We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Of Surprises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Lowe Road, Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Full Of Surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

It was 4th of July weekend, and we had no reservations. Ashland was the least place we expected to find a hotel, so we were really surprised that this hotel had rooms available.
The hotel was nice, but it could've been better.
The building was nice, and it was set on a nice mountain background. The view from the balcony was nice, the room and bathroom was nice clean, and there was even a swimming pool. Breakfast was good. There was fruit, coffee, orange juice, and guests could make their own waffles.
I do have a few complaints though. $99 was a bit expensive. IDK if this was because of 4th of July weekend, or if they always charge that much.
We didn't like that there weren't any restaurants in the area, there was only a Burger King.
The rooms had a menu with room service. We thought they cook the food at the hotel, but it comes from restaurants, who cater to the hotel.
I tried to order some food over the phone, and couldn't get a hold of them. There was a machine, and they started asking me some weird questions about medicine and hospitals. Completely unrelated to ordering food. I got confused, and hung up. The lady at the front desk told us, the nearest restaurant is 2 miles away, so we went hungry that night.
I think they should make it, so you can connect directly to restaurant staff, or the hotel staff should place the order for you, because I could not figure out how to do it.
The so called "room service", needs some serious improvement. That was really the only issue we had. Other than that, the hotel was great, but whoever designed their stair system, needs to be fired.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
34
38
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location is good in that it is right off of the freeway and a short drive to downtown Ashland. The hotel is older (dated) but is kept clean and was a good price for the age and location. The towels were worn but the water for the shower was hot. The staff was efficient, if inpersonal. My daughters liked that the front desk had black jelly beans. In general, this hotel would get a "Very Good" from me because of the price point and cleanliness. Unfortunately, the breakfast bumped it down to "Average".

We came in near the end of breakfast (~15 minutes before they closed). Almost everything was gone. There was a waffle machine but the batter was separating when I looked at it. The fruit was gone and no one refilled it. There were other empty containers as well. I was left with a choice of an English muffin or cereal. I resigned myself to cold cereal, only to find that they were also out of milk. So, breakfast was dry cereal and a glass of fake orange juice.

So, my recommendation is to stay here for a cheap rate but eat out!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights to see the Shakespeare festival in Ashland. The room was clean and the price was very reasonable. The pool was cool and clean. The staff was very friendly and always available. There was fresh fruit every morning and the breakfast staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for hair dryer as there is not one in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We decided to try this motel because of some of the better reviews, but should have paid attention to the less flattering ones. The rooms were a minimum of amenities and not that nice. No coffee makers available in the rooms or in the office. The bed was not comfortable and the bath/shower area was so small you could hardly turn around in it. It was kind of the "ick" factor besides (mineral deposits and mold.) The continental breakfast was fair and located in a dilapidated building. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights during the Shakespeare Festival and overall it was an okay room. Not too bad of a commute from there to downtown Ashland. When my friends and I went to bed we stripped all the sheets noticing they were either dirty or very worn in some spots. There was no extra blankets or pillows so we had to go to the front desk and ask. Most of the workers there, although all were very nice, had minimal people skills. The best thing about the hotel was the air conditioning, towels, and watermelon at breakfast. Overall we got what we paid for and my friends and I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilo
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just a few miles out of Medford, Ashland is a delightful town with great restaurants and wonderful boutique type shopping! Some of it is upscale and pricy so I was happy thst we saved a lot on our hotel! Econo Lodge is right at the top of Ashland. It is clean, comfortable, and well maintained, free of debris, and a quiet place to stay. If you are too weary to drive to the main town, you can just go to Burger King next door. Free wi-fi, plenty of parking, and a great breakfast, way beyond the required continental breakfast. Belgium waffles, freshly baked muffins, and sliced fruit was added to the standard fare. You can do your laundry as you enjoy breakfast. A definite recommend! Oh, bring your own hair dryer.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for a ground floor room unkess you are packed light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The price is low but still too much for the room since it is small, average cleanliness but very, very bad customer service, worst I have encountered so far. We were planning to extend our stay but bec of our experience with the customer service, we just looked for another place.I actually want to just cancel our reservation, but bec we were too tired, we just stayed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 50 Lowe Road, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ashland
Ashland Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.