We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cucina Biazzi

Cucina Biazzi
568 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-2114
541-488-3739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 133 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We dined inside & enjoyed good service and great fresh food. The house Chianti was a great wine for the four course dinner. Reservations are a must - especially on a theater night. Inside the dining was well served, some of the chairs leave you wanting a cushion, as antiques don't work well for the 2 plus hours for dinner. All four courses were nicely served, not too big of portions- which is a blessing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    64
    22
    8
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprising find, very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found this restaurant a little off the beaten path, and were enticed by the prix fix menu at a reasonable price. The first course was a nice antipasto to share--marinated veggies, cheese, great bread (no meat though). The pasta course followed and we had several nice choices. The ravioli with a red sauce was wonderful and the risotto ($8 extra for the seafood risotto) was also excellent. The main course, which determines the price of your meal overall, included several options--roast chicken, roast pork (those were our choices), steak and others. We were already pretty full, so the moderate portions were plenty for us. Then the fourth course was the salad, served at the end as is traditional in Italy. Dessert, if you have room for it, is an extra charge. We were stuffed already, so passed on dessert. We also opted for glasses of the house red wine, rather than a bottle. The house wine was VERY cheap, but was really good. All in all, a nice place for a nice dinner before the theater. There is indoor and outdoor seating. We opted for inside as the day was rather warm, but when we left all the outdoor seating was full. I'd recommend making a reservation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We skipped this fine dining, Italian restaurant for several years, because we knew that they had a prix fixed menu and we were never in the mood for so many courses. This time we spied the fine print, which said that they would allow a la carte ordering as well. So, I ordered the 1st course/antipasta to share with friends and a third course/entree--poached halibut. Delicious and very flavorful. Judging from the bites my friends offered from their second course/pasta. Their delicious pasta is their highlight! Only the tiramisu impressed me more. It was the best that I have ever tasted!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Would not go again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wish we'd paid more heed to the two most recent negative reviews here. Some of our meal was almost inedible. The sauce on the angel hair pasta with spinach was watery, had far too much garlic (and we love garlic) and some of the garlic had a burnt flavor. Pasta special--bowtie pasta--also had a watery and bland tomato sauce. Since two in our party ordered pasta for their main course, this really ruined our meal. The pork entree was a bit dry but sauce was delicious and potatoes were perfectly cooked. Side of spinach was nicely seasoned.

The restaurant is cute--in a house with a nice patio. We sat inside because of concerns about air quality from the forest fires (our party included people with bad asthma). We were not told that we could order a la carte until we asked and our server clearly didn't like that we choose to order this way. And it was a bit off putting that we had been seated for nearly ten minutes before our server finished her cellphone call, with an audible "I've gotta go now because I have a table" and finally came over. All in all, not a great dining experience, particularly for the money. With so many other choices in Ashland, we would not recommend this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston, ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OverRATED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I went with five other guests. Two liked their food, and four did not. We were overcharged for food, because our waitress neglected to tell us of an upcharge, but we were billed anyway.
We had to argue with them to split the difference.
Risotto was watery and tasteless. I had a special pasta that supposedly had two ounces fresh crab. No way. There were two small pieces that amounted to maybe 1/2 an ounce with the rest of the food, pretty tasteless.
I would definitely take a pass on this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Biazzi also viewed

 

Been to Cucina Biazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cucina Biazzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.