We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Bard's Inn is our first choice to stay when we overnight when we drive the I5 Corridor. The staff is professional and friendly. The rooms are excellent. They are especially pet friendly. The staff is very helpful and will go out of their weay to find information that you request.

Room Tip: Some of the pet rooms have their own patio. You might want to request one when you make your reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you so much for making us your number one stop on the I5 corridor. We pride ourselves on giving each guest a superior experience. Ashland is such a special place and we want to enhance your visit to Southern Oregon. On behalf of my entire staff :"thank you" for your wonderful comments and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    117
    36
    15
    16
See reviews for
128
134
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is located in downtown Ashland within walking distance of most major attractions and restaurants. Good location for attending Shakespeare Festival.
Staff is courteous and attentive, always friendly. The rooms are spaciuos and well outfitted.
Breakfast is very good with a good selection.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of our entire team: Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciate your positive comments regarding our property location and the level of service you received from our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Ashland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I am giving this review a "very good" rating because the room we stayed in on our first visit was excellent. A bit small for our family of 4, but still a great view out our balcony and it was very quiet. We stayed in the newer building across the street from the original Bards Inn. Our room faced South, towards downtown. We were on the top floor. The free breakfast was good. There were several choices...even pancakes made to order from a special machine. The kids loved that! Plus, all of the usuals such as toast, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, sausage, breakfast burritos, juices, and coffee. If you are looking for a heartier breakfast, Munchies had a great breakfast menu. And, was very good!
The pool is being renovated, so be aware of that. Not sure when that is supposed to be finished.
Our second night, on our way back through town, we stayed in another building. This time it was on the East side. I think there were only 8 rooms total in that building. Seemed much older, smelled a bit strange, had a small ant problem in the bathroom, but was slightly larger than the other room we stayed in. So, it was okay. We probably would have enjoyed it more if our neighbors below us would have been more curtious! Had to call the front desk at 11:30pm to see if they could get them to be quiet...after we asked nicely. Oh well.
Overall, we enjoyed our stays at the Bards Inn. We'd probably stay again...after requesting to stay in the newer building, top floor!

Room Tip: Request a top floor room in the newer building across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and letting folks know about our extensive complimentary breakfast. I am happy to report that the pool and spa will be completely finished (renovation) on or before May 1, 2012. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. We hope to see you again, the next time you venture to Ashland!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were only here for 2 nights but really enjoyed being close enough to the downtown to walk around. It was really convenient, affordable, dog friendly, and clean. The rooms aren't huge but they are comfy. Had a fridge and hair dryer in the room as well. I would stay here again and I usually insist on a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We try to give each guest a superior experience and we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and all of your positive comments!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LO, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Ashland and we wanted to stay somewhere close to town so I looked up hotels that would accommodate 3 people with 2 queen beds. The Bard's Inn virtual tour showed a suite with a queen bed in the main area and a separate bedroom with another queen. The room looked large and comfortable so I booked it.

Upon arrival, we did get a suite with a separate bedroom but it was not spacious at all. It was quite "cozy". All the furniture was placed very close together. Two people could not walk in the same area at one time, you'd run into each other. When I sat at the writing desk with my laptop, my husband tried to walk behind me but would run into the desk chair every time. Also, the desk was in a dark area of the room and there was no desk lamp, so in the evening, I would sit with my laptop on the bed since there were wall lamps on both sides of the bed.

The bathroom was small with no ventilation fan so it would steam up every time someone took a shower. The bathroom did have nice heat lights in the bathroom though. If you like soft, thick towels, you'd best bring your own. The towels here are thin and on the rough side.

On the plus side, they have a continental breakfast, a refrigerator in the room and the heating system worked well. There is a coffee maker in the room also but it is under the bathroom sink because there is no other place to put it.

We only stayed one night so we put up with all of the little annoyances but next time we'll try the Ashland Springs Hotel or the Plaza Inn and Suites which is right across the street.

Oh, and our room had little black ants in the bathroom and the front room. Not a lot but enough to be noticeable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
On behalf of my entire staff, please accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay with us. We try to create a superior guest experience for each guest so when we fail, such as we did in your case, it is simply unacceptable. We do listen to our guests and if we had known your feelings while you were on our property we would have done everything within our power to rectify the situation. I have forwarded your comments to our owner, Jonathan Warren for follow up and hope you will reconsider giving us another try. If I can address any specific item in the meantime please call (541) 482-0049. Sincerely, Holly Harding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

What a shock when we drove in the driveway and saw the sad, tired old building - but what a wonderful surprise when the front desk told us we were booked in their much more modern building across the street! Now this was a "PLUS" experience. We were most comfortable in the spacious, bright, modern, quiet room with a view. AND thrilled that our 2 small dogs could accompany us - we weren't stuck in a dungey old "pet-friendly" hole. Close to great restaurants for dinner. Bravo. OH, and the next morning's (included) breakfast back at the old building was the best we have had at any breakfast-included hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding our property and your stay. We hope that we can host your future trips to Ashland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hotel was over the top for my wife and I! Even though initially we thought the room was sort of small, it was very well maintained and very clean. The updates to the hotel are very recent and the location to downtown and the theatres is absolutely great, We had great WI FI connectivity within in our room and they even had two PC's in the lobby for guest use as well. The pillow top King size bed was the most comfortable one I have ever slept in at a Best Western. Adding the extended contInental breakfast they offered each morning made our stay the best ever. We will be returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Second floor room is always a good option for better WI FI reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay at our property. We so enjoy giving our guests a superior experience! We look forward to your next visit to Ashland.

Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#3 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.