We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat on the Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn

The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn
17250 Hwy 66, (About 30 minutes east of Ashland), Ashland, OR 97520
5414881002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ashland
1 review
“Best place to eat on the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Pinehurst Inn is one of the best kept secrets up on the Mountain. If you want to get away and have a great place to stay this is it. Denise makes dishes that will make your mouth water and begging for more. We stayed in a comfortable room and ate way too much. It was worth it and then some. If you drive up Dead Indian and across Hyatt Prairie Road, you get scenery and a not so winding road as Hwy 66. Over the summer we have tried different items on the menu and each time the food is better than you have every had in your life. Donnie and Denise are worth the trip on up or over for a great place to stay and dinner that will make you want to stay longer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    7
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the drive from Ashland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Be aware it is a 35-40 minute drive from Ashland up a very winding road to get to The Pinehurst Inn. The food makes it worth the drive. The Inn has great atmosphere. The menu always has some great specials. The restaurant is usually not full but reservations are highly recommended. The food is excellent - Denise is an awesome chef!! Service is very personal - Don is a real character! They have a good wine selection and great deserts too! Don't expect to leave without hearing a couple of jazz renditions from Don on the piano. The tab at the end of your dining is always a good value.
Be careful of deer on the road any time of day. If you're coming from K Falls, you may find cattle on the road as well. It is an open range area! ( You'll get that joke if you drive from Ashland.)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Don and denise rowlett are amazing people and are awesome hosts..the food was awesome,the atmosphere was very relaxing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a wonderful place to eat and stay! My wife and I had a wonderful and went up to our room to relax in this peaceful setting. I sat a read my book in old rocking chair listening to creek trickle by. It doesn't get much more relaxing than this. Good Food, Good Service and Great Value!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Food , Great Service and wonderful aften dinner music.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I celebrated my sons birthday at this fine restaurant last night
It met and surpassed all my expectations!!! Great food,,,,,,,,Great service as well as entertaining.
A beautifully decorated dining space with an elegant relaxed atmosphere.
We all loved it. The menu offered something for every diverse taste of our family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Open Range at The Pinehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.