We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location, clean, quiet, very nice management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Manor Motel to your Saves list
Manor Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   476 N. Main St., Ashland, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value and location, clean, quiet, very nice management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

To be sure, the Manor Motel is nothing fancy. Furnishings are spartan but functional, the beds were not the most comfortable things ever but the hotel was very clean, quiet and the owner/managers were very, very nice each time I spoke to them on the phone. We called ahead to let them know what time we were arriving and found out that the room we had booked (2 beds+kitchenette) was not available so they gave us 2 separate rooms at the 1 room price. Our rooms were unlocked and waiting for us, with the heat on! A very nice welcome - We were very happy with the place. The location was great (walking distance to downtown) and the price was unbeatable for Ashland (and actually for most places!) $60 a night for 4 people? Bargain. At that price, we weren't expecting anything fancy, but we didn't need it. We were only sleeping and showering there. The kitchen was small, but our fridge was almost full size and allowed us a place to keep drinks and leftovers.
I would highly recommend the Manor Motel, especially for those people who want functional, clean lodging that doesn't cost a ridiculous amount (like most of Ashland) and a convenient location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

A pleasant walk to Lithia Park, and even though our room (#1) was toward the busy road, it was very quiet inside the room. Very clean and quaint old-school drive-up motel. We (myself/husband/10yo daughter) didn't arrive until almost midnight, and one phone call to the office earlier in the day resulted in our room being left open, key on the desk, and heat turned on so it was ready for our arrival. Only drawback was a very small bathroom area; probably not suitable for large people.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Manor Motel this August during the 105+ heat wave. We had spent two nights at a B&B, and I was eager for the funky, 40's style experience.

We thought we were booked for a 2 bdr w/kitchen, but in reality were booked in a 1 bdr which had a separate sleeping alcove for the 2nd bed. We should have checked our reservation more closely when we received it.

The rooms were clean. The bathroom was very small. The space for the toilet is as narrow as the toilet. A large person would likely not fit (and/or feel claustrophobic). The shower was fine.

While we were there, the sink in the bathroom backed up. The proprietor was sufficiently apologetic and indicated a plumber would come by later in the day. When we returned later that day, the door to our room was wide open! The plumber had not closed it sufficiently (it is an old building) and the owner had not double checked. Luckily, none of our belongings were disturbed, but this was certainly disconcerting and put a negative twist to our stay.

I really wanted to like the Manor Motel. It is inexpensive and sufficient for a place to sleep while touring Ashland. The several issues we encountered make it unlikely that I will return again. My recommendation would be to ask many questions about the facilities when booking a room to minimize any surprises.

The best thing about it was finding The Breadboard Restaurant just down the street (in the opposite direction from the center of town). By far, one of the best breakfast places in Ashland

  • Liked — inexpensive 40's style motor court
  • Disliked — security risk due to staff inattentiveness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

If you're going to Ashland to stay in a fancy hotel, stay somewhere else. This is a humble, but charming place, and the prices are very reasonable. The staff are kind and helpful. My husband and I have stayed here many times, and we usually walk from the motel to the downtown area to see a play. It's a bit of a walk, but the houses along the way are beautiful.

  • Liked — Low prices, older & charming buildings
  • Disliked — Small bathroom.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

As Ashland is quite busy in October, I made these reservations appr. 5 months prior to our visit. I booked 2 rooms as there were 6 of us. One room was listed as 1 bdrm w/kitchen and private garden; the other room was 1 bdrm. w/kitchen. The Manor is described as a 1940's style auto court with a distinctive style which sounded great and could have been really cool.
The prices were reasonable by Ashland standards; $125 and $83 per night respectively. When we arrived, it was apparent that the 1940's style was certainly accurate; however, the place appears run down and in need of a paint job. It is also listed as being in a residential setting but as it is right on Main St., the main road in and out of Ashland, there is major auto traffic going by. The rooms in the back are pretty quiet but not the king room that we rented as it's right in front. You ring a bell on the manager's door and someone appears. We got our keys and in checking our rooms found that the king unit w/garden had a bedroom adjacent to a very small parlor room which was adjacent to the kitchen. In the parlor room was a trundle bed which accomodated 2 people - this was ok but there was no where to sit or for these guests to put there things as there was also a small dining table in the room w/ the trundles. If you wanted to watch TV, which was in a closet then you had to sit on the king bed.
We knew this would be a tight fit as there were 4 adults and they listed the capacity as 3 even though the king slept 2 and the trundle slept 2. All well and good but if you list this as accomodating 3 then there should be somewhere to sit! The garden was there but certainly not inviting as it had not been maintained.
The other room, listed as a 1 bedroom, is actually a studio - not a separate bedroom. You walk right into the bedroom, just like a standard motel room, then there's a small kitchen off of that room that leads to the very small bathroom. When I went back and pointed out to the manager that this is not a one bedroom unit he said that no one in many years had ever questioned this. If I am renting a "1 bedroom unit" then I expect the bedroom to be in a separate room.
All in all, this was a major disappointment. Didn't rate it as terrible because 3 of the 4 beds were comfortable. The queen room was not very clean looking as the carpet had a big stain, the side chair was very broken down and the bedrspread was one of those that you didn't want to touch as it looked unclean. The queen bed was very uncomfortable as it was an old mattress and box spring that moved every time either one of us turned over. There were no extra pillows or blankets. Would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it.

  • Liked — location was okay
  • Disliked — not a one bedroom as advertised
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Address: 476 N. Main St., Ashland, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Motel is a quaint 40’s style motel located in a quiet garden setting. Originally, the motel was a 1940’s auto court with its own distinctive style. We are within a short walk to the Shakespeare Theater, restaurants and The Plaza (downtown Ashland).The Manor features 12 one- and two-bed units, seven of which have fully equipped kitchens, and five that are equipped with mini-fridges, microwaves, and coffeemakers. We have shaded picnic areas with tables and chairs for your leisurely enjoyment. All rooms have direct dial telephones, cable television, free wireless internet, and air conditioning. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.Helman Street Guest House and Studios consists of three units. The main house is a charming early 1900's two bedroom/two bathroom that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from the Plaza, resaurants, and theaters. The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, has a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the large master bathroom. The second bathroom is also downstairs and has a vintage claw-foot bathtub/shower combination. The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Rollaway beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.