We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for heater issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2520 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great except for heater issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The exterior of the hotel is charming -- it looks like part of Disneyland. Our room was clean and spacious, the staff very friendly and helpful.

The free breakfast in the morning was a bit nicer than average. They have a pancake machine instead of the typical waffle machine and a nice area to eat in.

The property is adjacent to a Chevron and a diner type restaurant.

Despite all this we had a rough night at this hotel. Our heater made an ear piercing noise whenever it fired up. We notified the front desk and they were apologetic. It's unfortunate, but these things happen. The staff handled it well and we were otherwise quite happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Krysta V,

I sincerely apologize for the troubles with the heater during your stay. I will be investigating further and making sure that it is taken care of, and that the owner, Jonathan Warren, is aware of this issue. I hope that all of the good experiences you had while staying with us will draw you back to us during your next adventure through Ashland.

Sincerely,

Brittanie Bellamy, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    129
    33
    15
    3
See reviews for
117
107
22
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my son who attends Souther Oregon University. Rooms were very clean (my top priority in this price range) Good friendly service from the front desk staff. Not much to do or eat around the hotel but it is just about a 5 minute drive to downtown Ashland and SOU. All in all, a good value for the money. This is where I will stay next time I am in Ashland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear carl i,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our staff members work hard to keep it extremely clean and friendly around here. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be returning again. We are looking forward to the opportunity to provide you with the same excellent service next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Brittanie Bellamy, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
520 helpful votes 520 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel looks somewhat new but if it's not it's well kept. It's a series of 2 story buildings in a sort of "L" configuration along the side and back of the property. The front is where the lobby and office is and I think some guest rooms there as well. It is not on a main street though so even if you do have a room along the street it should not be an issue. It's also a block away from I-5 so that also was not of concen.

The room was larger than most at this price range and the price was typical of this class of motel/hotel. I assume during high season the rates go up significantly to reflect the popularity of Asland for the Shakespere festivals). In addition to the sleeping room, there is a seperate, small toilet-tub-shower room with closable door and a sink/makeup area with standalone closet. The sink-makeup area is sort of part of the main room, through a large archway as you can see in my photo. It has double sinks and plenty of counter space which we very much like having.

A good breakfast is included with a good vairety of items which has become more standard in the past year or two. Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, U-cook pancakes (first time I've seen this machine) instead of the more common U-cook waffles, breads, fruit, toaster, dry cerial, etc. As this sort of variety is becomming more and more common, the differentiator for me is the quality of the scrambled eggs. I like my eggs to be hot, fluffly (not runny), and not obviously made from fake eggs. The eggs pleased me here on all three criteria.

We'd stay here again if in the area off season.

Room Tip: No Elevator so if on 2nd floor, you'll carry your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Califdan69,

Thank you for taking the time to review and post pictures of our property. I am glad to hear you had such a great experience here at the Windsor Inn.

While we are not a new property, we have had a remodel done just about 3 years ago. We work hard to keep the property maintained and clean.

I hope you can stay with us again on your next adventure through Ashland. We are looking forward to the opportunity to provide you with the same excellent service.

Sincerely,

Brittanie Bellamy, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews, and the ability to share our room with our dog. The location can't be beat, in terms of convenience from I-5, and getting into the very lovely downtown Ashland. The grounds are very well kept, with beautiful gardens. The room itself was clean, and appeared to have been recently remodeled. The bed was comfy, with nice linens and good pillows, and in that regard, exceeded my expectations for a Best Western -- it was definitely a good value.

My only constructive feedback is related to two items. The staff at the front desk: friendly, but a little bit robotic. The HVAC in our room: we traveled in August, and it was in the mid-90's outside; during the night, it seemed as though as the A/C in our room was set to only allow the temperature to get to about 75 degrees. This might not sound like a problem, but when you're from Seattle, pretty much anything above 65 degrees feels pretty warm. It made for a long, rather uncomfortable night's sleep. We decided that we wouldn't stay here for our trip back, and chose instead to stay at the Lithia Springs Resort, which turned out to be a very nice experience. (I've reviewed it separately)

Room Tip: Your choice of room is quite limited if you're traveling with a pet, so be prepared for a less t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear SeattleS_dub,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear we exceeded your expectations for a Best Western.
I am sorry to hear there were troubles with the air conditioner during your stay. It is the hottest part of the year for us, and our staff is always wiling to help our guests be as comfortoable as possible. We are always happy to help with any issues you have operating the HVAC, when we are made aware of the problem. Since your last stay, we have fixed any issues that our units were having.
I hope that you are willing to give us another chance to accommodate you on your next visit through Ashland.

Sincerely,
Brittanie Bellamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Windsor Inn for the first time in September. It was very clean and well taken care of. absolutely the best Best Western we have stayed in so far on our travels. Large room with very comfortable king bed and flat screen TV. Very quiet for being so close to the highway. We are planning two more stays there on our way to and from Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear CaliforniaCAtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your wonderful review of our property. I am so pleased to hear the we are the "Best" Best Western you have stayed at! Our staff continually works hard to ensure our rooms are very clean & well maintained.
We look forward to accommodating you again in the future, on your adventures to and from Portland.

Thank you,
Brittanie Bellamy, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn

Address: 2520 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with people who care at the Best Western Windsor Inn! We provide exemplary customer service; clean, recently remodeled rooms; a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast for our guests.Located just off the I-5, the Best Western Windsor Inn is an easy to find, perfect destination for travelers & festival attendees. We offer a complimentary seasonal shuttle to and from Ashland's world famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival.We invite you to come relax in our beautiful gardens and catch some sun in our seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windsor Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.