We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Save
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean and Close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Like staying at your Grandma's house if you had a sweet, loving Grandma who was a neat freak. I didn't, but I am a neat freak and I was impressed by how an old, quaint little hotel kept the rooms so clean. We had a room with a private shower which was nice, but I looked at the communal showers and they were very nice, cute, clean too.
The location is amazing...right on the main street to everything....4 min. walk to the park, plays, Ashland food co op..etc.
I would def stay here again next time I'm in town and not staying with friends.
The bed wasn't as firm as I would have liked but for 2 nights it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    72
    12
    16
    7
See reviews for
57
83
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Staff was extremely welcoming and hospitable throughout our stay. The room was charming and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk everywhere. We visit Ashland eveyr year but this our first stay at the Columbia Hotel, and would recommend it highly unless you like generic hotels with lots of fancy amenities but no ambience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Choosing this hotel was such a great idea! We loved that we could park for free (small hotel lot or on the street a short block away) and easily walk to a dozen wonderful restaurants and bars. We drove to Ashland for a quick, one-night getaway, and this hotel's location and charm made it even more memorable.

Many of the rooms have "European style" baths . . . meaning you share the shower & toilet with a few other rooms. A great addition to their rooms would be a pair of bath robes--I've stayed at McMenamin's hotels in Portland (which also have these sorts of baths), and the robes are a great touch. Also, a pair of water glasses would have been nice.

However, I LOVED the fresh flowers, the lack of a television, and the absolute silence of the place. A wonderful, spotless hotel with great character--and we WILL be back. :)

Room Tip: This is a historic building--not all rooms have air conditioning. If you're visiting Ashland in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you are looking for a quaint, charming basic room in a good location and a very friendly and accommodating staff, then this is the hotel for you. The fresh flowers were a nice touch.

If you are looking for all the amenities such as closets, fitness center, business center, pool, television and movies and crappy buffet breakfast, then stay someplace else.

The biggest challenge with this and any other hotel in the immediate area is parking. We intended to park the car and walk, however there was not an open space until our third day here. The other challenge we had is the hills in Ashland are steep and my husband has been ill so I had to drop him off and go park the car.

If we had to do it over again we would probably have gotten a place out of town with parking and parked when we wanted to be in town in the City lot. But if you are ready and able to walk everywhere, as we usually are, this is a gem of a place to consider.

Room Tip: If you get a parking space at the hotel don't move your car unless you absolutely have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very cute & well maintained old hotel. It is in a good location close to restaurants & shops. If you have a room and need to use a shared bathroom/shower there just isn't enough especially for women. One of the 3 toilets was out of order. They do not provide a robe so bring your own. There was no washcloths in the shower. It is a cute place just if you share a bathroom bring your own !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Columbia is wonderful treat in the center of Ashland. If you need a modern cookie cutter hotel with wide screen TV, plastic furniture and plants, and private bathroom, this might not be the place for you. But if you want a friendly atmosphere that matches Ashland and Shakespeare perfectly, come to the Columbia. Read the Times in the lobby while drinking coffee and debating last night's plays, all in your bathrobe. Walk down the stairs and visit the local Ashland shops. Leave your car in the parking lot; there is no need to touch it again until your stay is complete. And of course walk to the plays.

If you're a first timer, ask the staff for advice on rooms; each is different, some with bath, some not, some with air conditioning, some large in the front, some smaller and cozy. Whatever you do, you'll be surprised at the value.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for advice. Let them know what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On the plus side, this is a great central location with some limited parking available (don't leave your spot if you are fortunate enough to get one!). Staff were very pleasant and helpful. You can easily walk to the festival plays, shopping and many good restaurants nearby. Good selection of hot tea always available and decent coffee in the morning. The rooms are clean and shared bath facilities were very nice. Bed was comfortable. On the down side, noise travels through this old building, so if you have trouble resting due to street noise or the sound of voices carrying, this is definitely not the place for you. It can be very hot in the summertime, if you visit in the summer I would definitely recommend a room with air conditioner. There were box fans in the closet that were so thick with dust it made me cough just to look at them, so hope they plan on thoroughly cleaning them before the really warm weather comes! Maybe a little pricey for what you get, but not a cookie cutter hotel experience so just depends on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ashland
#8 Family Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.