We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Save
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Memorable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in Double Classic room on Main Street. Loved the view of the hills, walking everywhere in Ashland, friendly staff. Shared bath not a problem for us - sink in the room was nice. I brought earplugs - noise not a problem! Enjoyed seeing all the activity outside the window. We really enjoyed staying at the Columbia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    68
    12
    16
    7
See reviews for
55
81
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I tried to book at the Columbia for two nights. Because they were sold out one night they booked me in the Columbia one night and their sister hotel, The Palms, the next. As many of you know, there were wildfires in Southern Oregon this year that caused air quality conditions that were so bad that some of the outdoor plays were cancelled.

After looking at the weather reports for 7-10 days out, I realized I should change my dates for two days later (after rainfall expected). When I called to change the dates, they were unable to change the dates because the hotel was fully booked. I cancelled my reservations and booked elsewhere. When I received the cancellation notice, it showed there was a $25 processing charge to cancel the reservations- see the policy below. Imagine my surprise when I was docked $25 for each hotel ($50 cancellation fee for one visit) although it was consecutive days and only booked in their sister hotel to accommodate their schedule. I won't be rebooking with them again.

Cancellation Policy: Your deposit confirms your reservation. Should your plans change and you need to cancel or shorten your stay, you will want to let us know at least 2 weeks in advance. With sufficient notice, we can refund your deposit, or change your reservation, for a $25.00 processing fee per room. In the unlikely event that a reservation is cancelled giving us less than 2 weeks notice, the hotel retains the deposit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at Columbia Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Caryl, thanks for writing to us again. Due to the smokey skies, we waived all cancellation fees for cancellations that were due to air quality that week, even if guests were canceling without sufficient notice. As you can imagine, a big loss to the hotel and to guests looking forward to their vacations in beautiful Ashland, Oregon. The nominal processing fee that you express concern over was clearly communicated to you verbally at the time of booking, so our hope was that you would appreciate that we refunded your deposits, even though we were within our right to retain those funds due to the last-minute nature of your cancellation. We did subtract a small processing fee from your deposit to cover our credit card and banking fees, so the real winners here were Visa and Mastercard. Those guys win everytime. Hopefully, we'll see you next year, but if not we wish you all the best. Again, thank you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I always stay the the Columbia when I'm in Ashland. The location and price just can't be beat -- right downtown, 2 blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival campus. This is not a luxury property, but it is clean and comfortable. Don't be afraid of the rooms with shared bath, only rarely have I had to wait more than 15 minutes for a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great, spacious rooms, warm staff. I love the feel if this place and how close it is to everything; especially the open living room feel of the common area where we hang out and read the paper with the other guests, the European style. I stay in the Columbia every year now. Definitely hs won me over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We happened upon the Columbia by accident when their sister hotel (Palm Cottages) directed us there to book our second night in Ashland (because Palm Cottages was completely booked). The Columbia is extremely well maintained and its historic feel is apparent throughout. Our room was large and comfortable. The common area looked appealing but since we had a very short stay, we really didn't take advantage of it. As mentioned in a number of other reviews, the staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. The only drawback was the lack of a private bathroom. Our room was one of the farthest from the bathrooms, which made our middle of the night excursion(s) a bit more challenging. And one of the best things about this hotel...location, location, location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I loved staying at the Columbia. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, and that it's a historical landmark in Oregon history. I got to know all the staff during my week stay, and I enjoyed talking with all of them. The staff goes far beyond the usual in trying to help patrons. Every time I passed the front desk there was a customer asking for something unusual, and they always did their best to help. Leisl, Westin, Daniel, Jonathan, Kelly, Owen-- they are all polite and gracious no matter what, and fun to talk to also. I suddenly got an infected fingernail and kept bugging them for help, but they were always gracious. They even found me a clinic I could go to in town. I didn't know when I booked that it's the oldest continually-in-service hotel. It's beautifully preserved, and I'm glad they are taking good care of it. There are lovely old photos on the wall where you can see Ashland's history and people from the past. I didn't mind sharing a bathroom because the price was great, and it's such a central location. I was there for July 4th and I only had to step outside the front door to watch the parade. My room didn't have AC, but the fan worked fine. Love the place, love the people, and will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Columbia Hotel is perfect for travelers who don't mind sharing a bathroom. I stayed in a classic queen with shared bath and it was perfect! I came in very late at night and they made sure the front desk was staffed for my late arrival. Hotel staff were incredibly friendly and made sure my stay was the best! I loved the antique decor in my room and the fresh flowers made me feel right at home. This is one place I will come back to for sure!

Room Tip: Some rooms do have private baths so rest assured that if the shared bathroom is your only hang-up, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.