We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food Co-Op... that I've seen.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Food Coop

Ashland Food Coop
237 N First Street, Ashland, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 122 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Placerville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Food Co-Op... that I've seen.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Maybe I haven't been to all that many food co-ops, but this one is EXCELLENT. As other reviewers have already pointed out...you need to have time to wander and enjoy this place. The selections are awesome. The deli is fabulous and of course yummy. It's a great place to shop for your picnic essentials or kitchen stocking. If I was fortunate enough to live in Ashland, it would be the only store for groceries for me and my family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Plan To Wander and Enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Ever want a day off to get away from everyone and everything? This is the perfect place to go, wander, take your time, and enjoy. It's also a special place to bring out-of-town guests if they're interested in organic healthy foods. It feels good to just be there. Nice place to buy a special gift for your spiritual or natural-type friends. Deli is nice with lots of ideas for you to try at home. And you'll want to soak up the ambience too! Oh you may see some interesting characters walking about but hey -- that's life; all the more interesting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“huge varied selection of alternative foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the place to go if you need a nutritional supplement or an alternative medicine. Help is friendly and knowledable and the food is fresh , exotic and of course , all sorts of "organic"choices. It is a circus too, best place to see hippees and earth muffins of all ages, but then again, this is Ashalnd,!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't recommend it highly enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fresh, organic produce and helpful, friendly, knowledgeable staff make this store a joy and incredible blessing! We live 2 hours away, yet drive there for all of our grocery shopping. This place is a GEM!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Bring Your Attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I think the writers of Portlandia get their ideas here. Way overpriced and crowded with people trying to one-up each other as to how organic they are or how much better their new Prius is than last year's model. The prepared food section is very complete with a dizzying array of quinoa and spelt dishes, but bring your gold card if you need to eat more than just a morsel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashland Food Coop also viewed

 

Been to Ashland Food Coop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Food Coop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.