We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best tuna sandwich ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammich

Sammich
424 Bridge St, Ashland, OR 97520
+1 541-708-6055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 122 Restaurants in Ashland
Restaurant details
Northern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best tuna sandwich ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Sammich serves the best tuna sandwich I've ever eaten, made from fresh tuna poached in house. Everything I've eaten there has been delicious, but I have a hard time ordering other things because the tuna's so good. Service is very friendly and accommodating about substitutions, diets, etc. and the food is a fantastic gourmet experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

First time at this small restaurant but not the last. The sandwiches are fabulous and so big they need to be shared with someone unless you have a big appetite. They are on the spendy side as other reviewers noted, but the ingredients are all prepared on site and obviously they use the very best products obtainable. The bread is from a local bakery and the pastrami that I had was prepared and roasted at the restaurant and was nothing like the standard deli pastrami I have eaten other places.... it was memorable. We also tried the Italian Beef sandwich with peppers and it tasted like something you would get at your Italian grandma's house...in fact I think the menu stated that it originated with someone's Nonna. The potato salad is made there and is delicious. The chef clearly knows her business and the staff in the restaurant are a hoot! It is a small restaurant without a lot of seating but worth seeking out. We had planned on having dinner out that evening but everyone was still too full from lunch. Clearly a bargain when you consider the ingredients and the size of the sandwiches.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Juciest, Tastiest Sandwiches Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Locally sourced beef and pork, fresh baguettes, homemade dressings - this place is hidden away not even a block off Siskiyou but you won't want to miss it. My fav is the Tim Chan, an improbable name for a Chicago hot beef sandwich that I could eat every day. House made pastrami and pickles, vegetarian options and local wines and craft beers also on the menu. Reasonably priced for the meal I ordered and service is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything I've tried here is good. We are working our way through the menu. Gotta have it all. They have the very best meats, fish. Next time: the Soup! These ladies know what they are doing and doing it well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sammich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.