We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally helpful staff, good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manor Motel to your Saves list
Manor Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   476 N. Main St., Ashland, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Exceptionally helpful staff, good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a night in a single-queen room here on our way to Seattle. Manor Inn has an extremely good rate, warm staff. We appreciated the fridge, wifi, and general cleanliness. Water pressure/temperature could be improved slightly, but all in all a very comfortable stay. We've reserved a room at Manor Inn for our return trip, and would stay here in the future.

-Lucy and Adam

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

There's an open and relaxed feel to this small motel that does indeed have a touch of Film Noir atmosphere (a previous reviewer had a similar comment which I found interesting as it was also one of my first impressions.) However, the drama's a short walk away at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and not at the Manor Motel.
Managers Karen and Steve are friendly and engaging which in my motel/hotel experiences can be hit or miss. They both take quite a bit of pleasure in managing the place, yet they do so unobtrusively--another hit with me.
My stay was enhanced by the fact that I could walk right out my door to the park-like garden area and sip on coffee while enjoying the mountain view around me. All in all, it was a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed in the Manor Motel for 4 nights over the holidays. I was traveling with my brother and his wife who stayed in another unit. Their unit had a kitchen. It was equiped with a frying pan, but no pot. There was one small bowl. We did not receive any housekeeping (not even fresh towels). There was an envelop left on the beds for a tip for the housekeeper. My sister-in-law left a note on their envelop "no service - no tip". There were instructions posted by the room door saying to leave the key at the front desk. So my brother took our keys to the front desk at 6:30am when we left. The manager was very angry to be disturbed. My brother mentioned the instructions posted by the door and the manager told him to remove it. Later that morning, I received an angry phone call from the manager regarding the "no service - no tip" note. Odd - if I had an unhappy customer, I would be calling to apologize for the poor service, not to yell at the customer for telling them they had not received a service they paid for. Stay here is you want cheap, but do not expect even minimal service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This "motor court" motel has an ambience and peaceful feel to it that is reminiscent of the age in which it was built. The manager, Joe, has been very accomodating and sensitive to our needs (we are five months pregnant, lol)... We've stayed two weeks, been left alone to enjoy our stay yet pleasantly (and non-invasively) asked as we come and go whether all is well, and it is. Our housekeeper, Misty, worked politely around our lazy days and timed her cleaning of our rooms with when we were out and about. Especially cleanand white linen and towels, surprising in an establishment of this size and age. The kitchenette was well provisioned with a complete stock of dishes and utensils, a mid-sized refridgerator and a completely functional stove and oven, not "mini". Close to downtown, fine dining, Lithia Park and the Plaza, yet in it's own little nook of quiet serenity. All in all, a very relaxing experience, yay :-)

Room Tip: The northwest situated rooms get morning/mid-day sun in winter for a lighter, brighter stay :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have been staying at the Manor Motel twice a year when we to go Ashland for plays and were always pleased, but the last time we stayed there there was a new manager, who didn't seem to care whether we were happy or not. We asked for more hangers and were told that 2 was all we got. Our room was not cleaned one of the days we were there. We were never, in three days, able to use the WiFi and the manager was not at all helpful. It was not until the third day that he told us there was a router closer to our room and how to access it, but even that did not help. What made this place so special in the past was the service. With this new manager it is no longer special. We will not be going there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We loved this motel, which was established during initial wave "motor hotels" in the early '40s. We spent nearly a week in Ashland and loved every day of our stay. Our motel room was modestly furnished, but it was comfortable and very clean.

What sets the Manor Motel from other properties was the high level of service we received from Joe, the property manager, after we reported a problem with our unit that required us to move to another room. Since the Manor Motel was already fully occupied, Joe promptly moved us into a suite in the historic Helman House, where we stayed for several more days.

In a nutshell, our stay in Ashland was delightful. But fond memories of the fine way we were treated by Joe will bring us back to stay at the Manor Motel or Helman House every year, for as long as Joe manages these properties. I am submitting this review in the absence of any financial incentive or motivation. Joe's service was that impressive.

Room Tip: We found Room 8 to be quiet, clean, and cozy. We will return to this Motel again without question b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The 40's era rooms are era-typical small but clean; the ones with kitchens are best. Nice swing in the garden; just the right distance to walk home after an OSF play. BUT: after booking months ago, we were greeted with, "sorry, we double booked YESTERDAY and the other people are already in the room. Nothing we can do and there's probably no place in town for tonight." WHAT? IF they doublebooked yesterday, they should have shown the door to the other folks, admitting their mistake. Or gotten us an alternative lodging. Or called us to warn us. NOTHING was done. I got us lodgings elsewhere, they agreed to pay...and then called that hotel to renege on paying. All of this is so unfortunate because I did enjoy both the motel and their downtown extension. But their lack of courtesy and competence this trip warns me to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Trip Advisor needs an NA on this rating chart. If the motel preempts a months-old reservation, lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Address: 476 N. Main St., Ashland, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Motel is a quaint 40’s style motel located in a quiet garden setting. Originally, the motel was a 1940’s auto court with its own distinctive style. We are within a short walk to the Shakespeare Theater, restaurants and The Plaza (downtown Ashland).The Manor features 12 one- and two-bed units, seven of which have fully equipped kitchens, and five that are equipped with mini-fridges, microwaves, and coffeemakers. We have shaded picnic areas with tables and chairs for your leisurely enjoyment. All rooms have direct dial telephones, cable television, free wireless internet, and air conditioning. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.Helman Street Guest House and Studios consists of three units. The main house is a charming early 1900's two bedroom/two bathroom that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from the Plaza, resaurants, and theaters. The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, has a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the large master bathroom. The second bathroom is also downstairs and has a vintage claw-foot bathtub/shower combination. The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Rollaway beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.