We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Save Saved
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Columbia is always my first call after I book tickets at the Shakespeare Festival. You cannot beat the location, and it is a great price, in a nice historic building. A beautiful alternative to the more expensive and impersonal modern chain hotel/motel.

Yes, some rooms do not have bathrooms, but the common facilities are close by and I have never had to wait to use one. It is a quiet, low key, spot with extremely helpful staff - a perfect spot to rest between plays.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    65
    12
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
79
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've been staying at the Columbia Hotel for 20 years on my yearly visit to Ashland and always have a lovely, pleasant stay here. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, in the English style, and the rooms are large and comfortable. Shared bathrooms are not a problem for me but could be for others. Only problem this year was that the coffee in the hallway in the mornings was not as available as in the past - the clerk was lax in refilling the pot, otherwise our stay was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This property doesn't even provide a sink or soap in the shared public bathrooms to wash your hands. Providing a sink in the guest rooms is ok, except that most guest rooms don't have bathrooms, so when you have to use the restroom you cannot wash your hands. It's gross...there was someone in there having a "movement" who then left right after flushing. I of course thought "ooh, gross, they left without washing their hands" till I came out and found there was no sink or soap. There's a hand sanitizer dispenser only, which is not adequate and doesn't kill most germs that make people sick. I wonder how many people get sick or transfer their germs by touching other surfaces (doors/knobs, walls, coffee service, etc). When I asked about it they said it's a historic property (they used this excuse for everything). Not impressed with the hotel overall, or the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I go to Ashland, Oregon, several times a year to see plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and I always stay at the Columbia Hotel. It is only a block away from the festival grounds walking from the back door of the hotel. The prices are incredibly reasonable, the rooms are charming, the hotel is clean, and the staff friendly. It's important to note that for most (not all) of the rooms, the bathroom is "down the hall." Also, I recommend entering in the the back since there are fewer stairs -- unfortunately, the hotel doesn't seem to be wheelchair accessible should that be a consideration for you. If you're looking for a reasonably priced, charming hotel that is a very short walking distance to the festival ground, and don't mind not having a bathroom in the room, this hotel is excellent. For me, the price and location more than make up for the lack of an in-room bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We just stayed one night at the Columbia, we had reserved a room with a private bath and were given a very nice room, but it faced the courtyard. We noticed that room #5, which faced Main Street was unoccupied and we asked if we could trade our assigned room for #5. The clerk took a second to check and said "sure", so we just right on moved over.
I'm not sure what all the rooms look like, but I would advise to ask for one that faced the Main Street - big windows, so lots of light. It's a great little hotel.
We had a great time and the service was flawless!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Columbia Hotel is the real deal, a 100-year-old oasis of comfort and charm in the center of downtown Ashland. The staff is attentive, professional, and very helpful as concierges - all of them. The Queen's room has a beautiful, claw-foot bathtub in the it's own private bath and a view of Main St.. Recommend you arrive early to take a spot in the back parking lot and bring luggage in from there. The long stairway up and down from Main St. to the lobby of the hotel can be enjoyed after the luggage has gone in through the back door. Check out the beautiful cafe to the left as you exit the back door. It has a garden seating area that is a retreat from the crowds you'll encounter coming and going to the Shakespeare Festival. Can't wait to return to the Queen's Room at the Columbia Hotel, a beautiful home base to experience Ashland, OR. I highly recommend the Columbia Hotel to friends and Family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the Columbia hotel in Ashland two weeks ago and had been lured to the hotel by its promises of `European feel, character, location, etc. `Being European, I can only say that this doesn`t mean `beds with very little support, soft mattresses, air condition which doesn`t work, personnel stating that July nights are really cold anyway`. We have travelled the States extensively and can only say that this was a bad experience. The rate for the room is really too high. Please do look for another hotel even if this means that you need to drive downtown instead of walking to cafes and restuarants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, Guest Relations Manager at Columbia Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Robmike2,

The staff at the Columbia would like to express our regret over
your experience at the hotel. As the oldest and most historic
hotel in Ashland, we pride ourselves in staying true to the aesthetic
of our landmark property. The particular room you reserved did not
offer air conditioning as an amenity, it did however have both a
ceiling fan and a window fan. We apologize for any confusion. Our
staff would have gladly offered additional assistance if you were
unable to operate the fan on your own. We also have the ability to
regulate the building temperature with powerful exhaust fans, carefully
hidden from guest view, to keep our historic building comfortable year
around in a method that respects the original intent of the building
along with honoring our environmental philosophy.

Much of the furniture and fixtures are original pieces,
restored but kept exactly as they were when our doors first opened a
century ago. The vast majority of our well-traveled guests return and
stay with us year after year, preferring the quaint antique charm of what we offer
over anything more generic. Keeping things in perspective, a rate of
$110 would be an excellent rate to pay in the heart of downtown
Ashland on 4th of July weekend, any other downtown hotel would be
charging at least double that amount on a holiday weekend. The
Columbia Hotel has happily welcomed thousands of guests over the
years, and we know the vast majority appreciate the small human
touches such as fresh flowers in every room, but we also realize
sometimes it is not possible to please everyone. However, we feel it
is a great privilege to continue bringing distinctive hospitality to
Ashland unlike you’ll find anywhere else.

A member of our management staff will be contacting you directly to followup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 1/2 E. Main St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ashland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.