres to the most important business advice ever: location, location, location. Three blocks away from the OSF with a walk past Ashland Creek and great little restaurants should make this a true gem. Beautifully styled with lots of Shakespearean art and decor made this place seem to be the perfect place.

But it is not. The front desk personnel were wonderful but the keys didn't work. There are three separate buildings so we had to keep running back and forth to the main building. Plus, every time you want to use the stairs or elevator, you have to use your key. Rooms are very small and, for a family of four, we were very cramped, plus the fact that they have three very large and decorative pillows on each bed...were do you put those when you want to lay down? The bedspreads are beautiful and augment the style of the room, but the material they are made of is slippery (??) and kept sliding off the bed all night. I get up early but my family does not...and at 8:10 a.m., the spray-blasting began outside our window!! You would have thought that we should have been forewarned. Previous reviews had stated that a great breakfast was offered but it was way over-rated: gross little quiches, hard pancakes from a very bizarre machine and no doughnuts or danish. Checkout was supposed to be at 11:00 but when we went back to our room at 10:15 the maid was already working in there!!

This hotel is the epitome of the triumph of style over substance, location over common sense.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
So sorry we did not give you a superior stay. This survey has been forwarded to our owner, Jonathan Warren for review and follow up. We hope that you would consider us for a future stay but again I am sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations this time. If I can assist further in this regard, please call me at 1 800 533-9627.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Awesome place, close to sweet downtown shops, river trail, and has a lovely little pool and hot tub...Bonus: Pet friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Everyone was friendly and helpful, and we loved the breakfast (pancake maker! Whoa!) Definitely would stay here again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and enjoying your stay! So glad that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast, the pancakes especially, as well as our staff and being able to bring your pet with you on vacation. We can't wait until your next visit to Ashland!

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Best Western was conveniently located and an easy drive to San Francisco. The breakfast had many choices from scrambled eggs to biscuits and gravy to fresh fruit to donuts, and more. The bed was very comfortable. The price was very reasonable for hotels in the Bay Area. Even though it was located near the airport, with earplugs there was no excessive noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This motel is located very well at the south end of Ashland's main drag (Main St.) and an easy walk to a wide variety of restaurants and the Shakespeare Festival venues.
The motel has several buildings and if you prefer one, they advise you contact them directly (rather than use the Best Western website).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are actually located one block north of the downtown plaza, restaurants, shops etc. As you say, we have four distinct buildings and each one is unique. Some have balconies, patios or window seats. The reason we would like you to call us direct (800 533-9627) is so that we can get you reserved in the building you prefer or if you are new to our property our front desk staff can make recommendations to you. We want you to have a fantastic stay at our property every time you venture to Ashland.

Sincerely,
Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.