We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get a LOT for your Money here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington State
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“You Get a LOT for your Money here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Coming to Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival is an annual event. I hesitate to write this review as I don't want our favorite hotel to get too popular! When you drive into the property, you see Tudor-like buildings. We stayed in a 2 queen bed room with two sinks - ladies who travel together know how important this is! Lots of comfy pillows in the newly updated rooms. Mini-refrigerator is in the TV cabinet.In the morning, the continental breakfast is more than just pastries and juice. Great swimming pool and spa plus a good exercise room. The grounds are filled with flowers, and it is so very beautiful! The only downside for some, is you must drive less than 10 minutes into Ashland to see the plays. But, the hotel does offer a shuttle, so that problem is solved. A lovely property!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsorAmanda, Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that the team here at the Windsor could provide you with a wonderful stay. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Ashland!
Thanks Again,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    137
    36
    15
    3
See reviews for
123
115
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is a real find. It isn't within walking distance of the Shakespeare Festival or downtown Ashland, but if you have a car, this is an acceptable place to stay. They do have a complimentary shuttle to the festival when the plays are on so that is a plus. We had originally booked two nights and a few days before leaving on our trip, decided to stay an additional night. I called the hotel but they were booked so I had to book our third night at another hotel that the Best Western recommended that was nearby. When we checked in, I mentioned again that we would like to stay an additional night. The clerk was very helpful and said she'd be able to accomodate us, but we might have to move rooms for the third night. We were going to move hotels for the third night, so moving rooms was a plus. We hadn't been in our room an hour when we received a call from the front desk to tell us that they figured it out and we could stay in the same room all three nights! The daily breakfast was awesome. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal. We never started the day off hungry. Our tub was slow to drain so we notified the front desk when we left for the day. When we returned later in the day, there was a hand written note on our bed from one of the staff saying they snaked the tub, but that they needed a bigger snake and would return to try to fix it. A few hours later a mantenance person showed up with a bottle of drano and was generous in using the drano and the drain worked much better afterwards. They said they could do more to fix it, but didn't want to intrude on us while we were in the room, or start a project that could take several hours. They were trying to get the problem fixed to our satisfaction and then come in once our stay had ended to fix the problem properly. Everyone was friendly, helpful, cheerful, pleasant, and made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsorAmanda, Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I am so glad the team here at the Windsor was able to make your stay an overall sucess. We appreciate the wonderful review and look forward to having you back on your next stay here in Ashland.

Thanks Again,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during a family roadtrip to Southern Oregon. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious with comfortable beds. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was great for hot summer evening swim. We also used the exercise room which is spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is generous and self serve. The shuttle to the Shakepeare Festival was very convenient and allowed us not to have to worry about parking downtown. The hotel is a great value. Although we don't usually stay in motels this one is an exception and we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsorAmanda, Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad to have provided you with a wonderful stay here at the Windsor. We look forward to having you back on your next Family Vacation.

Thanks Again,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were looking for a place for our family of 4 that was reasonably priced that was also nice and clean.
This is a great place for a family. It has a very clean pool and hot tub. The employees were all friendly and helpful. The thing I really liked is that it had two sinks both outside the toilet/shower area so some people can be getting ready while others are showering, which saves time with a group of 4. The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers. The breakfast was just okay as most inclusive breakfasts are, but they have an outside eating area which we enjoyed in the nice weather. The only reason we didn't give it a 5 is that you have to drive to downtown Ashland and their shuttle only runs on weekends. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsorAmanda, Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad the team here at the Windsor was able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to having you back again in the future.


Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed on our travels to the Shakespeare Festival . Room was good-sized, very clean, and comfortable beds. Amanda (with her name-tag upside down- :P) the GM was checking guests in. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsorAmanda, Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am glad we were able to provide you with a great stay here in Ashland. Brittannie and I had a great laugh about the upside down name tag. We look forward to having you back at the Windsor on your next adventure to Ashland.

Thanks Again,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the road
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews here, and my generally good experience with Best Westerns, I booked this for a 4-night Ashland getaway.

First impressions were good. Despite a rather urban location (gas stations and freeway), the lovely landscaping (lots of wonderful flowers! and even some trees!) and Tudor revival architecture were charming. The check-in was flawless.

The room is spacious and has the right furnishings - usable desk, table and chairs. The in-room jacuzzi worked great. The room has a convenient little fridge. Importantly, the wi-fi is free and functioning.

So what's not so good?

The main problem: The in-room fire alarm started squawking at intervals late on our 3rd night. I told the front desk, but it was too late to *do* anything about it. He said he'd ask Maintenance to take a look in the morning. Meanwhile, I found that if the air-conditioner was switched off, the squawks stopped. The choice was sleeping with loud occasional squawks or sleeping without the aircon, so no aircon.

It's midnight of the 4th night now, and it's squawking *again*. It doesn't seem that anything was done about it. Here goes another night without the aircon.

Other than that: The bathroom area is cramped, and there's no closet. The drawers under the old CRT-type TV don't operate properly if the TV shutters are open. The bed is softer than I'd like. Some of the power outlets have loose contacts, so things plugged into them have to be jiggled around, and there aren't enough open power outlets.

I asked the front desk for a late check-out. They said I'd have to call back tomorrow and ask.

On the whole: Reasonably good value for money, and I'd probably stay here again.The positives outweigh the negatives. But I think they could be a bit more user-friendly, and that the room could be planned a bit better - better drawers, maybe a closet or armoire, an upgraded TV. A power strip on the desk for charging cellphones/ laptops etc would be nice to have.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It was a pity to be there on a business trip, without having time to enjoy gym, pool and other amenities available. I tried gym, treadmill was not fantastic but acceptable, other equipments were good. Room was spacious and very clean, maybe they could work to light it a bitt better.
We had check out at 2PM, just upon request, that's fine. Breakfast was good and also possible to have it inside or outside. Good choice of hot plates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandWindsorAmanda, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad that we were able to provide a comfortable stop on your working trip. We will be here when you have a little more time to stop and smell the flowers and take a dip in the pool.

Thanks again,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn

Address: 2520 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with people who care at the Best Western Windsor Inn! We provide exemplary customer service; clean, recently remodeled rooms; a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast for our guests.Located just off the I-5, the Best Western Windsor Inn is an easy to find, perfect destination for travelers & festival attendees. We offer a complimentary seasonal shuttle to and from Ashland's world famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival.We invite you to come relax in our beautiful gardens and catch some sun in our seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windsor Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.