We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to high standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peerless Restaurant & Bar

Peerless Restaurant & Bar
265 4th St, Ashland, OR 97520-2043
+1 541-488-6067
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peerless Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 134 Restaurants in Ashland
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Tapas, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between "A" & "B" Street
Description: The Peerless is a lively sophisticated neighborhood restaurant and wine/cocktail bar located next to the historic Peerless Hotel and in the heart of Ashland's Railroad & Gallery District. The Peerless can be experience can be enjoyed in our relaxing dining room, friendly & intimate bar or alfresco in our enchanting gardens. Our dinner menu features an array of small plates, as well as steaks, seafood and vegetarian entrees that capture the favors of the seasons and essence of the Pacific Northwest. The extensive wine list showcases the best of Southern Oregon, Willamette Valley, Washington and California as well as selections from classic old world wine regions. The Peerless approach to dining offers you a wonderful opportunity to celebrate fine wines, delectable food and good conversation in a warm and relaxing atmosphere.
Ashland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back to high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For several years this was our favorite upscale Ashland restaurant. Two (?) years ago they changed chefs, started a small plate menu, and offered uneven and unpredictable quality. We tried it this week and it is as good as ever, maybe better. The setting is casual elegance. The front room is the most appealing with fireplace and window on a pleasant Ashland neighborhood. However, sitting in the back is preferable if you want to have a quiet conversation. Service is very prompt, and the server is very knowledgeable. The small bar is inviting, and the wine list impressive. (On Wednesdays there is no corkage.)
Soups are excellent. The halibut served on angel hair pasta is superb. I seldom order pork chops as they so easily overcook, but this chef knows how to do medium rare so that it is still moist.
During the summer there is outdoor dining on the lawn, and tat as always been pleasant. However, as the nights grow chilly, the atmosphere inside is a perfect Northwest setting, cozy, comfortable, yet very fine service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    22
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I attend the Shakespeare Festival with my folks each year and we love to try a new restaurant at least one of the 3-4 nights we're in town. While Peerless has been around for awhile, last Saturday night was our first visit. My folks are "foodies" from the Bay Area and my boyfriend and I are from Portland. All four of us agreed this was one of the finest meals we've had in Ashland --or anywhere. From the lightly-fried calamari (with two unique dipping sauces, one asian, one aioli-like but with a twist) and fresh crab-stuffed artichoke stem appetizers, to my Mom's perfectly-seared giant sea scallops (delicately infused with a hint of lemon) to my boyfriend's extremely generous portion of sliding-off-the-bone baby back ribs (we shared the leftovers at breakfast and they were YUM), to Dad's breast of duck -- everything was first-rate. Our waiter, who has worked at both L'Auberge du Soleil and the French Laundry, was well-informed about the menu and brought just the right touch of helpful without being intrusive. Yes, the restaurant is on the upper end of the price scale, but we felt it was deserved. If you're on somewhat of a budget, the small plates (which included my chicken marsala) give fair portions of delicious food. We did not have dessert, but we will definitely be back next year to try it again, dessert included!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small plates - Great. Bring it on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Pre-theatre diner with friends.
Starters and small plates. All excellent.
Pricey yes but good quality ingredients and well cooked. Never a problem.
Would return here any day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced, mediocre food and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant seems to be under the impression they are too good for local clientele, and the visiting tourists. From the smarmy hosts that make it seem like your request for a table is troublesome to the mean-spirited waiters who are not only little help to patrons, but seem angered by the presence of customers.

Overpriced is too kind a term for the small portions of food. The burger is about all that will fill you up, but if you add cheese, mushrooms and onions, you'll pay about $20 for it...and another $10 for a salad.

Lots of better restaurants in Ashland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerlesson4th, Owner at Peerless Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
While I do not like to read negative reviews I do value your feedback. I hold all our clientele in the highest esteem and I am are very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable meal with us. I would welcome a call to discuss your experience or more detail.

Crissy Barnett
Owner
541-488-6067
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the Small Plates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The first time we went to this restaurant was last year, when we enjoyed it so much on the first night that we went back the very next night. This weekend we returned and were pleased to find that Peerless has retained its high levels of quality, service, and ambience. We were fortunate enough to be able to sit outside at one of the lawn tables and enjoy an excellent meal during an exquisite Ashland summer evening. The Peerless has an extensive menu including numerous full-sized entrees. However, we especially enjoyed sampling several of the small plates, which gave us an opportunity to try several creative dishes at a a very reasonable price, thus adding a lot of interest and variety to the meal. The service was impeccable - friendly but professional - and the food was wonderful. Another plus is that parking is not an issue as it can be elsewhere in Ashland, and it's only about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the theater district. I plan to return to Peerless every time I visit Ashland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peerless Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Peerless Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peerless Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.