We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelton House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelton House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Pelton House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
228 B Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed at the Pelton house at least once a year and often twice since they opened 10 years ago. The rooms are extremely comfortable with very large and well appointed bathrooms. Brenda Barnhill and her mother Mary are warm and accommodating hosts. We very much look forward to our stays there. In terms of convenience to the Southern Oregon Shakespeare Festival, it couldn't be better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
27
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We headed down to Ashland for a two-night trip. We found Pelton House on the OSF website. The proprietress was this charming lady who asked about breakfast? Sure, but no dairy and no gluten. Scrambled eggs?-she said. Sure, but no milk in them. Breakfast came with seating for eight. All guests eat together. Each course had easy modifiers for us. Fruit, but no granola on top. Eggs instead of some sweet thing. Soy milk for our coffee. No fuss whatsoever. The room itself, Metal, was in the main house and had a bathroom of nearly equal size. Extremely comfortable and quiet. We will stay here again. I should also mention that my wife has a down feather allergy, and it was no problem to substitute other bedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

You cannot get a better location than this B&B. Three blocks to the theaters. We parked the car and didn't get into it until we left. We had the Water room which is upstairs. It was very clean and comfortable. If you go during summer check to see there is A/C because this room could get hot even with the ceiling fan going. The breakfast is wonderful and filling. It is served promptly at 9:00 to everyone staying here. Coffee is put out at 7:30. Brenda and Mary are very nice and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Pelton House so much! My friend and I stayed in the Manzanita "room" and it was perfect for us. The room was not just one room, but 2 separate bedrooms (each with a Queen bed) and a fantastic private bathroom with a large tub and a steam shower. There was a tv in one of the rooms, but we didn't use it. Free wifi in the rooms worked well for our needs.

The house we stayed in was actually a separate house across the street from the main residence. There were 2 guest rooms downstairs, and our rooms upstairs. We had the whole upstairs to ourselves (other than the shared laundry room, which no one but my friend used when we were there). We had full access to the kitchen, including the lovely tea pots, dishes, etc. Coffee and tea were also available in the kitchen, as were fresh baked treats daily. One of our favorite parts of the stay was the sun room. My friend and I had tea there each day, and sometimes brought dinner back to eat in the gorgeous garden room.

Breakfast was served in the main house, and there was a large table for those who wanted to socialize, and smaller ones for those who did not. Breakfast was delicious, although the meals were high in carbs and sweets ( yummy scones and fruit, followed by delicious, but sweet baked French toast, with no meat, eggs, or other savory type foods the one day; only a very small amount of sausage with meal another). The service at breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were gracious and accommodating.

The house was very easy walking distance to the Shakespeare Festival theaters, shops, restaurants, and a co op market with great sandwiches.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this delightful bed and breakfast while taking in some theatre in Ashland. What a great place to stay. The rooms had super comfortable beds and the bathrooms were modern and well appointed. The proprietor and her staff were very friendly and had many helpful hints on getting the most out of our visit. The breakfast they put on in the morning was first class and a great way to start our day in this very pretty little town. The fresh baked cookies they provided during the day were also great.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group there is a separate house that can be booked that has two large be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place was great! Seriously. Location-Great. Room/bathroom-Great. Breakfast-Great. Hospitality-Great. We were in the Metal Room - the bed is super comfy and the bathroom has a huge soaking tub and slate shower. It's huge. The breakfasts are tasty and keep you full for hours. Coffee and tea, scone or muffin then fresh fruit in some form and if that was not filling enough a hot egg dish for the finale. Mary and Brenda do a great job of being around and available whenever needed but otherwise the place is quiet and you have lots of privacy. Don't know what else to add but if you are going to Ashland - you should stay here.

Room Tip: Metal room and the one next to it are great (Fire?). There is a room on the first floor off the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annville, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

i recently found myself in ashland and needed a place to stay on the spur of the moment. lucky for me, i called the pelton house and they had just the right accommodation for me. i stayed in the fire room for two nights while i enjoyed the charming town of ashland and it's world-renowned theatre.

brenda and mary made sure i felt at home and recommended great places to eat and walk (they are close to the fun town center and nice shops). the neighborhood is quiet and i slept very well. i loved the relaxed, elegant furnishings in the historic home (comfortable and attractive, but not fussy is more my style). breakfast was hearty and delicious - good veggies and sausage, as well as fruit and scones. there were always yummy cookies waiting for a sweet ending to the day.

i hope to stay with them again some day!

Room Tip: the fire room is just right for one (or two friends needing separate beds). nice, stoned-tiled bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 228 B Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pelton House b&b
Pelton House Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelton House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.