We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites
586 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Ashland B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First time staying there. Wonderful people, clean, welcoming place. The other guests were very nice and we loved our breakfast and conversations. Truly recommend this place for anyone driving through Ashland, Oregon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
23
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been coming to Ashland for over 15 years but haven't tried out this B & B. Now it will rise to the top of our list. We are particular and found every expectation met here. the innkeepers, David and Dee Dee, were friendly, and attentive when we needed it. Our room, Judith's, was comfortable and quiet. The amenities were fabulous! Organic, locally sourced ingredients were delicious in the ample breakfast, afternoon snacks, and even a treat for the trip home. It's an easy walk to the theatre. Fellow guests made for lively conversations. They have made the effort to make this a really wonderful inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and would most likely look for a different place when we return to Ashland. Our cottage was comfortable enough, but we the group of women staying next door was quite noisy late at night. We opted for the light breakfast available in the clubhouse near the cottage, which was standard quick-breakfast fare. We were surprised to find that the full breakfast was an additional charge and was served in a home across the street. The B&B is just a short walk from shops, restaurants and the park in town. Guess we were spoiled by the TouVelle House in Jacksonville and had higher expectations for our stay in Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just spent 5 nights here with a few cousins to attend the Shakespeare Festival. We stayed in the Garden Suites and found the rooms provided all of the comforts of home and then some. A cottage centrally located was stocked with fruit, cereal and other snacks and fresh baked goods magically appeared first thing in the morning and at tea time. A pot of fresh coffee was ready by 7 a.m. and one could sit at the breakfast table or the computer station. At breakfast in the main house conversation was lively and the host and hostess served home made meals, the fresh ginger and apricot scones were my favorites. All in all it was a great experience and we could walk into town to shop, dine, see the plays and hike in the park. I will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just finished a 5-night stay at Ann Hathaway's and loved every second! My favorite part, besides the "5-star" service from DeeDee & David, was the wonderful comaraderie around the breakfast table in the morning. The food is delicious, the atmosphere so warm and homey, and the people were all so wonderful and fun to talk to. One morning, Benvolio, from "Romeo & Juliet" came for breakfast and the next morning, one of the main characters from "Crackers" joined us. How cool is that!!

DeeDee and David made excellent theater recommendations and got all the tickets for us. We walked downtown every day, shopped and had dinner in several of the excellent restaruants in Ashland. Spent a wonderful day in Crater Lake, after getting perfect driving directions from David.

We stayed in the Garden Suites and loved them-beautiful, quiet, with lovely outdoor seating. My cousin ran across the courtyard every morning for a hot cup of coffee from the Clubhouse and was in Heaven!

DeeDee and David are "Innkeepers Extraordinaire!"--warm, fun, helpful, interesting. If you are going to Ashland, this is the place to be!!

Room Tip: Garden suites for a little more privacy. The Inn for the true B&B experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't usually stay in B&B's but I make an exception for Anne Hathaway's B&B. The owners, Deedie and David Runkle, go out of their way to make this a home away from home. Coffee and scones for us early risers, followed by a full gourmet breakfast; scintillating conversations at breakfast with other guests, invited actors from OSF, and of course the owners; afternoon tea; New York Times and WSJ at the ready in the am; wireless internet; ticket arrangements; restaurant recommendations; the list goes on. I stayed in the main house (the Susanna room) on the second floor. While it faced the street, it was quiet at night and I didn't hear other guests. Because most of the guests are there for the theatre, we are on similar time schedules with the B&B settling down after we get back from the plays. For those times when I wanted solitude, it was easy to find--on the porch, in a sitting area, or a hammock. Easy walk to the main downtown area--about a block--great access to some amazing shops. This visit was with my cousins but I can't wait to come back with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have been visiting Ashland for the theater for 13 years, at least twice a year, and always choose Anne Hathaways B&B for its friendly, thoughtful service, fantastic food, and terrific conversations with other guests. Most recently stayed in Richard's Room, which is spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Deedie and David are the most gracious of hosts-- anticipating needs, extending warmth and welcome to first-time and returning guests, and understanding that some guests are seeking conversation and conviviality, while some are seeking solitude and quiet. Have brought several family and friends over the years, and all have enjoyed the Hathaways hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites

Address: 586 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites to your Saves list