We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a GREAT ESCAPE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Pinehurst Inn

Historic Pinehurst Inn
17250 Highway 66, Ashland, OR 97520
541-488-1002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12 Attractions in Ashland
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a GREAT ESCAPE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

No fuss, no phone, no TV.Terrific food. A wonderful place to regenerate. A gift from my son -- it was just what we needed!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Already rated it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's a great place to eat and stay. If you are on your way to Ashland or going from Klamath Falls to Ashland. Stop and stay and eat!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keno, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Pinehurst Inn is both a dinner house and a hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated in antique decor (it is, after all, a historic building - an old stage stop on the wagon road that initally was the Applegate Trail). We have not stayed in the rooms, but go up periodically for a fun and delicious dinner. The menu is not extensive, but there is something for everyone (except, unfortunately, no vegan entrees and vegans are not made to feel welcome). Every week there is a special, and these are always good - especially the "cherry cola ribs". The English muffin bread that is served before the meal is amazing. We have always had consistently good food, moderately priced. Donny, the owner, is always good for a laugh - he will introduce himself throughout the evening as "Donny, your host" - "Donny, your waiter" - "Donny, your wine server", Donny, your busboy" etc. - and at the end of the evening, if you're lucky (and usually you are) Donny the entertainer will treat you to several rousing pieces on the piano. Join along in song, if you wish! Casual attire is permitted, and children are welcome. I think the only fault is that many of my family are vegans (who might typically order a salad, baked potato, veggies, and bread) and not only are there no options for them, but the menu jokingly directs vegans to go on to Ashland for a meal rather than stopping here. While it is said in humor, the message is clear and vegans do not feel welcome. It seems like it would not be that difficult to offer a spaghetti marinara or pasta primavera dish for non-meat eaters. But if you are a carnivore, stop in for a meal, even if you dont' stay the night, and be sure to notice that under the highway sign, "open range" - Donny the comedian has placed an old stove (range) with an open oven door... Always good for a laugh.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a 30-minute drive out of Ashland for something unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an old road house, which is still operated as a B&B. It has 5 rooms with very interesting period decor and a good restaurant. I didn't stay -- just had dinner. If you're going to stay overnight when the weather is hot, check with the owners. The large fans in the open windows in the 90-degree evening leads me to believe the rooms may not be air conditioned. The dining room was air conditioned. Dinners are good, basic food -- not fancy, but well prepared. The owners are Donnie, who serves as the waiter and his wife, who is the chef. There are only about 10 tables. So, although I didn't need a reservation, it would be smart to make one, given the winding 30-minute drive. In addition to good, well prepared plates for dinner (chicken, halibut, New York strip, etc.) they also offer inexpensive light dinners and specials, like prime rib, on certain nights. The dinner guests were mostly a mix of locals and overnight guests. I had a good New York steak, prepared as I ordered it, an excellent salad, and a glass of the inexpensive, very drinkable house red. When I asked what the house wine was, Donnie explained that is is whatever they have an abundance of. I think that's a good idea in a small restaurant. That way you don't get a glass of a certain varietal that has been open too long. Prices were reasonable, and it made for a satisfying and interesting evening to get away from the throngs of theater-goers in Ashland.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, OR
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC HIDEAWAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Located on the highway between Ashland and Keno, south of Klamath Falls, Pinehurst is in a wooded area removed from the hustle and bustle of everything else. They offer specials on their rooms and meals all the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Pinehurst Inn also viewed

 

Been to Historic Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Pinehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.