We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine

Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine
212 E Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
541-488-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 134 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Street
Transit: Public transit stop is located right in front of the Ashland Springs Hotel & Larks restaurant.
Valley Heights, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had 2 meals here, both times were excellent. First was with a big group and the service was attentive and not obvious. Ordered the Hot and Sour Soup (nice) and then Pork Chop - it was a thick cut and evenly cooked right through. Next meal was quieter, equally attentive. This time it was the Fried Chicken and Brussel sprouts as a side - delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    68
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food Upscale Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lark's is one of our favorite restaurants for lunch is also special dinner occasions. Most of the items on the menu are prepared with organic and local ingredients if available. You have to try the southern fried chicken breast, it's delicious. Usually, they have great specials also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We ate here out of convenience as we were staying at Ashland Springs. We were pleasantly surprised by the selection, freshness of ingredients, the soup was incredible but all of those blown away by the awesome service! Highly recommend it if staying at Ashland Springs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good for a Hotel Restaurant . . . not particularly fine dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Larks is a restaurant in the majestic and historic Ashland Springs Hotel known also as the Marc Anthony Hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful with a bit of a Casablanca decor. Numerous taxidermied birds, a fairly impressive shell collection mostly from the Indo Pacific region, and many Audubon style bird illustrations. This decor continues into the restaurant. It is very bright and open with wicker chairs. The decor is pleasant for a hotel restaurant and very appropriate for a spring brunch. It really isn't intimate enough for what I would call fine dining.

For the most part the menu is fully ala carte. The dinner offerings were varied and diverse enough for a fine dining establishment with items such as Braised grass fed beef and duck fat potatoes, 10 oz. Ribeye on top of Garlic mashed potatoes, braised pork chop on a bed of pan roasted root vegetables, brook trout, and a few others. It is interesting that the only chicken offering was southern fried chicken breast.

I ordered a house salad and the rib eye steak. The salad was a mixed green salad with craisons and almonds with a light vinigarette. The salad was pretty good but a bit boring. The steak was prepared just as I ordered it and was very good. Steak was $32 and the salad about $8. My wife ordered Sea bass cakes which were served on a salad bed. They were quite small and reported as fair. Another at our table ordered the pork chop which looked great and was reported as very good.

The waiter was very good and professional. He did an excellent job. My compliments to the chef in as much as the presentation of all dishes was very creative and elegant.

What this restaurant lacks is an intimate setting and decor to be a fine dining experience. Due to the atmosphere I believe the restaurant is overpriced. The wine list was fairly comprehensive but a little overpriced with wine by the bottle prices approximately 2.5 times retail. Date night here will set you back approximately $135 (including a reasonable tip).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over-priced, but pleasant atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I went with a group of people who had chosen this restaurant which was a little more expensive than I normally go to. There were only 10 dinner entrees, most of which did not sound appealing to me. I chose the wild rice risotto, which was at the lower end of the price range at $24. There was no choice of soup or salad and no vegetable accompanying the entree, just a fairly generous portion of the risotto on the plate. This and a cup of coffee cost me $32.50, by the time the requisite 18% gratuity and the Ashland restaurant tax were added. I could have eaten at my favorite restaurant in Medford and had an entree, plus soup or salad for quite a bit less. This was my first and last visit to Lark's.

On the positive side, our server was very cordial and efficient and the restaurant was very attractive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.