We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites
Save Saved
You added Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites to your Saves list
586 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have been visiting Ashland for the theater for 13 years, at least twice a year, and always choose Anne Hathaways B&B for its friendly, thoughtful service, fantastic food, and terrific conversations with other guests. Most recently stayed in Richard's Room, which is spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Deedie and David are the most gracious of hosts-- anticipating needs, extending warmth and welcome to first-time and returning guests, and understanding that some guests are seeking conversation and conviviality, while some are seeking solitude and quiet. Have brought several family and friends over the years, and all have enjoyed the Hathaways hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found Anne Hathaways B&B in a serendipity kind of way. Long story. But David, one of the owners, was able to accommodate our needs and I was attracted to the promises of organic foods, non-chemically cleaned rooms, a kitchenette and Jacuzzi in the room.

You never really know till you get there, though. Once we did, my husband and I were delighted with the gardens outside our door, the little patio with comfy chairs for an afternoon read or socializing with the other guests, the clubhouse stocked with breakfast foods, amazingly good freshly baked breakfast pastries, delicious organic fruits from the local farmer's market, and homemade cookies and other treats that showed up in the afternoons.

Just four blocks away from the Shakespeare Festival, the B&B is walking distance from all the attractions in Ashland, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night. The short walk into town took us past all the cute little boutiques and restaurants, and afforded lovely scenic views of the surroundings hills and mountains.

David and Deedee were accommodating in a relaxed way, and more than willing to provide a couple of special requests. They were warm and eager to recommend eateries, hear of our adventures in Ashland and surrounds after a day of exploring or play-going. Onsite staffer Kathe helped us with directions and recommendations and was attentive to all the guests' breakfast needs in the clubhouse.

The room itself (we stayed in a garden suite) was fresh, lovely and comfortable. Clean without any smell of chemical cleaners, and those sheets! The first time I put my head down, I was transported by the fragrance of sheets dried in the sun and open air. Simply wonderful! A small kitchenette was perfect for making a cup of tea and storing a few things in the fridge.

We stayed for only four nights, but Anne Hathaway's proved to be even better than advertised and I simply can't imagine a better place to stay next time we visit Ashland.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and book early. Many guests return year after year to this popular spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The main house of The Anne Hathaway B&B is a wonderful old historic building dating back to before its Boarding House days in the first decade of the 20th Century. The house is full of wonderful antiques, art and charming places to sit and enjoy numerous books in the library or the Port which is always available. The morning starts with fresh ground coffee and then the scones arrive at "Scone O’clock!" Breakfast is always different and you enjoy it with numerous folks in the backyard garden. If you stay longer than nine days you will experience the same breakfast you had nine days ago...Oh, Dear...what a shame!! Across the street are very nice garden suites. These rooms tend to be larger than the main house and the garden area in the back is very quiet and shaded. Yes, the amenities are bit different between the two locations but not enough to impact your stay with this lovely B&B. Deedie and David are gracious hosts and if you are planning on attending any of the plays offered by the Oregon Shakespearian Festival they can make arrangements for your tickets. We just returned from our third visit and will return the “Same Time Next Year!” While there are other choices in Ashland, the Anne Hathaway is at the top of the B&B list for the price.

Room Tip: The main house is old...expect floors that squeak. After three years you learn where to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed three nights at Anne Hathaway's while visiting Ashland. The B&B is a charming old boarding house, beautifully furnished and lovingly cared for by hosts Deedie and David. Breakfasts in the garden were amazing. Every afternoon a variety of tasty treats were served and in the evening when we returned from the theater, port and sherry were waiting for us. The location is an easy stroll into the main part of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here two nights when visiting Ashland, mainly due to the fact that they allow pets. The house, is quaint, small and old, but we were not warned that the room ("Richard Room") next to the kitchen is extremely noisy starting at 6:45 a.m. each morning. And when I say noisy, I mean NOISY! So we didn't get the sleep we needed either morning. The innkeepers are decent, but in a New England sort of way. In other words, they are a little aloof and stand-offish. Much more than that, they are older (early 70s) and eccentric. Eccentric can be okay if that is your cup of tea. I suppose that small, artistic communities like Ashland tend to attract a lot of "different" type of folks. They try to be helpful, but they are really not. They don't suggest many things - you have to ask. For example, they did not tell us until we arrived late on Sunday that Monday is a dark day for the famous Shakespeare theater, so we missed our one and only chance to see a play. They gave us directions for a "shortcut" to Crater Lake, but didn't tell us about the lengthy construction delays. They sent us on our way with a care package of Tastycakes, but when we went to eat them, we noticed that the expiration date on the cakes was July 2009! How does that slip by someone? We might have gotten ill. They told me that I could walk my dog around the perimeter of the local park, but did not tell me that perimeter did not mean pathway, but rather the road, so I am almost got fined by the local rent-a-cop. They are not good about replying to emails. They won't let anyone's pet wander around, but their dog is allowed to stay in the kitchen, drink from the toilet,.... It seems quite hypocritical if you ask me. Again, they are nice people, but just not as welcoming and helpful as I would want from B & B owners. Oh, and no off street parking for most guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardson tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The BEST stay we've ever had out of dozen other places for our active children. David and Deedee really understand the needs of adults and children and plan accordingly. They are wonderfully informed about Oregon Shakespeare festival and have lots of insights.They care deeply about their guests and remember each one. We hadn't seen them in ages, so it was a real treat to arrive and see all the development of the Garden suites, just across from the Main house b and b. Garden suites are so large and comfortable, with patios and lounge chairs and places to eat breakfast and relax. Rooms have jetted tub, kitchenettes and plenty of storage. Would love to stay for 2 weeks actually. They have a Clubhouse right there that allows for computer time, legos, snacks and drinks, magazines. The previous person to comment is actually incorrect- they serve a terrific breakfast free of charge in the Clubhouse. Best muffins ever, hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice, oatmeal, cereal- something for everyone. If you want the full sit down breakfast you can have it for a small fee in Main house. It made such a relaxing stay to be able to roam around gardens and not be confined to our room. In afternoon, they serve a nutritious and deciious spread of goodies. You will never be hungry. All the staff are so warm and terrific. Go to Cucina Biazzi right next door for authentic Italian food. Deedee is a skilled writer and we picked up a copy of her memoir as well. Total Peace and Joy at Anne Hathaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon and were shown to our room. Very disappointed in the Garden room we were put in. We were not given any info on the "amenities". Come to find out we had to go to the main house to get afternoon "treats". If we wanted breakfast we had to pay extra. Ice tea & lemonade in main house. Felt like second class citizens. Would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites

Address: 586 East Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.