We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food on the Open Range” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn

The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn
17250 Hwy 66, (About 30 minutes east of Ashland), Ashland, OR 97520
5414881002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $7 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food on the Open Range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The 4 of us showed up at Pinehurst Inn after a day of birding in the Klamath Wildlife refuge. Donnie treated us like family and set before us his homemade English muffin bread, which was great. We all had salads which were fresh, varied and delicious. Our main courses, which both couples split was the two different preparations of Halibut. One lime marinated, the other more of lemony marinade with a crust. Both were superb. The atmosphere is inviting and relaxing. I'd be up for spending the night and exploring by foot or mountain bike the surrounding mountains.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    7
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medford, OR
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Another glowing 5 star review......how boring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What can be said about dining with Donny and Denise that hasn't been said before? I just can't think of witty things to describe our experience..... it was just truly memorable.

We were spending the night so that we could experience the whole "kit and kabodle". I highly recommend doing that. You get to take in the Inn, the Innkeepers and the surroundings before dinner and get acclimated to the pace. See my review under B&B's.

Denise can cook. Even the flavor of the bread is still with me.....personal loafs of english muffin bread.....OMG!!! But food always tastes better with hospitality....and Donny offers that in mass quantities.

From bread, to appetizer, to the entrees (wild salmon for me and spinach ravioli's for my honey) everything arrived hot, appetizing, delicious and with "something" just a little special each time.

When the time came for desert Donny had described the Swedish Creme.....and we were gonna just go for it as we'd never heard of it and it sounded just like the kind of thing we love......but I made a big mistake......I asked him to review the other deserts with us. We ended up sharing two deserts.......the other being a bread/custard of some kind that had us drooling.

If you were just coming for dinner, and not spending the night, you might miss Donny and Denise serenading us with piano and harmony's. With a roaring fire and a nice cup of coffee it was the perfect ending to a most perfect evening.

Thanks Donny and Denise for an enchanting time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keno, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Welcome home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have you ever had Red Pepper Soup? Me either and it was wonderful! We thought about licking our bowls but then thought better of it. From the soup all the way through to the coffee, what a great dinner. It was so good to be greeted by hugs on our arrival by both Denise and Donnie! We're very glad the roads are clear so we can visit more often!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Awesome Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for our first wedding anniversary. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and the the food was first rate, Donnie and Denise are to be commended for the superb food and hospitality. We will definitely go back!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
“the best in oregon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stay at the Pinehurst several times a year. We love Denise and Donnie. the food is wonderful, from the burger to the rib eye. OH THE RIB EYE!!!!!!! I've eaten at the Stockyard in Kanas City and Denises is better!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonRowlett, Owner at The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Wow.... thanks!!!

For the benefit of those reading this review, she is talking about our USDA Prime Rib Eye steak.

It's not always easy to find meat rated "Prime"... it's the top grade available and our butcher had to go outside his regular network to find it for us. We usually have it in stock but occasionally run out. If you know you want to try one when you are here, call ahead and let us know and we can put one aside for you.

Denise marinates the steak in her Grandmother's secret dredge for a few minutes before throwing it on our 800-degree char-broiler and cooking it to juicy perfection. We think that's why people say it tastes so good!

Anyway, thanks again for the vote of confidence, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.