We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Ashland restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amuse Restaurant

Amuse Restaurant
15 North First Street, Ashland, OR 97520
541 488 9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amuse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 133 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Main
Description: We seek the finest ingredients, utilizing organic, small-producer items. Shaded outdoor dining in summer months. Voted Best New, Oregon 2002 by Northwest Palate.
portland, oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Ashland restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just had another amazing dinner at Amuse. My dinner and that of the 3 other diners was delicious and the service was just right. We were pleased to find a wine recently recommended by the New York Times and were impressed with the wine list. We had grouper, steak and the vegetarian pasta of the evening plus kale salad, a shrimp first course and two marvelous desserts.We will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    41
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Can not say enough about this place, I had a great experience. The food was beautiful, the flavors were balanced well, the wine selection was great, the service was perfection. Will return, every chance i get.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Get a Reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had we known what time we'd be in town and in between shows, we would have made a dinner reservation. Without one, we were seated outdoors. It was cold and one of the standing heaters was not working, so it stayed cold throughout our dinner. My sweetie had a small plate for dinner of grilled white prawns, roasted fingerings and romesco. I had the truffle roasted game hen. Both we filling and delicious. We splurged on the caramelized banana crepes for dessert. It was a perfect way to end the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgabber
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“really disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times in the past.The quality has really dropped.Food was poorly prepared and prices way too high.I had duck confit which was so fatty I could not eat.I also had scallops which were way undercooked and my wife had the Halibut which was in a very bland sauce.
The desserts are fine .The service--although somewhat rushed is adequate.
For these prices--among highest in Ashland,should be much better.
Restaurant was half empty indicating the word is spreading.

Too bad--this used to be one of the best in Ashland!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinsmore, Ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top of the line...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Off on a very quick get away with a friend to see a play and, on another friend's suggestion, we made a reservation at Amuse. We glad we did. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny.
From the pork belly appetizer to the Chocolate Truffle Cake with coffee ( more like espresso) ice cream dessert (both shared), every mouthful was divine.
We had the Halibut and the Scallop entree's and both were perfect. service was good and the lovely Prosecco with which we toasted it all only highlighted what a delectable time we had. The waiter was wonderful and service was timely and conscientious.
YUM!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amuse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amuse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.