We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne Hathaways B&B&C = Conversation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites
Save
You added Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites to your Saves list
586 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anne Hathaways B&B&C = Conversation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just spent 5 nights here with a few cousins to attend the Shakespeare Festival. We stayed in the Garden Suites and found the rooms provided all of the comforts of home and then some. A cottage centrally located was stocked with fruit, cereal and other snacks and fresh baked goods magically appeared first thing in the morning and at tea time. A pot of fresh coffee was ready by 7 a.m. and one could sit at the breakfast table or the computer station. At breakfast in the main house conversation was lively and the host and hostess served home made meals, the fresh ginger and apricot scones were my favorites. All in all it was a great experience and we could walk into town to shop, dine, see the plays and hike in the park. I will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
23
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just finished a 5-night stay at Ann Hathaway's and loved every second! My favorite part, besides the "5-star" service from DeeDee & David, was the wonderful comaraderie around the breakfast table in the morning. The food is delicious, the atmosphere so warm and homey, and the people were all so wonderful and fun to talk to. One morning, Benvolio, from "Romeo & Juliet" came for breakfast and the next morning, one of the main characters from "Crackers" joined us. How cool is that!!

DeeDee and David made excellent theater recommendations and got all the tickets for us. We walked downtown every day, shopped and had dinner in several of the excellent restaruants in Ashland. Spent a wonderful day in Crater Lake, after getting perfect driving directions from David.

We stayed in the Garden Suites and loved them-beautiful, quiet, with lovely outdoor seating. My cousin ran across the courtyard every morning for a hot cup of coffee from the Clubhouse and was in Heaven!

DeeDee and David are "Innkeepers Extraordinaire!"--warm, fun, helpful, interesting. If you are going to Ashland, this is the place to be!!

Room Tip: Garden suites for a little more privacy. The Inn for the true B&B experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't usually stay in B&B's but I make an exception for Anne Hathaway's B&B. The owners, Deedie and David Runkle, go out of their way to make this a home away from home. Coffee and scones for us early risers, followed by a full gourmet breakfast; scintillating conversations at breakfast with other guests, invited actors from OSF, and of course the owners; afternoon tea; New York Times and WSJ at the ready in the am; wireless internet; ticket arrangements; restaurant recommendations; the list goes on. I stayed in the main house (the Susanna room) on the second floor. While it faced the street, it was quiet at night and I didn't hear other guests. Because most of the guests are there for the theatre, we are on similar time schedules with the B&B settling down after we get back from the plays. For those times when I wanted solitude, it was easy to find--on the porch, in a sitting area, or a hammock. Easy walk to the main downtown area--about a block--great access to some amazing shops. This visit was with my cousins but I can't wait to come back with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have been visiting Ashland for the theater for 13 years, at least twice a year, and always choose Anne Hathaways B&B for its friendly, thoughtful service, fantastic food, and terrific conversations with other guests. Most recently stayed in Richard's Room, which is spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Deedie and David are the most gracious of hosts-- anticipating needs, extending warmth and welcome to first-time and returning guests, and understanding that some guests are seeking conversation and conviviality, while some are seeking solitude and quiet. Have brought several family and friends over the years, and all have enjoyed the Hathaways hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found Anne Hathaways B&B in a serendipity kind of way. Long story. But David, one of the owners, was able to accommodate our needs and I was attracted to the promises of organic foods, non-chemically cleaned rooms, a kitchenette and Jacuzzi in the room.

You never really know till you get there, though. Once we did, my husband and I were delighted with the gardens outside our door, the little patio with comfy chairs for an afternoon read or socializing with the other guests, the clubhouse stocked with breakfast foods, amazingly good freshly baked breakfast pastries, delicious organic fruits from the local farmer's market, and homemade cookies and other treats that showed up in the afternoons.

Just four blocks away from the Shakespeare Festival, the B&B is walking distance from all the attractions in Ashland, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night. The short walk into town took us past all the cute little boutiques and restaurants, and afforded lovely scenic views of the surroundings hills and mountains.

David and Deedee were accommodating in a relaxed way, and more than willing to provide a couple of special requests. They were warm and eager to recommend eateries, hear of our adventures in Ashland and surrounds after a day of exploring or play-going. Onsite staffer Kathe helped us with directions and recommendations and was attentive to all the guests' breakfast needs in the clubhouse.

The room itself (we stayed in a garden suite) was fresh, lovely and comfortable. Clean without any smell of chemical cleaners, and those sheets! The first time I put my head down, I was transported by the fragrance of sheets dried in the sun and open air. Simply wonderful! A small kitchenette was perfect for making a cup of tea and storing a few things in the fridge.

We stayed for only four nights, but Anne Hathaway's proved to be even better than advertised and I simply can't imagine a better place to stay next time we visit Ashland.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and book early. Many guests return year after year to this popular spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The main house of The Anne Hathaway B&B is a wonderful old historic building dating back to before its Boarding House days in the first decade of the 20th Century. The house is full of wonderful antiques, art and charming places to sit and enjoy numerous books in the library or the Port which is always available. The morning starts with fresh ground coffee and then the scones arrive at "Scone O’clock!" Breakfast is always different and you enjoy it with numerous folks in the backyard garden. If you stay longer than nine days you will experience the same breakfast you had nine days ago...Oh, Dear...what a shame!! Across the street are very nice garden suites. These rooms tend to be larger than the main house and the garden area in the back is very quiet and shaded. Yes, the amenities are bit different between the two locations but not enough to impact your stay with this lovely B&B. Deedie and David are gracious hosts and if you are planning on attending any of the plays offered by the Oregon Shakespearian Festival they can make arrangements for your tickets. We just returned from our third visit and will return the “Same Time Next Year!” While there are other choices in Ashland, the Anne Hathaway is at the top of the B&B list for the price.

Room Tip: The main house is old...expect floors that squeak. After three years you learn where to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed three nights at Anne Hathaway's while visiting Ashland. The B&B is a charming old boarding house, beautifully furnished and lovingly cared for by hosts Deedie and David. Breakfasts in the garden were amazing. Every afternoon a variety of tasty treats were served and in the evening when we returned from the theater, port and sherry were waiting for us. The location is an easy stroll into the main part of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites

Address: 586 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.