We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for all of your service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks

Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks
1380 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520
+1 541-482-1281
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 138 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Susanville, Ca.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thanks for all of your service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Drove all the way to Pinehurst, to try out the resturant there. It was CLOSED. Annoyed drove back to Ashland, and was running out of time to catch our 8 o'clock play. Checked out Omar's menu on my Blackberry and called them. They took our order over the phone and by the time we arrived they had everthing set at our table. It was perfect. Jessica did a wonderful job getting in :and out by 7:30. We even had time for dessert. Thank you Jessica and Omar's. Once again a great meal ith my family. Oh, and the Jamica Jerk Chicken is fabulous!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice old restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I last visited Omar's about 35+ years ago and it was like I stepped back in time. I think the decor is pretty much the same it was the last time, either that or it is in need of a bit of a redecorating.
But the food is what makes or breaks a restaurant and Omar's food is pretty good. The staff is very helpful selecting the meal of choice. My wife had the Halibut and she raved about it, so much that I never got a taste of it.
I had the Prime Rib and it was very good, it had a bit of Marble but that is what gives any meat its flavor, And it was cooked to what I asked for.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A throwback to the 50s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Dark red leather booths, dark lighting, and a traditional menu and you almost expect the rat-pack to come waltzing in. This place has been around for forever and is a popular place with locals who don't want too much excitement and feel like they are eating the way their parents and grandparents did before them (and if they are locals, probably did since the interior hasn't been updated in decades). The food is good, if not inspired, and the quality is consistent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A retro 50's restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A step back in time! the decor is 1950's. The seafood and steaks are wonderful. You create your own salad at your table. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Ashland tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Omars lacks a little in atmosphere as it seems the inside of the building hasn't been updated for quite some time. But the tradition of great food and excellent service still reigns. Omars has survived for good reason..its a great place for a great dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.