We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelton House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelton House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Pelton House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
228 B Street, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lucky us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were driving from Napa, CA with no reservations and called from the car. Luckily the Pelton House had rooms for two nights even though we would have to change after the first night. What a find!! Run by grandmother Mary, daughter Brenda and precocious grandson Warren (age 2), this is a great place to stay. The house is on the National Registry but with modern bathrooms , internet and other amenities. The hosts were great, the breakfasts were superb and the location ideal for seeing the Shakespeare Festival performances and sightsseing on the main drag. The house is in the heart of Ashland and convenient to everything. They gave us good tips on getting to Crater Lake and historic Jacksonville. Perhaps the best part was the cost. Very inexpensive for a B&B and, with the breakfasts, it was almost a steal. We will definitely reurn and tell all our frineds about our find.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Wood', a double room on the first floor close to the breakfast room and 'M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids, ages 12 and 17. The kids had the Fire room and we were across the hall in the Metal room. Both rooms were decorated in a modern fashion and had beautifully appointed bathrooms (my 12 year old rated them 5 star), with large showers -- the Metal room bathroom also had a spacious tub -- great for a long soak. It was quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. The owners were very nice and helpful. There was a small fridge just inside the front door stocked with complimentary sodas and bottles of water, and there were freshly baked cookies available in the afternoon. The breakfast the next morning included fresh coffee and orange juice, fresh fruit salad, homemade warm scones and individual baked spanish omlets with sausage on the side. We were just a few blocks from the theaters and shopping in town. It was a delightful experience for all of us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our room was delightful. Breakfast was tasty. Close to town and the organic market.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We turned up earlier than expected (at least an hour before check-in time) and they were very welcoming. Our room (Water) was clean, cool and fresh after a long hot drive though with it's little fireplace I can see it feeing very cozy in the winter. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just stayed 3 very comfortable nights at Pelton House, I rented the Cypress room which is in the property across from the big Victorian. Overall excellent B & B . I was really surprised by all the ammenities, the breakfast, the personable staff, the perfect location. I have no negative comments. High lights include: cushy bathrobes, free wifi, 2 blocks from downtown Ashland, welcoming and genuine staff, Mary especially!. I love that I could step into kitchen and press a button and coffee was on. Home baked cookies, muffins, scones! Room was charming, quiet and nicely furnished.
Very nice property, I would definitely recommend!!
Susan from the Bay Area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We just returned from 5 days in Ashland, where we brought our family together for Christmas. We rented the entire facility including all of the bedrooms and bathrooms in Pelton House, plus the use of the kitchen, living and dining room. Everyone loved the house and we hope to return in the future. The location is ideal, just two short blocks from downtown Ashland - close to all the shops, restaurants, and theaters. If you want quiet, I would recommend one of the upstairs rooms in the main house - Metal has a king bed and large bathroom with shower and tub; Fire has twin beds and a nice bathroom with shower only. Downstairs in the main house is Wood, a two-bedroom suite with a shared bath, shower only. There are two more rooms outside in the annex - Water is upstairs, a beautiful room with a gas fireplace and skylight, but very small bathroom; Earth is downstairs, king bed and very large bathroom with shower and tub. The two rooms in the annex are adjacent to the post office, which begins work at 6:00 a.m. The family members who slept in the annex were awakened by the loading of the mail trucks, but the rooms were otherwise quiet comfortable. Even though the house itself is quite old, the bedrooms and bathrooms have been renovated - the bathrooms are all quite elegant, and the bedrooms are beautifully appointed. The only drawback is the lack of storage - no closets or drawer space to put clothing. Since we were renting the entire house, including the kitchen, we did all of our own cooking, so I can't attest to the quality of the breakfast, but the cookies that Mary brought over every day were delicious! The facility itself is quite lovely and we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend either of the upstairs rooms in the main house, Metal or Fire. They are definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

With the recommendation from a friend, we booked here. The main house was full - rented by a family celebrating the holidays. We were in the Auberge house across the street. I think this B&B would be an excellent facility for a group gathering in either of the locations. Our room, billed as a suite, was funky. Not in a bad way but odd. The bathroom was not inside the bedroom which meant walking out into the hallway to get there. I wasn't clear about how that worked with two bedrooms and one bath on the upper level. Although I see people have commented on the decor, I only saw one picture on the wall and it felt very sterile to me. Not warm and homey that I associate with a B&B.

The location is excellent. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was tasty. Host was nice. I don't think you can go wrong with this choice. We agreed that we would try it again but not in the Manzanita suite.

Room Tip: We didn't like the Manzanita suite. If you stay there, bring slippers because the floors are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 228 B Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pelton House Hotel Ashland
Pelton House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelton House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.