We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a Winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow! What a Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent a theater week in Ashland for the first time recently, and stayed at this Best Western, located an easy walking distance to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters and the gorgeous downtown Ashland area. Thus BW consists of three buildings grouped together. My room was #404, an end unit upstairs, in the quiet building behind the main one, about a half block further from the highway. The room was a double queen, recently renovated, with vaulted ceiling and a private balcony nestled among treetops. I had a mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, flat-screen tv, a table with comfy chairs, and a nice desk with comfortable chair. Free, fast Wifi for my iPad was another treat. I walked each morning the half block to the large breakfast room, where I savored quiches, sausages, toast, muffins, cereal, juices, and coffee. There's also an interesting pancake maker that resembles a copy machine, both in looks amd the way it delivers you one pancake at a time for your waiting plate. But yummy! I took advantage of both off season ad online rates, and was very pleased. This is the place I will definitely stay again each year when I return to Ashland for amazing theatre, good food, natural beauty and local color!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, request a room in the building behind the main one. You'll be further from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
On behalf of our entire team: Thank You! We really appreciate your review of our property, complimentary breakfast, etc. Until your next trip to Ashland, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    115
    36
    13
    16
See reviews for
125
131
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Bard's Inn on a family road trip. We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, and the rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Our room was a great place to hang out and relax after a long day on the road. We loved the hotel's central location in Ashland. We walked to dinner and enjoyed a morning stroll along the creek and in Lithia Park before we hit the road again. Our one disappointment was the free breakfast-- I was expecting higher quality than the sugary cereals and other mediocre offerings. Next time I think we'd eat elsewhere.

Ashland is a cute little town with lots of good restaurants and unique shops. We enjoyed spending time there this summer! We would most definitely stay at the Bard's Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our complimentary breakfast, I will forward your input to our owner, Jonathan Warren for review and follow up. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice room with plenty of pillows on a very comfy bed. Great location, everything you could want within easy walking distance. An exceptionally good breakfast. Ashland is a very beautiful town n the fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff: Thank you for the positive review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a five night stay at the Best Western Bard's Inn in Ashland. An excellent choice if you're attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. It's an easy two block walk to the theater, and you're in the heart of the restaurant and shopping area. Large comfortable rooms, a full breakfast which is continually replenished, reliable Internet. This was our fifth annual visit and we will return. Helpful management, responsive to requests. We also like the heating system -
quiet, doesn't come on with a "whoosh" and wake you up.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that have the covered parking garage (not sure which side of the street) and rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our property. We are so grateful to you for your insightful views. We hope to see you again when you decide to venture back to Ashland!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in August and we were thrilled with the close proximity to all things to do in Ashland. Given how busy the streets are in. Summer, it was a pleasure to be able to walk everywhere. Although the pool is very small and looks over the parking lot, we really enjoyed spending the hot afternoons here before dinner and a show. The breakfast was also one of the best I've seen.
Not all of the rooms have been renovated. Ask for one which has a newer bathroom.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter. Ask for a newer or renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed overnight here on 9/14/12. Checked in after a 10 hour drive from the Olympic peninsula in Washington. Front desk was very efficient and helpful and gave us a great place to eat dinner. Room was very nice and their location is right downtown where all the restaurants and activity is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff: Thank You for your positive comments regarding our property and staff. We look forward to your next visit to Ashland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I don't think that there is a hotel any closer to the venues of the Shakespeare festival than this one. The hotel is really comprised of buildings on three corners of the main street running through downtown. The building where we stayed was quite dated - think late 1970s and a lttle dark for my tastes - but was very clean, quiet, and the staff was friendly and very helpful.
While in Ashland, in addition to a play or two, try to also check out the creekwalk in Lithia Park and the backstage tour. We wandered through the railroad district - which is also supposed to be a point of interest, but found nothing much there.
If you are looking for a filling, tasty, on the run sandwich, check out the Pita Pit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding the location of our property. Yes, we are centrally located to the downtown area and we are just steps away from award winning cuisine, various shops and the world famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Ashland.
Sincerely,
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#3 Family Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.