We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky & convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manor Motel to your Saves list
Manor Motel
476 N. Main St., Ashland, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Marysville, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Funky & convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

For our annual girls get away trip, we decided to try a new place. So glad we did. Manor Motel is going to be our 'go to' spot. Having a kitchen with plenty of kitchen utensils, a full size refrig, a working microwave was perfect. Having two bedrooms was so nice, as one of us is a night owl. We easily walked to the plays in the evening (even in the pouring rain) and into town the next day- was so convenient and nice not to have to drive and park. The motel is old, so if you are looking for fresh, clean perfection, you will be disappointed. But we like places with character. One of the biggest surprises was how quiet the place was. I have never slept so soundly in a hotel before. The bathroom is really small - very large people may have problems moving around in it. We had plenty of hot water, and the furnace heats the rooms up quickly. Perfect for drying out wet shoes from walking in the rain.

Room Tip: We had room 5 - far enough away from the road that we never heard cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at the Manor for New Years and had a wonderful stay. The suite was great with a beautiful little courtyard and two rooms. The manor is centrally located close to shops and dining, and easy to get to town. It was like a home away from home. The Managers were helpful in giving us directions to places that we could go for dinner, and other sites to see. The service was above par, and we felt very safe, considering it was my 2 children and myself. I travel frequently and it is wonderful to stay at a motel that treats you like family, gives attention to any detail, and goes beyond what is expected. Ashland is a quaint town with class, and the manor motel firs right in. If you want a room with no character or history stay at motel 6, but if you want a wonderful lodging experience, stay at the manor. We will be back!






We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: we had the largest corner suite and it was perfect for my children and I. It was quiet and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Alaska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in unit #5. This unit is 2 bedroom, shower, and kitchen. The front room is a good size and contains a queen bed. It is also where the furnace is located with a pass through to the kitchen. It also contains a wall AC unit. The second bedroom contains a double bed in a room that just fits the bed with enough space for some luggage. The entry to the bedroom is a narrow accordion door through the kitchen. The kitchen contains one sink, a small oven, a refrigerator, and a small table and a couple chairs. There are basic cooking implements and dishes provided. The bathroom itself is quite small and is entered through the kitchen. The shower is a small 3x3' space, and the toilet sits in an even smaller alcove - just large enough for the width of the unit. A large person might have difficulties here.

The location is very convenient. It is just a few minutes drive from the center of Ashland. During the summer with the longer days it could easily be walking distance, even for the evening plays.

During our stay one of the Wifi units was not working so the far end had poor internet coverage. I'm not sure what the regular housekeeping is during consecutive stays, but our unit was cleaned just once. The hot water appears to be shared with multiple rooms. We encountered lukewarm water after a neighboring unit used up the hot water.

In spite of a few issues I recommend this lodging and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The reason for four starts instead of three (Average, in TripAdvisor language) is that the mangers have tried, and are continuing to try, to bring this place up to it's more generous past as a motor-inn. Not an easy task given the age of the structure.
The rooms here are never going to be five star and I can't believe anyone would rate them that way but the experience, taken as a whole, is better than the rooms alone! The simple fact of the history of a motor-inn that was on US 99 and is still in business certainly is part of my experience.
Tight, yes. Second "bedroom" is really an alcove/passageway but we survived that as well. Dirty? I say no...not perfectly clean either but not so dirty I felt unclean there.
Anyone going here expecting perfection is kidding themselves. It is a very old set of building being slowly restored and upgraded by a young couple trying their best and they deserve four stars for all that. Please do us all a favor and do not go here without understanding what have have committed to: An inexpensive motel, near town, sometimes noisy, not large. No reason to go to a place just to leave bad reviews!
I recommend this place to anyone that has a few ounces of "flexibility" in their beings. Make it a fun time.

Room Tip: Room three does in fact have a small toilet area but how much room does one really need to use a toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the only place we stay with our children when in Ashland. We love the quaint 50's style rooms, the fact we have our own kitchen so can make our own meals and how close it is to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. (I can walk it in less than 15 minutes with my small children. My husband can make it in 10.) We always have great service from the owners and feel comfortable staying there. We had a minor issue with our suite when a torrential storm came through town and the owners addressed the issue immediately and took care of us with great care and attention. It fits our budget, gives us the convenience we want and the feeling of having our 'own' place.

Room Tip: The garden suite is great when with kids as you have a little yard you can send them out to that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A friend and I had a unit with two bedrooms, good beds, a small fridge, plus coffee/tea making supplies. It's less than a 15 minute walk to the center of Ashland, with the theatres and Lithia Park right there. It even has free wi-fi. I usually stay in one of Ashland's many B&B's, which are more luxurious, but this was really fun for a change....and if you're traveling on a shoestring, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Within walking distance (15-20 mins) of Shakespeare festival, convenient location for seeing the plays. Comfortable clean room, room 8, with fridge, microwave, shower, toilet, tv (but who needs tv when going to festival?) Could borrow a couple of plates from front office for snacks. If you like large bath towels and large coffee mugs bring your own! Plentiful trees make property a cut about the usual motel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Address: 476 N. Main St., Ashland, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Motel is a quaint 40’s style motel located in a quiet garden setting. Originally, the motel was a 1940’s auto court with its own distinctive style. We are within a short walk to the Shakespeare Theater, restaurants and The Plaza (downtown Ashland).The Manor features 12 one- and two-bed units, seven of which have fully equipped kitchens, and five that are equipped with mini-fridges, microwaves, and coffeemakers. We have shaded picnic areas with tables and chairs for your leisurely enjoyment. All rooms have direct dial telephones, cable television, free wireless internet, and air conditioning. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.Helman Street Guest House and Studios consists of three units. The main house is a charming early 1900's two bedroom/two bathroom that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from the Plaza, resaurants, and theaters. The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, has a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the large master bathroom. The second bathroom is also downstairs and has a vintage claw-foot bathtub/shower combination. The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Rollaway beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.