We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our first stay in Ashland and we couldn't have had a better location than the Best Western Bard's Inn, an easy walk away from the theatres, restaurants, shops, and park. We'd definitely stay here again. A traditional two-storey, park-at-the-door style motel, the Bard's Inn delivered much more with an attractive Tudor-style decor befitting the Oregon Shakespeare Festival setting, planters of summer flowers, and landscaping. The continental breakfast included with the room rate also exceeded expectations with a variety of hot and cold items on the buffet (e.g., pancakes, scrambled egg wraps, mini-quiches, little pig sausages, yogurt, muffins, bagels, cereals, toast, juices, etc.) The breakfast room was bright with lots of natural light and the buffet area was well maintained. No fitness centre but guests with cars were able to use the equipment at a Best Western sister property a ten minute drive away. Iron and ironing board, free wireless, and parking were added benefits. A/C in our room was definitely audible when it came on but air handling was very good. The room temperature was comfortable and the smell of smoke from forest fires in the area was filtered out very well.

Room Tip: If stairs are not a problem for you, you might prefer a second storey room for a better view and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us as well as taking your valuable time to write a review for other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast. Leti, our kitchen manager has been with us for over a decade and makes most of the items served, from scratch. We look forward to hosting you, the next time your travels bring you to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    135
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
144
160
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
corvallis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

a good hotel in ashland, oregon close to the shakespearean festival. friendly and clean, comfortable with excellent service to customers. we prefer to stay here every time we come to Ashland and plan ahead to make sure we have our reservations well in advance as they sell out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us every year when you vacation in Ashland. Please be assured that we value your continued loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Holly H
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed twice @ the Bards Inn several days late October 2012 and again in March 2013. In October Ashland is gorgeous with the deciduous trees of golden yellow, red leaves . The check inn was quick, convenient & the staff was respectful & courteous. The rooms were clean & spacious. The location of the hotel was amazingly close & convenient to the beautiful Shakespeare playhouses. Numerous different cuisine restaurants. @ one of the Greek restaurants a lady played the harp. Love Ashland,Oregon!!
Complimentary breakfast included waffles, cereal, eggs, coffee , bagels, jam etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our property, location etc. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for other travelers. So happy you were able to have a great stay and we could be a part of it. We appreciate your business and hope you will consider staying with us again, the next time you venture to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Looking for the perfect spot to come home to after your Ashland Shakespeare experience? This is it... easy walking distance to the heart of Ashland and all the wonderful stores as well as the theaters with world class drama every day and night. Lovely restaurants nearby- from delicious breakfast and sandwiches to scrumptious dinner choices... This is THE place to stay when in Ashland- Add a wonderful staff and know- THIS is the place to be when in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our property as well as choosing to stay with us. Thank you for letting us be your "home" base while in Ashland. We look forward to your next adventure in our special city.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just stayed in room 503, which is in a new section of the inn, for one night. It was our anniversary and we planned to see a play (what else?) at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival replica Globe Theater (or theatre) upon arrival. The play was smoked out, but the room was great. We even had a patio area almost to ourselves (shared with another room) at street level which we enjoyed the next morning when the smoke cleared. I would always ask for the newer rooms in the future. The only drawback was the air conditioning unit was near the ceiling above the bed and directed cold air directly on us. Of course, the location is within walking distance of all downtown and the OSF theaters...can't beat that. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, ask for the newer rooms across the street from the main office...and watch the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us as well as writing a review for other travelers. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with the exception of the air conditioner positioned so it blew cold air on you while you slept. For future reference; please let our Front Desk know immediately whenever you encounter an issue like that in your room. In addition, I am having my Maintenance person look into this so this do not occur for future guests.

Sincerely,

Holly Harding
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This location can't be beat for proximity to the theatres and great restaurants. We have stayed at this location the last two years and will do so again .Every thing you need is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property two years in a row! We really appreciate your business and for taking the time to write a review for other travelers. Look forward to your next visit to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great walking distance location to all of Ashland downtown and festival theaters. Rooms on first floor of older part of hotel complex are not good. Always request the deluxe rooms with interior hallways.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Robert K,

Thank you for your review of our property. We have four distinct buildings, each one unique.
We hope you consider staying with us the next time your plans include a visit to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.