We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt at home here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Ashland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We felt at home here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. We arrived, on an off-peak date, with a last minute reservation,and were treated like frequent visitors. We let one of the suites, just off the main parlor, and it was very reasonably priced. We felt quite comfortable, both in the room and on the property. Daniel was working the desk, and was ready with recommendations for everything from a bicycle training route to a dinner spot and a breakfast option. Every suggestion he made was spot on. We will take any opportunity to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    59
    12
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
74
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed one night in September, and found the location great for attending the Shakespeare Festival. We stayed in one of the few en suite rooms, but the rooms with shared bath seemed like a very affordable option for those who don't mind that arrangement. There was a nice sitting area/library with coffee and tea available. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the wifi service was easy to figure out and worked great. The hotel was very quiet too--one of the quietest I've ever stayed at. One slight drawback was that the number of parking spaces is less than the number of rooms, so if you aren't able to get one, you have to find a place on the street, most of which have time limits during the day. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Main St. are probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is our eighth trip to Ashland. How did we miss the Columbia for seven years? This place is exquisite!

#1 Price: Enough said.

#2 Convenience: Virtually ADJACENT to the theaters -- parked our car (free) in the parking lot and moved it FOUR DAYS LATER.

#3 Excellent/Caring/Attentive staff: Need directions? Dinner suggestions? Want a hint about what a show is like? ("Don't give up; the second act is better" - true story.)

#4 CUTE, Cute, cute, precious.

No shower in the claw footed tub? Ever traveled in Europe?

No air conditioning? While some rooms are not air conditioned, your reservation asks you in advance whether you need A.C. or not.

We have traveled in more than 40 countires on 4 continents and would put the Columbia in the top five places we have stayed . . . worldwide.

Next year, during trip number nine, we'll be back at the Columbia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

100 degrees and no air conditioning? Couldn't sleep for two nights. Location is perfect for shopping and walking to plays, but can't recommend this place in the summer. We had our own bathroom, but no shower and the faucets were not updated. Could be improved by installing air conditioning and a shower nozzle for the claw foot tub. Room has charm, but that is overshadowed by the deficiencies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for the festival, and the people who work there are really friendly. I treated myself to a room with a bathroom (courtyard double) so I can't fairly talk about the rooms without. My room had a great shower, not tiny like many renovated rooms. For the last night I splurged on the Courtyard Queen. Airconditioner was a little rickety but functional, but the bathtub was fantastic. This is a great place for those of us who don't need a tv.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in Double Classic room on Main Street. Loved the view of the hills, walking everywhere in Ashland, friendly staff. Shared bath not a problem for us - sink in the room was nice. I brought earplugs - noise not a problem! Enjoyed seeing all the activity outside the window. We really enjoyed staying at the Columbia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I tried to book at the Columbia for two nights. Because they were sold out one night they booked me in the Columbia one night and their sister hotel, The Palms, the next. As many of you know, there were wildfires in Southern Oregon this year that caused air quality conditions that were so bad that some of the outdoor plays were cancelled.

After looking at the weather reports for 7-10 days out, I realized I should change my dates for two days later (after rainfall expected). When I called to change the dates, they were unable to change the dates because the hotel was fully booked. I cancelled my reservations and booked elsewhere. When I received the cancellation notice, it showed there was a $25 processing charge to cancel the reservations- see the policy below. Imagine my surprise when I was docked $25 for each hotel ($50 cancellation fee for one visit) although it was consecutive days and only booked in their sister hotel to accommodate their schedule. I won't be rebooking with them again.

Cancellation Policy: Your deposit confirms your reservation. Should your plans change and you need to cancel or shorten your stay, you will want to let us know at least 2 weeks in advance. With sufficient notice, we can refund your deposit, or change your reservation, for a $25.00 processing fee per room. In the unlikely event that a reservation is cancelled giving us less than 2 weeks notice, the hotel retains the deposit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at Columbia Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Caryl, thanks for writing to us again. Due to the smokey skies, we waived all cancellation fees for cancellations that were due to air quality that week, even if guests were canceling without sufficient notice. As you can imagine, a big loss to the hotel and to guests looking forward to their vacations in beautiful Ashland, Oregon. The nominal processing fee that you express concern over was clearly communicated to you verbally at the time of booking, so our hope was that you would appreciate that we refunded your deposits, even though we were within our right to retain those funds due to the last-minute nature of your cancellation. We did subtract a small processing fee from your deposit to cover our credit card and banking fees, so the real winners here were Visa and Mastercard. Those guys win everytime. Hopefully, we'll see you next year, but if not we wish you all the best. Again, thank you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ashland
#5 Family Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list