We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy Restaurant and Bar

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
35 South Second St, at the Winchester Inn, Ashland, OR 97520
+1 541-488-1115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 136 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hargadine St
Description: We are a small fine dining restaurant that strives to use local ingredients to transmute our food, cocktails and dining experience into memorable evenings. We feature an award winning wine list with Certified Sommelier on staff to help, and inventive craft cocktails to wow the palate.
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was the best meal we had on our week long stay in Ashland. Excellent ambiance, service, cocktails, and most of all, food. Our meals were all cooked to perfection and very enjoyable. This would be a 5 star review, except the prices are a little inflated. Portion sizes are small, which is fine, but out of balance with the cost.

That being said, I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a special evening of dining!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for writing! It is always wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are always trying to improve, and the Chef and myself will discuss our pricing and portion sizes. The plates are all priced according to our cost, and we never want anyone feeling slighted or hungry. I hope that you have the chance to join us in the future and see what improvements we can make.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    23
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine list and superb cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We dined there on our first night before the Oregon Shakespeare Festival on quail, stuffed with sausage for me and potato and sweet red pepper bisque, with Dungeness crab salad for my husband. He chose a lovely local Willamette Valley 2011 pinot noir from the Penner Ash winery.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for joining us! I hope you have the chance to do so again!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another nice surprise in Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We couldn't stay in the Winchester Hotel where the Alchemy is located because we were traveling with pets. However, we enjoyed pre-Shakespeare Festival drinks and light dinner at the Bar. The foie gras is superb. Service was friendly (especially the Irish mixologist). Liked it so well we went back the next night for a three course dinner. We might as well have been in France. It was magnifique.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed dining with us so much you came back the next night! Everyone greatly appreciates your kind words. It is true that we are not yet pet friendly, but we hope to be able to offer something soon.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fine food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Gibbs and The Winchester Inn make a special effort to keep the quality and variety of the cuisine at a high level. We have eaten at many other Ashland Restaurants, and since we stay at The Winchester sometimes we had "forgotten" how good, and convenient it is to eat here.

Breakfast is provided to guests and it is always special. Dinner can be large or small. And the attention to detail, freshness, proper service and presentation is welcomed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! I'm glad to hear that the biggest problem is that we feed you well at breakfast! We hope to see you again next year!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
“Top quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We ate dinner at Alchemy twice during our recent trip to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The menu is interesting and has a good variety of both starters and main courses. The wine menu is extensive and has an excellent selection of Oregon pinot noir. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the wines and made some great recommendations about what would go with our choice of food. Unlike some restaurants we have visited, the recommendations were not even close to the most expensive wines on the menu which was refreshing! Our favorite starter was the crab salad. The stuffed quail was very tasty and the pasta dish I chose on the first visit was excellent. The chef does a great job with fish, too.
Alchemy is on the pricey side but we think it is the best restaurant in Ashland right now based on the quality of the food, the wine list, the service and the ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Owner at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you so much for joining us. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience. The staff takes great pride in finding wonderful values on the wine list and the Chef is always trying to top himself. I hope you have a chance to visit again soon.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.