We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An pleasant and most convenient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Save
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An pleasant and most convenient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My companion and I very much enjoyed this hotel. We stayed in room 5 which has a bathroom attached although the shared showers and bathrooms did not seem to be inconvenient to others I spoke to.
The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the Shakespeare Festival theaters and that's a boon.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and,even though it was hot in Ashland, the fans did their job. I will stay here again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    69
    12
    16
    7
See reviews for
55
82
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Columbia Hotel. The room was comfortable and airy. There is a lovely lobby to relax in, too. The location is very convenient. Their parking lot is small, but we had no problem finding street parking nearby. I am already planning my next visit there!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
740 reviews 740 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
1,699 helpful votes 1,699 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We needed lodging in Ashland for one night a couple of weeks ago and everything was booked solid with the graduations in town. We found The Columbia Hotel right on Main Street available at a great rate but.... the only room available was with a shared bathroom. This is a Historic Hotel which we love, so we booked.

Upon arrival the front desk person was very helpful and showed us to our room. It was very small but nicely appointed with a sink in the room and just around the corner from the women's bathroom which had two bathroom stalls and a shower. The lobby is really charming with lots of books and a huge skylight. I enjoye relaxing on the sofa after our long car ride.

I would definitely stay there again but the shared bath wasn't really my cup of tea. Next stay will be in a room that has a bathroom in it. This hotel is walking distance to restaurants and the theaters in Ashland. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf pines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the place!!! Location, friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, tea and coffee in the comfortable lobby. Hot day? No problem there are fans in the windows and a powerful fan on the ceiling. You will be delighted if you stay here....but if I want a room "there better be room for me too". Cheers, Ann from Portland!

Room Tip: all good rooms some with bathrooms down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have previously enjoyed staying at this charming, eccentric hotel; however, when a family emergency caused us to have to cancel our recent trip, the staff was not only unwilling to work out a reasonable compromise to their costly cancellation policy, but they never even bothered to contact us as they had promised to tell us about it. Any other place in Ashland--from the Ashland Springs to Motel 6--will have a more reasonable cancellation policy. We will never stay at the Columbia again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My daughter and I planned a road trip to Ashland...what a spectular find!! We stayed 2 enjoyable nights in this charming hotel...room was quaint with fresh flowers & very comfortable, the staff friendly, and eager to please. Location cannot be beat... walking distance to the plays, shops and restaurants and Lithia Park...fabulous find!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My daughter and I spent one night in Ashland on a road trip. We had always wanted to see a play. We spent one night at the Columbia. We were charmed from the moment we saw the sign for the Hotel on the road. The staff is excellent, courteous, sweet, and helpful. The room was clean and inviting. The hotel is conveniently located. The only factors that could sway your choice to another establishment would be the shared bath and the limited parking.

Room Tip: The doors were all open to rooms when we arrived and they all looked very good. I don't think y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.