We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm Fresh and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine

Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine
212 E Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
541-488-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Street
Transit: Public transit stop is located right in front of the Ashland Springs Hotel & Larks restaurant.
Cottonwood
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Farm Fresh and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dinner at Larks before attending the theatre was delightful. The portions were not small, but we took the leftovers to our hotel room to wait in the mini fridge for another day. Oh yeah, my husband ordered an appetizer because it sounded so yummy he could not resists. It was very yummy! Dito the berry sorbet for dessert!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    80
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Pine, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good, interesting menu. Attentive, professional service. Food preparation and presentation was impressive....and we're foodies.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marvelous salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I chose the one of the nightly specials, which was wild salmon with an orange-balsamic glaze, very light, tasty. It was served on a bed of couscous with sauteed slivers of fennel and (I think) brussel sprouts, very finely chopped and sauteed. I also had the roasted beet salad, with lemon vinagrette which was excellent. I would go back there every night, if it were closer. The best fresh, farm to table restaurant I have ever dined in. Service was excellent, and ambience very cozy and pleasant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An upscale evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was gourmet, the service extraordinary. From the wine to the dessert, the presentation was lovely. We enjoyed our evening very much, but be prepared to spend a few dollars.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate both a dinner and a Sunday brunch at Larks. While our experience was generally good, we were disappointed by both food and service. On the positive side, Larks is a very pleasant place -- open, roomy, comfortable seating, and much quieter than most restaurants. We were treated well when we arrived, on both occasions in the last half hour of their scheduled operation. Some of the food was quite nice -- we enjoyed two very different soups, a seafood pasta my wife ordered was excellent, as were the freshly baked bread, served with rosemary-flavored olive oil, a freshly baked scone, and the rosemary potatoes served with her omelet. There's a broad selection of wines at reasonable prices, and we enjoyed the Zinfandel recommended by the staff. We also appreciated that our server was willing to make recommendations for menu items she knew about, and to ask someone else for advice on that wine.

Now the negatives. While the duck I ordered for dinner was of good quality and well cooked, the sweet sauce was a culinary train wreck. I love duck when it's well prepared, but this sauce was cloying, with no real personality. I was equally disappointed by the halibut tacos, which, although having generous amounts of good quality, well cooked fish on very nice soft tortillas, seriously lacked the flavor one expects of a taco. She enjoyed the filling of her omelet, but we both found the egg in her omelet to be dry and lacking in flavor, and she ate only half of it. The coffee that was poured when we arrived Sunday afternoon had been sitting around too long, and while it was cheerfully replaced with a fresh brew, it took a while and we were halfway through our meal before it arrived. Also disappointing was our dinner server's response when my wife asked for some small sweet for dessert -- I'm on a diet and can't share a dessert with her, so she was hoping for something like a cookie. The server didn't even go to the kitchen to ask. It reduced her tip by a few bucks, and cost the Lark a star. There's plenty of on-street parking (although you may need to walk a bit at busy times).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larks Home Kitchen Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.