We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable, but dated, loud, and some other drawbacks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Save Saved
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Ashland
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable, but dated, loud, and some other drawbacks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Columbia Inn for the Memorial Day weekend. It is a nice B&B with some good features I will list here:

Pros:
- We stayed in room 5 upstairs (the Columbia Queen room). It has a queen bed and a trundle twin day bed. Very nice viws of Main St and the hills in the background.
--Nice claw foot tub in room, but no shower (showers are down the hall)
- FABULOUS location, right in the center of Main St downtown, easy to walk everywhere
- Very nice staff, helpful and attentive with resturant and activity recommendations
- Comfortable room overall

Cons:
- Very thin walls, could hear others talking, snoring, etc.
- Showers are down the hall (for many rooms)
- In suite bathroom was very dated- ugly linoleum floor, brown rust stains in the sink and toilet, peeling paint and wallpaper, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    65
    12
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
77
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

The Hotel was old style late 19th to early 20th century filled with antiques. Some rooms had baths but others had to use the bathrooms down the hall. The Bathrooms were clean and well stocked. The hotel was in the middle of town and in walking distance to almost everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. The downside was that the bed we had was too firm for our liking and they only had limited off street parking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TriviaFanatics
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I am very familiar with the Ashland area as I have family there. The Columbia Hotel is right on East Main Street and easy walking to the Shakespeare Festival, shopping and restaurants, the Plaza and Lithia Park. Most of the rooms do not have private bathrooms. A family member also staying there had no shower in their room which had a private bath, and the bed was very uncomfortable so they moved to another hotel.

The decor is part "historic" but with a good amount of just old and out of date. Our bed was comfortable enough but apparently that was not true for other rooms. The rooms have no phones and no televisions. If you want a hair dryer they have a couple that you can share with other guests.

They provide free coffee from 7:30 AM but no breakfast. As far as I can tell the staff actually leave and lock up and no one is on duty from 11:00 PM to morning.

If you need handicap accessibility DO NOT STAY HERE! The front and back stairs are steep and the tub was a clawfoot tub and there were no handrails.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittyfisher70
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed for one night while passing through town, and we're glad we did. This is not your usual kind of place so maybe it's not a good fit for everyone. But, we've traveled extensively over the years and this hotel reminded us of some of our better travel experiences.

Great location, comfortable lobby, and a great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This was a very disappointing stay. For what we paid, we had a very small room, en suite.
There were spots on the carpet, the room smelled of urine. The manager did look into it and gave us a can of spray which helped. No TV, hair dryer. We have traveled throughout Europe and are used to things not being perfect in older hotels and that's OK. Maybe other rooms in the hotel are nicer, but they need to show all rooms on the website. On the plus, the location is good, soaps are nice and the bed was confortable. I would never stay there again or recommend it. The whole place smelled musty.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My parents reserved a room here for July 2009. My father passed away one week before the trip, but the hotel would only give my mother a partial refund of her deposit (because "they had to offer the room at a reduced rate" after the cancellation) and charged a $50 fee on top of that. That's just cold-blooded.

Stayed July 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We're from Seattle -- it was 99 degrees when we arrived. The hotel has a great location, the rooms are immaculate, the front staff is friendly. Call us wimps, but we wanted air conditioning. It is really hot in the room and on the main street (so opening the window does cause some noise, though Ashland gets quiet at night). We just think their website might mention prominently the lack of air conditioning. Our house doesn't have it in Seattle, but then, Ashland is a touch warmer. IN other (cooler) seasons, we'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at Columbia Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Guests may request an air-conditioned room. July can be warm, and that's why the hotel closely monitors both the temperature inside and outside of our historic building. The average temperature inside the hotel for the dates of your stay was 76 degrees, which is a full 23 degrees cooler than outside. We have commercial-grade fans hidden from view that exhaust unwanted warm air out of the hotel during hot spells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.