We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here the night of Nov. 23. My comments apply to the older section of the hotel near the lobby. The location of Bard's Inn is excellent, very convenient to downtown. The room was clean. Beyond that, our room on the 2nd floor did not have much to recommend it. It was small and cramped, with an armoire jutting out into the walking area. One suitcase rack was provided, but no accommodation was made for a second suitcase; I ended up having to put mine on the floor. I can usually find a surface--a dresser for example--but there were no "surfaces" here large enough for a second suitcase.

I believe that Bard's Inn is making an effort to have variety with the breakfast. Be aware that the quiche has a thick, soggy crust and no taste.

The front desk clerk who checked us in did not have a warm greeting for us; in fact, she gave no greeting at all. On the other hand, when we were having problems regulating the heater, a man came up right away and was very pleasant.

So... a mixed experience. My feeling is that this room was overpriced for what it offered. I would stay at Bard's Inn again, but not in the "older" section; and I would possibly eat breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. Each survey is forwarded to our owner, Jonathan Warren for review and follow up. We hope that you would consider staying with us again so that we may give you an incredible experience!

Sincerely,

Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    107
    35
    12
    14
See reviews for
117
120
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Very nice people. Go out for breakfast instead of the free one. It was cold and old.
Hotel is wonderfully located. With in walking distance to everything.
-------------------------------------

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for staying at our property. I am sorry than you were disappointed with our complimentary breakfast. We do appreciate your review and I have forwarded your remarks to our owner, Jonathan Warren for review and follow up. Look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Ashland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent a theater week in Ashland for the first time recently, and stayed at this Best Western, located an easy walking distance to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters and the gorgeous downtown Ashland area. Thus BW consists of three buildings grouped together. My room was #404, an end unit upstairs, in the quiet building behind the main one, about a half block further from the highway. The room was a double queen, recently renovated, with vaulted ceiling and a private balcony nestled among treetops. I had a mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, flat-screen tv, a table with comfy chairs, and a nice desk with comfortable chair. Free, fast Wifi for my iPad was another treat. I walked each morning the half block to the large breakfast room, where I savored quiches, sausages, toast, muffins, cereal, juices, and coffee. There's also an interesting pancake maker that resembles a copy machine, both in looks amd the way it delivers you one pancake at a time for your waiting plate. But yummy! I took advantage of both off season ad online rates, and was very pleased. This is the place I will definitely stay again each year when I return to Ashland for amazing theatre, good food, natural beauty and local color!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, request a room in the building behind the main one. You'll be further from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
On behalf of our entire team: Thank You! We really appreciate your review of our property, complimentary breakfast, etc. Until your next trip to Ashland, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Bard's Inn on a family road trip. We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, and the rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Our room was a great place to hang out and relax after a long day on the road. We loved the hotel's central location in Ashland. We walked to dinner and enjoyed a morning stroll along the creek and in Lithia Park before we hit the road again. Our one disappointment was the free breakfast-- I was expecting higher quality than the sugary cereals and other mediocre offerings. Next time I think we'd eat elsewhere.

Ashland is a cute little town with lots of good restaurants and unique shops. We enjoyed spending time there this summer! We would most definitely stay at the Bard's Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our complimentary breakfast, I will forward your input to our owner, Jonathan Warren for review and follow up. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice room with plenty of pillows on a very comfy bed. Great location, everything you could want within easy walking distance. An exceptionally good breakfast. Ashland is a very beautiful town n the fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff: Thank you for the positive review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a five night stay at the Best Western Bard's Inn in Ashland. An excellent choice if you're attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. It's an easy two block walk to the theater, and you're in the heart of the restaurant and shopping area. Large comfortable rooms, a full breakfast which is continually replenished, reliable Internet. This was our fifth annual visit and we will return. Helpful management, responsive to requests. We also like the heating system -
quiet, doesn't come on with a "whoosh" and wake you up.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that have the covered parking garage (not sure which side of the street) and rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our property. We are so grateful to you for your insightful views. We hope to see you again when you decide to venture back to Ashland!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.